We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Santa Ynez wine district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Copenhagen Inn

Save Saved
You added Royal Copenhagen Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Copenhagen Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1579 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value in Santa Ynez wine district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Copenhagen Inn in early January 2013 and got a very economical 'special' rate booking ahead via the hotel's website. Our room was perfectly fine and comfortable with all amenities as promised - good value accommodation.

The location has its pros and cons.

The Royal Copenhagen Inn and Solvang are a good location as a base to explore the wineries and other towns of the Santa Ynez Valley. There are a number of restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance, although the choices for evening dining didn't offer a lot that appealed.

While at first glance, Solvang appears to be a fascinating picture postcard location, it gradually becomes apparent that there is nothing in the town that is genuinely Danish or with any historical merit. In the end, Solvang township is a bit like experiencing the illusion of a themed hotel in Las Vegas - no casino, but instead a few pastry shops and a couple of fake windmills selling tacky tourist items.

So, we'd recommend the Royal Copenhagen as a good place to stay - just don't waste time in Solvang which has little to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    70
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
44
64
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have been going back to the Copenhagen Inn for several summers now. We bring the whole family: my husband and I, our young adult son, our elementary school age daughter, and my mother. The hotel has great accommodations for family. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is great. There is a barbecue area if you want to cook your own dinner. The serve a nice continental breakfast. The shops and restaurants are steps from the hotel. There is something for everyone in our family: toy stores, bookstores, knick-knack stores, shoe stores, coffee houses, and nice restaurants.
One year we were there for Fourth of July and we were able to walk to the sidewalk and watch the parade! A lovely time every time we go.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room request it away from the pool area. We requested to be right next to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Conner, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were amazed to get a lovely room at the Royal Copenhagen for a pittance (lowest room cost on a three week trip). We had the pool to ourselves (end of Sept.) and enjoyed sunning. The room, while not spacious, was very comfortable.

Room Tip: We had an end room just before the entrance to the breakfast room but were not disturbed by any noic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for one night for a quick getaway weekend. I found an Internet rate of $109, which, given prices of other area hotels, gave me pause. Still, I decided that it was worth a risk, and I am so glad we tried it! While not fancy, our room was spacious and comfortable. The folks who manage the place obviously care about it. If you are particular about toiletries, you might want to take your own; those provided by the innkeeper are sufficient but not anything special. They serve a reasonably good continental breakfast, but if you're really a fan of the first meal of the day, walk down the street to Polly's Pancake restaurant.

We won't hesitate to return to the Royal Copenhagen Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always take my pup with me when I travel, which can sometimes be costly and difficult to find a hotel. My boyfriend and I trekked up to Solvang last year and stayed in this wonderful hotel. Our room was huge and clean and best of all didn't cost an arm and a leg! We loved that we had parking right next to us and a little area to let my pup potty. The giant chess set by the pool was also a nice surprise! The location is perfect on the main busy street (Mission) and it's walking distance to everything including a little place next door with AMAZING pancakes! I would definitely recommend the Royal Copenhagen Inn for an affordable, convenient, pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here this past weekend. We have stayed here a number of times over the years and it is always consistent. Clean rooms although a bit dated. Nothing fancy but a good value for the price. We got a king room for $119 + tax using their AAA/AARP discount. Solvang is small and this hotel is located centrally where you can walk everywhere in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Since we were taking our dog, they offer some pet friendly rooms. The room was huge and the only bad part about that is the TV (which is a flat screen) is far away if you're laying in bed trying to watch it. ;-) The place looks like a Danish Village with some cottages separated from other buildings. They offer free WiFi but it was spotty on occasion. The breakfast consisted of danishes, Coffee, Orange Juice, Milk, oatmeal, fruit and toast. It was just enough for us. They have a heated pool and there's an enclosed garden area where you can let the dogs roam. It was the perfect place to stay and the prices were reasonable. We've been to Solvang a few times and we'll stay here from now on.

p.s. If you take bicycles, do not leave them on your bike rack overnight unless you have a great lock. Even though Solvang has very low crime, their are still a few people who love free bicycles. It didn't happen to us but it did to another guest.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Mission Drive will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Copenhagen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Copenhagen Inn

Address: 1579 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Copenhagen Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Copenhagen Inn is located in the heart of Solvang, surrounded by its finest shops, restaurants and bakeries. The Royal Copenhagen will have you believing you have traveled to Denmark. The Inn is built in the traditional style of a village, or neighborhood, with the outside of the buildings being exact duplicates of the buildings found on a street in Copenhagen. Escape into the old world grace and charm of the Royal Copenhagen Inn, located downtown in the Danish village of Solvang. We are small enough to provide personal service and our professional staff will make you feel like royalty.Our rooms are all decorated in the Danish tradition and are more spacious than your typical hotel room. The rooms come with a large walk-in shower and each is different in its architecture. All rooms have cable TV, AC, coffee makers and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Royal Copenhagen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Copenhagen Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Copenhagen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;