We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for dogs and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Copenhagen Inn

Save Saved
You added Royal Copenhagen Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Copenhagen Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1579 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great for dogs and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We traveled with 2 small dogs and the Royal Copenhagen was great place to stay with them. Many people here have dogs. Call ahead, because only certain rooms are allowed to have dogs. Lots of nice grass area around for the dogs.

Good continental breakfast, with danishes (of course), also juice, coffee, tea, oatmeal. Not a full hot breakfast - but plenty of options.

We did not use the pool, but some others did. Was very clean, just not so warm outside.

Room was clean and comfortable, some furnishings were a bit dated, but all seemed clean and functional. Plenty of hot water for showers.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you have dogs, they are only allowed in certain rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    70
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
45
65
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We loved this place. The staff were very friendly, the rooms as well as the property were very quaint and price was great. So close to the main shopping area of downtown. We would stay here again if stopping in Solvang.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Copenhagen Inn in early January 2013 and got a very economical 'special' rate booking ahead via the hotel's website. Our room was perfectly fine and comfortable with all amenities as promised - good value accommodation.

The location has its pros and cons.

The Royal Copenhagen Inn and Solvang are a good location as a base to explore the wineries and other towns of the Santa Ynez Valley. There are a number of restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance, although the choices for evening dining didn't offer a lot that appealed.

While at first glance, Solvang appears to be a fascinating picture postcard location, it gradually becomes apparent that there is nothing in the town that is genuinely Danish or with any historical merit. In the end, Solvang township is a bit like experiencing the illusion of a themed hotel in Las Vegas - no casino, but instead a few pastry shops and a couple of fake windmills selling tacky tourist items.

So, we'd recommend the Royal Copenhagen as a good place to stay - just don't waste time in Solvang which has little to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have been going back to the Copenhagen Inn for several summers now. We bring the whole family: my husband and I, our young adult son, our elementary school age daughter, and my mother. The hotel has great accommodations for family. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is great. There is a barbecue area if you want to cook your own dinner. The serve a nice continental breakfast. The shops and restaurants are steps from the hotel. There is something for everyone in our family: toy stores, bookstores, knick-knack stores, shoe stores, coffee houses, and nice restaurants.
One year we were there for Fourth of July and we were able to walk to the sidewalk and watch the parade! A lovely time every time we go.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room request it away from the pool area. We requested to be right next to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Conner, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were amazed to get a lovely room at the Royal Copenhagen for a pittance (lowest room cost on a three week trip). We had the pool to ourselves (end of Sept.) and enjoyed sunning. The room, while not spacious, was very comfortable.

Room Tip: We had an end room just before the entrance to the breakfast room but were not disturbed by any noic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for one night for a quick getaway weekend. I found an Internet rate of $109, which, given prices of other area hotels, gave me pause. Still, I decided that it was worth a risk, and I am so glad we tried it! While not fancy, our room was spacious and comfortable. The folks who manage the place obviously care about it. If you are particular about toiletries, you might want to take your own; those provided by the innkeeper are sufficient but not anything special. They serve a reasonably good continental breakfast, but if you're really a fan of the first meal of the day, walk down the street to Polly's Pancake restaurant.

We won't hesitate to return to the Royal Copenhagen Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always take my pup with me when I travel, which can sometimes be costly and difficult to find a hotel. My boyfriend and I trekked up to Solvang last year and stayed in this wonderful hotel. Our room was huge and clean and best of all didn't cost an arm and a leg! We loved that we had parking right next to us and a little area to let my pup potty. The giant chess set by the pool was also a nice surprise! The location is perfect on the main busy street (Mission) and it's walking distance to everything including a little place next door with AMAZING pancakes! I would definitely recommend the Royal Copenhagen Inn for an affordable, convenient, pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Copenhagen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Copenhagen Inn

Address: 1579 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Copenhagen Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Copenhagen Inn is located in the heart of Solvang, surrounded by its finest shops, restaurants and bakeries. The Royal Copenhagen will have you believing you have traveled to Denmark. The Inn is built in the traditional style of a village, or neighborhood, with the outside of the buildings being exact duplicates of the buildings found on a street in Copenhagen. Escape into the old world grace and charm of the Royal Copenhagen Inn, located downtown in the Danish village of Solvang. We are small enough to provide personal service and our professional staff will make you feel like royalty.Our rooms are all decorated in the Danish tradition and are more spacious than your typical hotel room. The rooms come with a large walk-in shower and each is different in its architecture. All rooms have cable TV, AC, coffee makers and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Royal Copenhagen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Copenhagen Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Copenhagen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.