We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms, good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Altadena, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent rooms, good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Solvang. The hotel is very close to the downtown area, where we headed to see the beautiful Christmas displays and lights. The suite was really spacious and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was not as good as the one at Embassy Suites hotels, but it was good enough for us to feel satisfied and ready to take on the drive back home.

Room Tip: The suite is a perfect size for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you we appreciate your positive feedback! We are glad you enjoyed our location as well as our suite. We look forward to booking your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    145
    75
    26
    25
See reviews for
112
138
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newport beach, ca
Level Contributor
204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have stayed here several times and while the room itself was comfortable and we slept well, there were some things that were not as good this time around. First, the shower was difficult to operate and the water did not drain. It simply has not been properly maintained. Also, the front office staff at check-out was brusque and lacking basic customer service courtesy. It wasn't that she was rude, but she simply took the express check out receipt from us, handed it back and said, "that's your receipt." No, thank you, no how was your stay, no is there anything that we should know or any problems that you encountered. The plus is the cleaning staff and breakfast staff -- they were working very hard and tried to immediately make sure that everything was taken care of.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-street facing room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear poggy2002,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad you felt the room was comfortable!
Thank you for making us aware of training issues with the service at the front desk, we will take immediate actions to improve the customer service. I hope to see you again at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is located at the mouth of Solvang. It is not in the center of town, so you will avoid the noise of the people and car tourist traffic. Still, the hotel is within walking distance to all the shops and restaurant. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. They offer an excellent breakfast buffet. There really isn't any reason to pay for breakfast in town, plus you can avoid the lines. Save you money for lunch, dinner and shopping. The room comes with complimentary coffee, soap, shampoo and conditioner. You do need your card key to enter the corridors as there are outside stairs to access the buildings. Good for security. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Diana Q,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the location, breakfast, the room as well as the amenities of our hotel. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

After Christmas my family stayed at Holiday Inn Express while we enjoyed the Solvang Julefest! We love Solvang and have been many times. We chose Holiday Inn Express because they offer loft rooms, which we thought our girls would love -- and they did! They were absolutely delighted by the loft! The room was nice, but the services are pathetic. Ten minutes after getting into our room the pee-filled toilet overflowed. We called the front desk immediately. And again 45 minutes later. Finally, after a call to the corporate Customer Services a maintenance worker showed up to fix the toilet. Housekeeping never came to clean the floor. Never once did we hear from management. HIE offers a breakfast (bagels, English muffins, sausage, cereal, fruit, etc.), which was ok. The food suffers a bit from heat-lamp exhaustion. We were completely underwhelmed by HIE. We did contact their corporate offices and were treated very kindly; however, this did not erase such a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Brigidonthemove,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry we could not meet your expectations - we are taking your comments very seriously and will make necessary changes.
We hope to be able to accommodate you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff indicated recent renovations, which seemed to focus on the exterior not the rooms. Although the loft seemed like a novel concept, the bed was only a couple of feet from the upstairs door, with the bathroom downstairs not convenient (but the bathroom looked updated the most). The cable for the upstairs TV was exposed and runs down the side of the staircase (which could be a trip hazard). Some light switches dont seem to turn anything on, and some lights need to be manually turned on/off. The wallpaper and ceiling tiles look a little make do and mend... But the fridge and microwave were convenient and the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear John T,

Thank you for your review, we have taken your notes to improve the loft room. We do hope you give us another chance in the future to improve your impressions of our hotel.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have passed by this motel several times in Solvang thinking it looked good from the outside and conveniently located. I finally had a chance to stay over a weekend. A shame it was not as accommodating as it appeared from the outside. My primary disappointment stems from the room location on the bottom level at street level. The location made it a noisy room and very visible from the sidewalk.

The room was your styled like your typical US highway motel; bed, desk and office chair, TV, dresser, microwave, mini-fridge. A common complaint I have about mini-fridges is they are ineffective and/or noisy. This one was neither. The bathroom was plain with suitable amenities (soap, shampoo, conditioner). The under building parking was good but I wonder if it would
be a bottleneck on a busy weekend. It was too cold to enjoy the pool and hot tub.

A nice touch was the breakfast which although not expansive, better then just a coffee and a muffin.

The front desk staff were not memorable. The cleaning staff, however, were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't take the bottom street side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear freeamac,

I apologize on behalf of our team that we did not meet your expectations. I do appreciate your positive comments in regards to our friendly staff and nice looking exterior as well as our hot complimentary breakfast. We would like for you to give us another chance and for your next reservation please do ask for a room in the backside of the hotel to escape any street noise.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have just returned from a tour of California with a well known coach touring company and this hotel was on tour tour. nice big bed. free breakfast was good plenty of choice. didn't swim but felt the pool and it was warm. hotel was at the start of the main street, nice easy walk through with places to eat, we chose Solvang brewing company, was busy but good food and service time was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Joe023,

I appreciate taking your time to leave a review of your stay on Tripadvisor. It's always good to read positive feedback, thank you for commenting on our big bed, complimentary breakfast and on our location, we look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#4 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#9 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#8 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.