We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Danish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olsen's Danish Village Bakery

Olsen's Danish Village Bakery
1529 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
(805) 688-6314
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Solvang
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert
Westminster, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Danish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The last day of our trip in Solvang we hit all the bakeries picked one danish and split it with my wife. Olsen's Bakery among others had very good danishes. I would eat there again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    59
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Center, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delish Danish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stopped in Olsen's on the main street in town. Easy to find. Ordered a cheese Danish, mocha roll, éclair, cookies and a creampuff all to go. I felt they were a bit overpriced, but hey, its a tourist trap.
Didn't eat any til the next day, and the Danish was off the chart delish even a day old! The others were on the soggy side so not as enjoyable and the cookies were not all that. If you go, get the Danish, get a couple to go as well, I wish I'd spent the $$ on just Danishes. (sp?)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Danish for breakfast everyday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We got a free coffee and Danish from Inn everyday and it was awesome. Always packed with customers but got served immediately and free refill of coffee.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“pastry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My favorite bakery that I tried while down there. Friendly staff and it wasn't too busy so I was able to enjoy a pastry and do some reading in and air conditioned building.
I just wish they would have warmed up my danish.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Danish waffle and Other Treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything in here is very fresh and very good - have gotten several items over several treats and they are all great. Especially after a long day of wine tasting

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olsen's Danish Village Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Olsen's Danish Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.