We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stale and stuffy story..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Solvang Inn and Cottages

Save Saved
You added Solvang Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solvang Inn and Cottages
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1518 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
orange county
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Stale and stuffy story..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After driving several hours on our return from San Francisco, we finally decided we had reached our limit and didn't want to deal with rush hour L.A traffic on a Friday night. The answer was a night in the great town of Solvang. We'd get an extra vacation day and I could visit my favorite breakfast restaurant Paula's Pancake House. With no reservations, we started checking local hotels. We found they were all booked due to this being a car show weekend in town. The only rooms available were at the Solvang Inn,so that's where we will stay. The lady at the desk was very nice at stated that we were getting a no smoking room. When we first entered the room I was struck with what smelled like stale smoke, despite the no smoking sign on the door. We were stuck with what seemed to be the last room in town. The room was extremely small and dark (room 101). I decided to take a quick rest before exploring town so I streched out on a most uncomfortable bed and nodded off. I awoke with an allergy like headache. It was a hot day and we had been running the AC. I wiped my hand over the AC grill and a heavy layer of dust fell off. This dust plus the stale smoke like smell which seemed to permeate the heavy old drapes was making it difficult to breath. We turned off the AC, opened both windows and left for a walk. The room seemed somewhat better after it cooled down. This is a cute motel, located in a great location, but it does need a DEEP cleaning. The owner needs to clean the carpets and must clean or preferably remove the heavy, smelly old drapes that retain the smell. If the manager reads this review they need only to inspect the room and smell the drapes to see what I mean.

Room Tip: Don't book room #101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    17
    14
    6
See reviews for
18
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We arrived in Solvang in the evening and were looking for a place to stay for 4 people as we were tired of driving. We got the family suite which was perfect. 2 bedrooms with a bathroom in between. This way our teenage girls didn't have to share a bed as there are 2 queen beds in one room and a king in the other.So we had twice the room for the price of a regular hotelroom! In the morning we got a pastry and tea at the bakery across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a wonderful inn. We have been here many times over the years and it is just so wonderful to come to such a nice and clean place. The staff is excellent the grounds are amazing kept and rooms are so clean and refreshing. We get to enjoy a wonderful pastry and coffee each morning, a beautiful pool area with a heated pool and jacuzzi. This is our go to place every time we visit the Solvang area and it will be every time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here because was the only place we could find that would allow a one night stay over the holiday weekend. My wife made us pack our own clean sheets from home. I rolled my eyes at that one more than once. But she was right. I thought that was just an east coast thing. Even with our own sheets I ended up w/ a few bed bug bites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed there once and that was enough. Had the second floor room above the managers enterance. Large rooms, but in need of major updating. There's better places to say in the area with the same price point.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in a room in the back of the Inn not one of the cottages. The bed was as hard as a rock. A new mattresses was very much needed. The carpet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. Cheap thin bed sheets. Thin towels. The door to get in the hotel room was broken and we had to work hard to get the key to open the door to open it. I learned that you only get what you pay for and I would never pay for this again.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llnjams
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

The basics are all there - clean, quiet (top floor anyway) and a good location, but it's showing it's age. The price is a bit high for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solvang Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Inn and Cottages

Address: 1518 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Solvang Inn and Cottages 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Solvang Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Inn And Cottages Hotel Solvang
Solvang Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solvang Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.