We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Solvang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in Solvang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Easy walk to amazing restaurants and shops with Danish architecture. Fantastic views out the back of a giant oak grove. Rooms are clean and the beds are Holiday Inn comfortable. Breakfast is the same at every HIE with powder eggs and cinnamon rolls plus fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Rooms 102 to 120 have great balconies on the even numbered side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am happy you enjoyed our beds and breakfast. Solvang is very unique and has some amazing shops and sites.

Please come see us again in the future.

Thank you,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    140
    70
    25
    24
See reviews for
100
132
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have to tell you I don't get impressed very easy but I had the chance to stay in this Holiday Inn very unique, when we arrived at this place looks magical like if you are in Europe with a beautiful Danish style park and houses and stores, all the homes looked like cookie houses. to make a long story short, you can walk just about anywhere, including shops, pizza, bars, Chinese food, and the people very nice and friendly at the hotel, the rooms very clean and the stay was very nice, I will come back here in two seconds, even my wife told me why don't we stay a little bit more so we can enjoy the hotel and the city, don't forget breakfast in the morning it is very delicious and the people are so friendly to help you get anything they can, overall you have to go there and see it for yourself, I wasn't expecting it to be this beautiful.

Room Tip: Any room will do because the Hotel it is so convenient in location and services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay here and go to experience the fantastic food we have here in Solvang.

Please come back very soon!!

Thank you,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice big clean room. Typical of the chain. Had a lovely balcony that looked out into a wooded area. Walking distance to the quaint little shops. Just thoroughly enjoyed the quietness, the staff was helpful. Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the room that overlooks the park area.

Please come back and see us soon!

Thank you,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Came to Solvang in the evening. Everything was closed so we decided to stay for the night to see this beautiful town the next day. Found this nice hotel in the center of the town. Very nice staff, nice and clean everywhere, big rooms, swimmingpool and danish rolls for breakfast. As norwegian we are not used to sweets for breakfast, but here it worked out very well concidering the surroundings. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Lilliehammer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of our hotel, we most definitely appreciate the recognition.

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the swimming pool and our breakfast before taking in the town of Solvang.

I hope you had a wonderful time here in America and will come back again soon!

Thanks again,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
196 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is the nicest one we've stayed in and ended up staying 2 nights on our way up the coast and another night on our way home. Very clean, wonderful location, and very friendly staff. The breakfast was good - loved the pancake machine! Wish I had one at my house!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back of the hotel to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear LoveMyAcura,

Thank you so much for the lovely 5 star review. We take pride in our unique hotel in this very beautiful town of Solvang, and are overjoyed when recognized for our efforts. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and yes, that pancake machine is magical!

Come back and see us soon!

Thanks again,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel had the friendliest and most helpful staff. The room was spacious and the shower had great water pressure and a good shower head. Breakfast offered a good variety for all. Covered parking was great during the hot days and, being in wine country, it was great that shopping and restaurants were all a short walk away. This is a quaint European-style town in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear HorseLover,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your review. I can tell you the staff gets very excited when recognized. I am happy you enjoyed Solvang and had a great stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thanks again,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a road trip as a family.

The room was big and clean. Unlike the carpets walking up from the car park which only needed a clean and would be ok, also not a first good impression.

The breakfast was ok but we didn't have the hot food as it looked a little dry but there were the options instead.

It was what was required for an overnight stay a clean comfy bed and something to eat the next morning before we moved on to our next destination.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Hartley Pets,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are in the process of doing improvements to the hotel and replacing the carpet you mentioned is on that list. I am sorry to hear the breakfast looked a bit dry. I will share this with our kitchen staff and set forth a plan to eliminate.

Again thank you very much,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.