We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Copenhagen Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Copenhagen Inn to your Saves list
Royal Copenhagen Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1579 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband our two kids and our dear corgi and I stayed at The Royal Copenhagen Inn for 3 nights in November 2012 and we're getting ready to return. It's quaint and clean. The beds could have been more comfortable but the location is great.Walking distance to shops and restaurants.It's not brand new it was as pictured. The service is friendly and kind. The continental breakfast has lovely pastries. What impressed us most was the enclosed Secret Garden where our dog could run unleashed. It really made our stay. In general Solvang is dog friendly. Many shops have water bowls outside and several offer dog biscuits. The pool was clean and the water was clear. They also have a life size chess and checker game in the pool area. This provided great bonding time for us as a family. Isn't that what family vacations are for?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    100
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
63
97
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Copenhagen Inn for three days during Labor Day Weekend. We arrived Friday evening and checked out Monday morning. The hotel is located right in the middle of Mission Street, which is one of the main streets and has a lot of restaurants and other hotels. Copenhagen drive, which also has a lot of restaurants and shops is just a 2 min walk. From the outside, its very clean and cute.

We had a king room and it was basic, but clean. The rooms are definitely older and could use a little bit of upgrading. New carpets would be my first suggestion. Our room had a giant A/C unit, but wasn't really placed in the best spot. It was close to the door and the bathroom, so it cooled those two areas more than the rest of the room.

I liked the look of the hotel on the outside and it is a good option if people are just looking for a place to rest their heads.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is adorable. It's older and certainly not fancy, but it's charming and right in the center of everything. Our bed was comfortable and I slept like a rock. We spent one afternoon in the pool which was small, but never crowded and really nice.

As for the details, no room service. Not much food on site at all, but there is a little fridge in your room. They offer a free continental breakfast. No in-room movie rentals... nothing like that. Very basic. The A/C unit in the room worked remarkably well though. We will go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogue River, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband, our dog, and I stayed here at the end of July. The outside is very cute and quaint, like a little Danish village. The rooms were okay, dated and worn but clean,,,although the bathroom was a little dingy around the edges.
The continental breakfast was good with pastries from a local bakery. The staff was friendly.
Our favorite part was the secret garden where we were able to take our dog for some off leash play. It was peaceful, clean (except one time we had to clean up after someone else's dog), and nicely landscaped. We ended up staying a second night and had to move to a different room. This worked out well because the room we moved to was an upstairs unit and was much quieter. I think the people above us on the first night were letting their kids run relay races for half the night.
We did find it ironic that as pet owners we had to sign a form saying we could be kicked out if our dog was too noisy. I don't think we heard one barking dog the whole time, but we did hear a lot of screaming kids.
We will stay there again if we make it back to Solvang.

Room Tip: Make sure and ask for an upstairs room if you don't want to risk being kept awake by the people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here on August 23rd.  On the positive side, the pool was great, the continental breakfast was typical, but with good Danish, and the location was an easy walk to town.  But the bathroom floor was dirty, there were disgusting stains on the sheets and no piece of furniture matched any other and looked like they came from a flea market.  And the internet speed is the slowest i've seen in a long time -- almost unusable.  We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge Ca
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

For the past 10 years about 12 of us go to Solvang the middle of August on a Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. Six of those years we stayed at the Royal Scandinavian. It was then purchased by the local Casino and changed to The Corque. (I wrote a review on that hotel) long and short we stayed there for two years but were priced out of the new hotel. We then tried one year at the Holiday Inn Express, didn't like that place at all. This year we tried the Royal Copenhagen Inn. We were not expecting anything great put since the price was only $89.00 a night we said we will try it. Check in was easy and our room was right across from the office room 129. You can park right in front of your room which makes its nice for unloading the car. The rooms are dated but very clean and the bed was comfortable. They provide you with a Refrigerator, Free WiFi, Iron and hair dryer. So we were very satisfied with our room. The Inn is very expansive so you don't feel closed in. The pool area was fabulous. Every night we always get together for happy hour, we bring snacks and wine sit around the pool area and talk. Other hotels sometimes you couldn't get a table because others were sitting there but at the RC they had plenty of tables and chairs. Yes it is a dog friendly place and they do have special rooms for pet owners so you don't have to worry that your room will smell of dog. They are supposed to keep the dogs out of the pool area but people don't and the hotel did not enforce it. As long as the dog didn't go into the pool or use the area to do it's business, we didn't care that the dog was there. We didn't have the free continental breakfast because their are such good breakfast restaurants in Solvang but I did have the coffee which was good and hot. We all loved the RC and this will now be our new yearly place to go. Oh and it's only about 2 blocks from all the shopping areas on Copenhagen street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rci2009, Public Relations Manager at Royal Copenhagen Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post. So glad you enjoyed your stay...We look forward to your visit next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel was descent but in need of a renovation. Check in was easy and had our reservation correct. I did have a hard time with them emailing a confirmation to me so i called several times to make sure i was in the system. The rooms were clean and didnt have a musty smell like some hotels which was a huge plus! The linens needed an update but were sufficient. the only negative i had was there was a hair on the pillow that was overlooked. breakfast was enough for us to sustain until lunch. Some reviews say they keep an eye on how much food you took, but its a matter of perspective. I found that the attendant was just making sure it was always stocked and if you needed anything she went right to the back and got it for you. I took breakfast back to my room and took extra hot chocolate for us to enjoy that night and had no problem grabbing extra pastries as well! overall a GREAT price for being in town and across the street from main shopping area. You have to find the secret garden! its full of fruit trees and alot of seating. The swimming pool has a mechanical lift for wheel chairs and a huge built in chess board. Upon check in we received a voucher for wine tasting across street. We had a good time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#9 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.0 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#4 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Copenhagen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Copenhagen Inn

Address: 1579 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Copenhagen Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Copenhagen Inn is located in the heart of Solvang, surrounded by its finest shops, restaurants and bakeries. The Royal Copenhagen will have you believing you have traveled to Denmark. The Inn is built in the traditional style of a village, or neighborhood, with the outside of the buildings being exact duplicates of the buildings found on a street in Copenhagen. Escape into the old world grace and charm of the Royal Copenhagen Inn, located downtown in the Danish village of Solvang. We are small enough to provide personal service and our professional staff will make you feel like royalty.Our rooms are all decorated in the Danish tradition and are more spacious than your typical hotel room. The rooms come with a large walk-in shower and each is different in its architecture. All rooms have cable TV, AC, coffee makers and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Royal Copenhagen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Copenhagen Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Copenhagen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.