We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well restored mission in a nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mission Santa Ines

Old Mission Santa Ines
1760 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93464
805-688-4815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Solvang
Type: Missions, Cultural
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Well restored mission in a nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Solvang is unusual to say the least. It looks like a piece of Denmark (it was established that way), and has a certain charm and great pastries, I am told.

We came to see the mission, which sits on the edge of town. There was a baptism ceremony under way for young children, which added to the beauty of the site.

The mission has been extensively rebuilt, but it retains its ancient cistern, and areas where houses and farm fields once were have been preserved. A nice rose garden and stations of the cross are near the church.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    69
    22
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lovely, holy and historic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Santa Ynez, Solvang and Buellton are among the great little villages and 'burgs' scattered across this valley. It has long been a destination for us with or without visitors. Wine tasting, unbelievable kitsch and delicious Danish pastries are part of the mix but the most wonderful component of this beautiful area is the Mission. A sprawling white washed adobe structure which is of 'manageable' size (compared to Mission Santa Barbara) and staffed by calm and helpful volunteers. This Mission is still an integral part of the lives of the residents of the Valley and it shows in the loving maintenance of buildings and grounds. I love the items on display reflecting the Mission's history as well as the beautifully decorated sanctuary and altar. However, the simple, but beautiful garden is my favorite part. Because there aren't large crowds of visitors (usually) sitting and contemplating are definitely part of the experience. My husband has some mobility issues and the entire property is accessible to him (using cane or walker) and small enough that he doesn't get fatigued. Despite my loyalty to Mission San Buenaventura (in my hometown), because of the location and the grounds, i think Santa Ines is my favorite. Please make a donation, however modest, for the preservation of this treasure.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Visit here.....peaceful and full of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you like history then you must visit this Mission....it's small and the self guided tour is great. A peaceful and cool place to visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPARKS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

lots of history here. it is very nice. the staff was very pleasant and helpful. the gift shop and staff were very nice. If your in solvang you need to visit santa ines mission for its history and sights

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of several missions we visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

One of our daughters is in fourth grade so part of our coastal trip involved stopping at the missions. This was one of the most beautiful. We also had the opportunity to attend Sunday mass, and the first thing theories tide was have everyone turn and welcome each other. Beautiful mission, and church.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mission Santa Ines also viewed

 

Been to Old Mission Santa Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mission Santa Ines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.