We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazinly posh place in such a small town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Root 246

Root 246
420 Alisal Rd, Solvang, CA 93463-3741
805-686-8681
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Root 246 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 57 Restaurants in Solvang
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazinly posh place in such a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Originally we wanted to visit Mirabella restaurant, however they are open only few days a week. We were recommended by owner of former to go to Root 246. It has very modern and stylish design. We stayed in bar area as our son wanted to watch basketball on TV screen. The choice of food is very good and wine list is impressive. Our son gone for burger (he had aim to try as many of them in States as possible), I has scallops and my husband had fish. The food was exceptional!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    62
    23
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Gabriel, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful farm to table food experience in Solvang.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had the Jiridot Chicken and a Peruvian Vegan dish which were both outstanding. Service and atmosphere were both impeccable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere/Decent food/Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Bar and dining rooms are classy and contemporary. Some of the seating for 2 in the rearmost room will put you close to other couples though...something to be aware of if you're not interested in interacting with others.

The chicken dish and flat iron steak were both excellent entrees, and various salads we tried were very good. The grilled pepper appetizer was interesting and good. Guacamole was average only. The mashed potatoes were a superior side dish. The most disappointing main dish was the vegetarian ravioli. Disappointing with little flavor. For dessert the bananas foster was a cake with the chilled syrup poured over, and some type of fluffy ice cream. It was a let down. The donut holes were very good.

Our server was against splitting a table of 6 into separate checks. We didn't understand this until later when we got the tab and realized for a table of 6 she got a guaranteed 20% tip. Aside from her screwing up the drink order, the service was fine. We'd have given her 20%. But when we tried to pay the check with several credit cards (we named how much to put on each one) it was a disaster, and it was beyond her capability to fix. Once again, the customers had to make all kinds of concessions to fix the problem, and wasted at least 30 extra minutes. It would have been much simpler if she'd just split the check amongst the couples there in the first place. Based upon this, if you dine here I'd be aggressive at requesting split checks when you first arrive. Otherwise you may be in for aggravation when it comes time to pay the bill. The bus service was quick to refill water glasses and remove dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Great Cosmo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Farm to table food from chef Bradley Ogden - Root 246 was a pleasant surprise. Coming from the east coast being able to dine outside for dinner was a big bonus. Large comfy chairs, a fireplace and a good wait staff all helped propel Root 246 to one of my finer dining experiences in California. My finance ordered a shrimp salad appetizer for his entree and it was large enough and scrumpcious. I went with a chicken dish - the menu changes based on local food but I cannot imagine there being a bad meal. This dinner was well worth the trip to Solvang.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Contemporary, comfortable, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have to say that I didnt feel completely comfortable coming into the restaurant as it's very contemporary in its design, particularly the entrance, but the warm welcome from the staff dispelled any concerns. There are various seating areas, some more relaxed than others, and we had a choice so were able to pick a comforable, relatively private and quiet spot.
The staff have an evident pride in working there: an interest in the food and wine which goes beyond simply reciting the day's menu. Once you accept that the food isn't about recreating what's popular elsewhere, but about making the most of what's great locally with some unusial combinations, you can just relax and trust the chef to design food which works on so many levels. (I think may be going OTT at this point, but Root 246 so so worth it, compared to many London restaurants which are full of self importance but don't deliver...) At this restaurant we finally refined our scoring system: points for starter, main, dessert, ambience and wine, and Root 246 got 10/10 (5/5 each) - doesn't often happen. Sadly it's a month since we were there, I didn't take notes and their website - of course - only has sample menus. Just trust the chef, I say!
Oh, and Tuesday night is half price local wine night, so we bagged a fabulous Californian chardonnay for only £25.
Perfect. Want to eat there again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root 246 also viewed

 

Been to Root 246? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Root 246, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.