We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
San Francisco
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“This place was awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The only reason I'm giving this Holiday Inn Express any stars at all is because the location is good and the staff were all so friendly and helpful and when all other places to stay were filled up, at least this place had a vacancy.

It's been years since we stayed in such a rundown place that looks like they have done nothing to upgrade since the 70s. The nice paint job on the outside masks what the inside looks like. The ceiling of the room had that sprayed on 'popcorn' ceiling, and I am not clear whether that always means it is asbestos. Another part of the ceiling that had those white acoustic panels had tape holding broken parts together. The elevator was shabby beyond belief and also the foyer leading from the lobby to the elevator. It wasn't as if we got it cheap. We paid over $200 for each of the two nights we stayed there. There is a breakfast included, but it is very generic and the scrambled eggs in the buffet were cold and so was the coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear tapestries,

We are disappointed to hear about your recent stay at our hotel. We are in the process of an uplift of our hotel. Hopefully by the time you visit us next time, you will be able to enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    115
    66
    22
    23
See reviews for
86
114
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Butte Valley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked our room last minute and had never been to Solvang before. Most other hotels were all booked. When we got into town we realized there were a few other hotels not listed on trip advisor that still had vacancies. We felt that, for the high price, the hotel was not worth it. It was clean enough, but quite dated. They had obviously tried to do some updates, but again, not worth the high price we paid. Take your chance and find a cute little boutique in town. You might find a real gem!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear UniquelyNordic,

Thank you for leaving us a positive review on tripadvisor. We are sorry you felt the price was too high, on busy days in Solvang the prices may rise in the entire town. We still are glad you were able to enjoy the stay with us and hope to see you in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here one night with my wife a 4-year old daughter on my way to San Diego. It was one of the few places with available rooms and I was glad we scored it. We had never been to Solvang and it turns out we were in for a treat.

The hotel itself is very well kept. The room we had was very spacious, the bed comfortable and our little girl loved playing in the pool. It is located on the main road in Solvang, so everything is a reasonable walk away. As a plus, our room faced some woods in the back of the hotel, so it felt very private.

The room came with breakfast and I must say that the lobby and breakfast area were cozy and comfortable. My wife and I were planning on going out for breakfast, but when we saw the spread, we opted to stay. The buffet was well-stocked and fresh. As my wife checked us out, my daughter and I cuddled on the couch in the lobby in front of the warm fireplace. What a great moment!

While I will say this place is very much indicative of a chain hotel, it is definitely on the higher end and clearly the owners take pride in it. Having never been to Solvang, I can't speak for any other hotel, but for my money, I would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Devo1975,

We appreciate your great 4 star review on Tripadvisor!! We are happy you found our rooms spacious and beds comfortable. It is a great hotel for families. We look forward for your family to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Holiday Inn Express, Solvang, California is a very nice hotel which meet your average or rather good standards of hospitality. This hotel
is located very near to some of the streets where you can do some nice shopping. The people are nice in this town. The Staff at this
hotel are very friendly, easy to talk to and the rooms which I stayed was very clean and smelled good. The breakfast was a rather
simple yet filling. Overall a very cozy experience and will come back soon.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the west end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear worldtravellersam24,

We really appreciate your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you were able to enjoy our town and found our staff friendly and easy to talk to. We look forward to booking your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Found hotel by chance whilst driving in California (was kind of lost in the dark). Room was exceptionally spacious with very comfy bed. Car parking is right under the building with elevator access to room level. Only disappointment was breakfast. Lots of pre-prepared foods including a big tray of omelettes which had an unknown age and tasted so. Staff were also cleaning breakfast room and emptying trash when guests dined which was a bit weird. Nonetheless would definitely return to this hotel if I ever found myself in Solvang again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Cole C,

Thank you for your outstanding review and rating us with 5 stars. We really appreciate it.
We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable beds and spacious rooms. I hope you will travel through Solvang in the future and stay with us to improve your breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Holiday Inn Express was a good choice for our stay at Solvang considering that a lot of the hotels in Solvang are either quite expensive or dated. Holiday Inn Express is a good balance.

The rooms are spacious and we had 2 double beds. The sink area is separate from the bathroom and toilet. There is also free wifi in the hotel rooms.

The breakfast is the usual for Holiday Inn, nothing too fancy but decent enough.

The location is ideal for us as it is within walking distance of the Solvang town center where the cute shops and restaurants are.

We would love to come back and visit the town of Solvang. Most probably, we'd stay here again as long as the management is able to maintain the establishment well and they keep the rooms and facilities up to date.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear M U,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and taking your time to post your
review on Tripadvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your free amenities, spacious rooms and our
location. We will ensure you to maintain the property and exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Most of the parking for this hotel is down around the back and in a structure under the hotel building so you will need to walk from the garage to a nearby lower entry and use the elevator. The parking is free. This hotel sits out on the west edge of town but it still in close walking distance of the main part of town.

There was a mini refrigerator and microwave in the room. The room was clean and everything looked OK. Just the standard Holiday Inn Express type of place. The bed was comfortable. We only stayed one night but even though our room was out front (not too far from the main street through town) I did not notice too much street noise. The bathroom sink is located just outside the room where the toilet and tub/shower are located. There are other rooms that look out to the back and I would suggest requesting one of those if you don't like being so close to the street.

There was a complimentary breakfast that provided some hot and cold items. They have pre-made cheese omelets, hard boiled eggs, pastries, yogurt, bagels, fruit, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. It is probably good enough for most people but we like something a little more on the healthier side so we didn’t eat much of what was there. There are plenty of nice restaurants in town.

We use to live in Solvang for a few years back in the early to mid-1970’s and there are a lot less bakeries now and a lot more wineries. We were just passing through on this occasion and we came into town late so we picked the Holiday Inn Express rather than fool with trying to find something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear misplaced,

Thank you for leaving such a detailed positive review on Tripadvisor about our hotel. We really appreciate your comments and are happy you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you again when you are traveling to Solvang next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.