We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK place to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The rooms were adequate and clean. The beds were comfortable. We had an upstairs room which was fine. The main hotel block was in another building and appeared more modern. Breakfast was very good. The waffle maker was a bit of a puzzle!! There were plenty of places nearby to eat in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, it is so helpful to us when our guest let us know how we are doing.

If I may assist you with any further travel needs, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Thanks again,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    115
    66
    22
    23
See reviews for
86
114
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brea, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was a big disappointment. The rooms are old and worn out. We had two rooms and both rooms had an undesirable smell to them one smelled like heavy cleaning products and the other smell really bad. The bathtub was rusted and dirty and worn. The beds were springy and lacked a warm blanket. I just felt like i was in a dirty room. The outside of the hotel is old and worn and the elevator was a bit scary to get into. I have to say that the staff was nice and it was in a good location but i would NEVER ever stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Brea,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered. As the new GM at this property, I take these matters very serious and can assure you we are in the process of making some positive changes here at the Holiday Inn Express-Solvang.
I do hope that you reconsider your opinion of the hotel and let us accommodate you on any future travels to Solvang, CA.

Again, thank you and please feel free to contact me with any further concerns.

Sincerely,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a really worn out hotel. Definitely not up to normal HI standards. The bed was soft and creaky, the ceilings are very low and have popcorn, the people in the room above us sounded like a herd of elephants every time they walked. Also, the key cards kept not working, so we had to go to the front desk numerous times to get these re-keyed. Really inconvenient while standing between hallways with a bunch of luggage or late at night. The light on our phone blinked constantly...even though I called and they "fixed" it a couple of times. It wasn't awful, but just be forewarned that this is a very outdated Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. The information you have shared will be relayed to all departments.
We strive for excellence and take all of our guest comments very seriously. I will address the front desk about your key situation and I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. I hope that you will reconsider your opinion of the hotel and give us another opportunity to fulfill any future travel needs for you.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Sincerely,
Sheri Kresky GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This property is old and needs renovating, but sufficient for a one night stay. The carpets need a good cleaning or at least vacuuming. It was an easy walking distance to everything and a good price. Friendly and helpful staff. We had problems with getting HBO, but the manager, Lisa was attentive and compensated us accordingly and we were pleased with the result. Breakfast was good, breakfast room clean and had all that we needed to get our day started. We had a room in the back and it was nice to be among the trees. The have Bath and Body works shampoo and conditioner, so that was a nice surprise. Shower pressure good. Had a microwave and refrigerator in room. We would stay again, but maybe try a loft room.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back with a deck, you will feel like you are in a tree house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased hear that you enjoyed the wonderful views, breakfast and our Bath and Body amenities. We definitely strive for excellence and are working on rectifying some of our renovation needs at this time. I appreciate the feedback and will share with Lisa your appreciation.

If I may further assist you with any travel needs, please feel free to contact me.

Thanks again,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

based on what we read here we booked two nites in November 2013. I should have read all evaluations rather than only very few. the stay was an overall disappointment and we changed plans and left after the first nite. check in was flawless. no problem here and no complaint. the whole property seemed to be sprayed in order to give it a nice smell. however that was a bit too much and leaves an impression of "there is something to hide with that amount of airfreshener everywhere". we asked for a room away from the busy street and responded "we upgraded you to the top floor in the back part of the building". well that was great news. we were a bit early but were told the room was about to be ready by the time we would get up there. the same overpowering artifical room spray smell greeted us when we left the elevator and walked along the corridor. the room was not ready, no problem we waited one or two minutes. the maid left with her spray bottle in her hand and we went into the room. the a/c was blasting and we could not figure out how to fully shut this off. so we went out and asked the maid and ran into the first problem: communication.
the maid spoke almost no english and we tried to communicate with hand and feed and she responded in Spanish until she got the hang what we wanted. she called the maintenance guy who appeared very few minutes later and shut the a/c off. we did not need that on a November day.the temps were reasonable. so after they all left we looked at the room. the smell was too much, you could really tell these sprays were used really a lot and in abundance. the table had big bottle stains. not sure why management would leave a table like this in the room with such stains. not new stains old ones. sorry management but the first impression counts and despite the decay that we noticed on the outside staircase and the trash at the back of the building, guests dont want to look at such messed up table.
we opened the window some to get some air in and the room spray cloud out. well nice idea but first of all there are no screens in front of the window. not a problem in the winter but in the summer it is a big hello for all kinds of bugs and mosquitos. things a guest really wants to deal with.
we slided the window back to close it but we could not lock it. really? really, it did not lock. sorry again but in my own home I can close the windows and nobody would be able to slide them open, why would I want to make a difference in a hotel? in addition to this the windows must not have been cleaned for a very long time. I have seldomly seen such dirty windows in my entire life. not in private homes and not in hotels.

so far for the first impression.
stained table
sprayed room and sprayed areas everywhere.
run down look of the overall property except for the front desk area
dirty windows and a window that would not lock
paintwork not ceiling and walls done very unprofessional

we went down and asked for another room that would provide a window that we could lock. well the girl looked a bit surprised and then responded by getting the maintenance guy out and asked him to show us a different room one floor below the one we were at that time.
the room was not much different except that there was another problem with the window.

we went back down and told them we would stay in the room they assigned first.
we went out into the village and surprise surprise while we were away someone worked on the window. with work that resultet: you could not even open the window at all.
that's like: we lock the door to your room from the outside while you sleep.
sure, you can ask "first you complain about the window and that it does not lock, then they do something and it is still not right".
well, it would have been nice to have a note upon return that said "we were in your room while you were away" or any other kind of notification.
on top you exclude the possibility to evacuate through the window in case of whatever.
The point is: management or / and housekeeping should check on such things and if they dont work repair them prior to the next arrival. this was a 3rd wold country fixing keeping in mind that all hotels are not offering very low rates in Solvang.
we booked the two nites with our points and paid a little $. still annoying to waste points on such a property but less annoying than shelling out the money for the rate.

I am aware that this hotel had and will have lots of traffic due to the popularity of Solvang and the limited availability in hotels. but at least they should try to keep the place neat and tidy and provide a better first impression and work on their maintenance and keep the place in shape.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello Donofrio_B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. Our management staff took this review very seriously and we appreciate your suggestion. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel reminded me why it is worth staying at HI Express. Hotel areas and room were very clean. Room was spacious with tasteful, comfortable furnishings and upgraded bathroom. Parking was convenient for unloading luggage. Bed was soothing for a good night's sleep. Felt safe & secure at hotel which was well located for seeing sites around Solvang.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are away from street traffic & are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear scuba312,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel and the rooms! We pride ourselves in making sure each guest is comfortable and taken care of. I believe that from your response we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Solvang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We didn't expect much more than a clean room really, but this place was great. Nice pool and lovely room. Great service - and welcome cookies. In adorable Solvang, of course. We have stayed in two other places in Solvang, and we'd both prefer to stay here on our next visit. Good price, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear WorldsRoyster,

Daily our goal is to exceed our guest's expectations, we are glad we were able to do so with your stay. We truly appreciate the positive feedback on Tripadvisor and look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.