We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so cute... the miniature horses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quicksilver Ranch

Quicksilver Ranch
1555 Alamo Pintado Road, 918 D Avenue, Solvang, CA 93463
(805) 686-4002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 49 things to do in Solvang
Attraction details
Herndon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“So so cute... the miniature horses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Definitely worth stopping by. The ranch is small and has about 30 or so miniature horses. I was lucky to run into one that the caretaker was walking. I got to take pictures, pet the horse and brush it, too. It accepts donation to help maintain the ranch and feed the horses. I highly recommend making a donation, especially, it is FREE to visit. The donation box is located in front of the house and in the horse stalls where the bathroom is located.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Heaven for Horse lovers and kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

LOVELY grounds. There were so many of them, I could have watched them all day. I am a horse person (I ride) and this was just a blast. They are cute teeny little things. A lady who worked there was explaining about them impromptu (I did see them giving tours to a retirement home tour bus group which was pretty neat). I easily touched them (you aren't allowed to feed them). We went back twice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA USA (Buellton, CA)
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“great place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Amazing mini pony ranch. See the baby ponies. I love taking my daughter here in spring

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sweet...Sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Everytime we come to Santa Yanez, stoping by to see the little horses is always fun. if you come in spring, there are lots of new babys. they are so cute and little. we love this place. can't waite to bring my grandkids.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So darn cute .... must see !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

These miniature horses are absolutely adorable. When we visited there were 16 babies. The mares are small but the babies are tiny and so cute! If you love animals and especially horses, you've got to take about 30 minutes if you're in the area and visit Quicksilver Ranch.

The grounds are beautiful with large fenced pastures for the horses to run, graze, play and sleep. The mothers stand watch while the babies sleep and occasionally several of the horses run together ~ a beautiful sight to see.

It's wonderful that the owners make this ranch accessible to the public and for FREE so you can see these really cool little animals.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quicksilver Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Quicksilver Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quicksilver Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.