We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Solvang
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Solvang for one night (Saturday) while on our way to Disneyland. The staff at reception gave us a very warm welcome. We were concerned about our truck being able fit in their underground parking structure. The manager quickly came out and saw that our vehicle was too tall to fit, so he let us park in one of the few spaces that was by the lobby.

This hotel is in a great location. You can head out the front door and walk to any place in downtown. We booked a queen bed loft suite, which has 2 queen beds on the main floor and one queen bed in the loft area. There is a tv in the main room and one in the loft area. It was more roomy than I had expected, especially for the price. Also, the room was clean, which helped since my kids like to explore every corner of a new place.

The hotel was quiet for a Saturday night and we didn't hear any disturbances, even though we knew people were staying next to us. The balcony outside the main room opened up to a beautiful view. We didn't stay out too long as it was chilly. We also walked by the pool several times, but didn't get to use it due to the weather. It looked clean, but a little on the compact side. We would have used it had it been warmer.

There is a free continental breakfast that is served in a room right next to the lobby. We wanted to eat at Paula's Pancake house, so I can't comment on the HI Express spread.

Check out was very smooth as well. I would recommend this hotel to my friends as a good place to stay with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    97
    63
    20
    22
See reviews for
76
105
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

My husband and myself stayed one night during the Taste of Solvang. This was a great location because everything was in walking distance. We were given a handicap room and I was impressed with how big our room was (and the bathroom was very large). Also- our room opened up to a large balcony with a view of oak trees (I think) - that was very nice and so peaceful. I also like the pillows on the beds- they were marked with Firm, Soft etc. The room also had a small refridgerator (the non-mini bar kind), microwave and coffee maker. The breakfast was adequate having just about everything one would want except there was no meat. We thought the price we paid was a bit high for what we got but maybe that was because of the weekend event.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

The Holiday Inn Express lies on the edge of the tourist center of Solvang. It's not in the middle of town, but certainly walkable to all shops, restaurants and attractions.
The hotel is in two buildings and has recently been updated. Our room was newly renovated and could compare to any good hotel. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The hotel has an outdoor pool.
The hotel has underground parking and a full free breakfast each morning.
Our view was a little odd as we looked into a office that was next door.
I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Recently, my girlfriend and I made a trip up to Solvang for a romantic weekend in wine country. Along the way we were unsure on where to stay in Solvang. So I asked a few friends and they mentioned the Holiday Inn Express.

Taking this advice we checked into the hotel. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, friendly, courteous, and knew that we were tired so they offered us a helping hand to our room. This was fantastic!

The room was extremely spacious and comfortable. The comfy bed, clean restroom, and warm showers only made our stay that much more comfortable.

If we ever needed anything (toiletries, towels, directions) the front desk was always there for help. Upon checking out the front desk staff was quick and efficient.

I would definitely stay here again. Solvang was a blast and staying at the Holiday Inn Express made our stay that much more memorable!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We visited Solvang with the kids for a couple of days during the holiday break. Searched many different places and reviews and decided to book this hotel. The staff was helpful. The rooms were clean and well sized. Having a refrigerator and microwave was a plus too. It is in a good location with close walking distance to all of the Solvang attractions.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Pros: great location, wonderful hot breakfast, rooms big and clean, nice assortment of toiletries, quiet rooms, nice views of the hills, ample free parking, tv comes with a lot channels

Cons: our tv was broken, front desk woman was not friendly

They did come and fix the tv while we were shopping. I just have to complain about the woman at the front desk. She was not warm and welcoming, but in the evening, the front desk (a man) was super friendly. It was strange because they couldn't have been different. Maybe she was just having a bad day. I do try to give people the benefit of the doubt. I liked that they gave us cold bottled water when we arrived.

The breakfast was FANTASTIC! Yogurt, eggs (hard boiled and scrambled), biscuits, sausage, cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, english muffins, fruit, peanut butter, milk, coffee, and an assortment of juices. My husband and I were very pleased with everything. They kept restocking which is very nice because I know a lot of hotels don't restock often enough.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. We would stay again if we ever visit Solvang again.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Stayed one night. Staff was friendly, room was clean enough but the furnishings could use a refreshing. We needed extra towels (four in each room), but they were out and could only offer small towels.

Internet and parking are free.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.