We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and walking distance to everything.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Copenhagen Inn

Save Saved
You added Royal Copenhagen Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venere.com Hotels.com
Royal Copenhagen Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1579 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Affordable and walking distance to everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is adorable. It's older and certainly not fancy, but it's charming and right in the center of everything. Our bed was comfortable and I slept like a rock. We spent one afternoon in the pool which was small, but never crowded and really nice.

As for the details, no room service. Not much food on site at all, but there is a little fridge in your room. They offer a free continental breakfast. No in-room movie rentals... nothing like that. Very basic. The A/C unit in the room worked remarkably well though. We will go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
36
55
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rogue River, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband, our dog, and I stayed here at the end of July. The outside is very cute and quaint, like a little Danish village. The rooms were okay, dated and worn but clean,,,although the bathroom was a little dingy around the edges.
The continental breakfast was good with pastries from a local bakery. The staff was friendly.
Our favorite part was the secret garden where we were able to take our dog for some off leash play. It was peaceful, clean (except one time we had to clean up after someone else's dog), and nicely landscaped. We ended up staying a second night and had to move to a different room. This worked out well because the room we moved to was an upstairs unit and was much quieter. I think the people above us on the first night were letting their kids run relay races for half the night.
We did find it ironic that as pet owners we had to sign a form saying we could be kicked out if our dog was too noisy. I don't think we heard one barking dog the whole time, but we did hear a lot of screaming kids.
We will stay there again if we make it back to Solvang.

Room Tip: Make sure and ask for an upstairs room if you don't want to risk being kept awake by the people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here on August 23rd.  On the positive side, the pool was great, the continental breakfast was typical, but with good Danish, and the location was an easy walk to town.  But the bathroom floor was dirty, there were disgusting stains on the sheets and no piece of furniture matched any other and looked like they came from a flea market.  And the internet speed is the slowest i've seen in a long time -- almost unusable.  We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge Ca
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

For the past 10 years about 12 of us go to Solvang the middle of August on a Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. Six of those years we stayed at the Royal Scandinavian. It was then purchased by the local Casino and changed to The Corque. (I wrote a review on that hotel) long and short we stayed there for two years but were priced out of the new hotel. We then tried one year at the Holiday Inn Express, didn't like that place at all. This year we tried the Royal Copenhagen Inn. We were not expecting anything great put since the price was only $89.00 a night we said we will try it. Check in was easy and our room was right across from the office room 129. You can park right in front of your room which makes its nice for unloading the car. The rooms are dated but very clean and the bed was comfortable. They provide you with a Refrigerator, Free WiFi, Iron and hair dryer. So we were very satisfied with our room. The Inn is very expansive so you don't feel closed in. The pool area was fabulous. Every night we always get together for happy hour, we bring snacks and wine sit around the pool area and talk. Other hotels sometimes you couldn't get a table because others were sitting there but at the RC they had plenty of tables and chairs. Yes it is a dog friendly place and they do have special rooms for pet owners so you don't have to worry that your room will smell of dog. They are supposed to keep the dogs out of the pool area but people don't and the hotel did not enforce it. As long as the dog didn't go into the pool or use the area to do it's business, we didn't care that the dog was there. We didn't have the free continental breakfast because their are such good breakfast restaurants in Solvang but I did have the coffee which was good and hot. We all loved the RC and this will now be our new yearly place to go. Oh and it's only about 2 blocks from all the shopping areas on Copenhagen street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rci2009, Public Relations Manager at Royal Copenhagen Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post. So glad you enjoyed your stay...We look forward to your visit next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel was descent but in need of a renovation. Check in was easy and had our reservation correct. I did have a hard time with them emailing a confirmation to me so i called several times to make sure i was in the system. The rooms were clean and didnt have a musty smell like some hotels which was a huge plus! The linens needed an update but were sufficient. the only negative i had was there was a hair on the pillow that was overlooked. breakfast was enough for us to sustain until lunch. Some reviews say they keep an eye on how much food you took, but its a matter of perspective. I found that the attendant was just making sure it was always stocked and if you needed anything she went right to the back and got it for you. I took breakfast back to my room and took extra hot chocolate for us to enjoy that night and had no problem grabbing extra pastries as well! overall a GREAT price for being in town and across the street from main shopping area. You have to find the secret garden! its full of fruit trees and alot of seating. The swimming pool has a mechanical lift for wheel chairs and a huge built in chess board. Upon check in we received a voucher for wine tasting across street. We had a good time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Exactly what it looked like on the photos but it really is very modern and clean. Rooms large, air conditioning, fridge, big TV, ironing board. Nice pool and garden area plus good continental breakfast served in large light room; never got busy and was constantly replenished. Right in middle of Solvang but set back from road so not noisy. When we looked was one of the cheaper places (in what is quite an expensive area to stay) so would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, AR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Out visiting my daughter who lives in Santa Barbara, I chose to stay in Solvang because of the towns quaint beauty and friendliness. This Inn was exactly as the website describes, which is a definite plus to not have any unexpected surprises. I stayed for an entire week and enjoyed everyday. The room was spacious and very clean. The staff were very polite and quick to respond to any request or question. The pool, though not heated, was a great point of relaxation and for catching some of that California sunshine. The only thing it was lacking was a microwave in the room, but other than that it was beautiful, peaceful and allowed me an excellent visit with my daughter. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to "runaway" but not have to spend a fortune as it is very fairly priced as well.
Besides lacking a microwave, the beds weren't as comfortable as I had hoped, if you prefer a firm mattress you will have a wonderful rest here. One other thing, being in a downstairs room it seemed there was a play land or a circus in the room directly above us because of all the stomping and heavy walking, still was well worth the stay and I will be back!

Room Tip: If you're not the type who can handle a little noise from neighbors above I would highly suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Copenhagen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Copenhagen Inn

Also Known As:
Royal Copenhagen Hotel Solvang
Royal Copenhagen Hotel
Address: 1579 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Copenhagen Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Copenhagen Inn is located in the heart of Solvang, surrounded by its finest shops, restaurants and bakeries. The Royal Copenhagen will have you believing you have traveled to Denmark. The Inn is built in the traditional style of a village, or neighborhood, with the outside of the buildings being exact duplicates of the buildings found on a street in Copenhagen. Escape into the old world grace and charm of the Royal Copenhagen Inn, located downtown in the Danish village of Solvang. We are small enough to provide personal service and our professional staff will make you feel like royalty.Our rooms are all decorated in the Danish tradition and are more spacious than your typical hotel room. The rooms come with a large walk-in shower and each is different in its architecture. All rooms have cable TV, AC, coffee makers and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Copenhagen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Copenhagen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.