We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No regrets staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“No regrets staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Holiday Inn Express was a good choice for our stay at Solvang considering that a lot of the hotels in Solvang are either quite expensive or dated. Holiday Inn Express is a good balance.

The rooms are spacious and we had 2 double beds. The sink area is separate from the bathroom and toilet. There is also free wifi in the hotel rooms.

The breakfast is the usual for Holiday Inn, nothing too fancy but decent enough.

The location is ideal for us as it is within walking distance of the Solvang town center where the cute shops and restaurants are.

We would love to come back and visit the town of Solvang. Most probably, we'd stay here again as long as the management is able to maintain the establishment well and they keep the rooms and facilities up to date.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear M U,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and taking your time to post your
review on Tripadvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your free amenities, spacious rooms and our
location. We will ensure you to maintain the property and exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    114
    66
    21
    23
See reviews for
85
113
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Most of the parking for this hotel is down around the back and in a structure under the hotel building so you will need to walk from the garage to a nearby lower entry and use the elevator. The parking is free. This hotel sits out on the west edge of town but it still in close walking distance of the main part of town.

There was a mini refrigerator and microwave in the room. The room was clean and everything looked OK. Just the standard Holiday Inn Express type of place. The bed was comfortable. We only stayed one night but even though our room was out front (not too far from the main street through town) I did not notice too much street noise. The bathroom sink is located just outside the room where the toilet and tub/shower are located. There are other rooms that look out to the back and I would suggest requesting one of those if you don't like being so close to the street.

There was a complimentary breakfast that provided some hot and cold items. They have pre-made cheese omelets, hard boiled eggs, pastries, yogurt, bagels, fruit, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. It is probably good enough for most people but we like something a little more on the healthier side so we didn’t eat much of what was there. There are plenty of nice restaurants in town.

We use to live in Solvang for a few years back in the early to mid-1970’s and there are a lot less bakeries now and a lot more wineries. We were just passing through on this occasion and we came into town late so we picked the Holiday Inn Express rather than fool with trying to find something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear misplaced,

Thank you for leaving such a detailed positive review on Tripadvisor about our hotel. We really appreciate your comments and are happy you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you again when you are traveling to Solvang next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

When not wanting to drive home to L.A. after wine tasting days, you gotta sleep somewhere!

Not a fancy place. But also not too expensive. Completely anticipated amenities and quilted duvets for its hotel class. However, when I saw my friends' room, brunch and pool across the street at Hadsten House for nearly the same price, I immediately decided never to consider the Holiday Inn Express if I don't have to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear vicflem,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel whilst with a tour during august 2013. I found the location was ok, solvang is very small so everything is within walking distance, it did have a convenience store opposite which was handy. The room was good, comfortable bed, clean and hot water. Our room was next to the road but its a quite town so the traffic did not cause any problem. The swimming pool was a nice bonus, with a small Jacuzzi. The included breakfast was great, including eggs, bacon, pastrys, cereal and a few other options, we did go in prime time and there was a slight wait for seats. Overall I think this is a great one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Emilypeters92,

Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Before my stay I tried to call and no one called me back. When I got there the shower handle is broken and the shower got so hot I was burned. The beds are so uncomfortable I think I need to see my chiropractor. ...do not go there please!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Lacy H,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Two friends from Orange County that enjoy food and wine as much as we do had offered to take us to Santa Barbara County Wine Country at the end of our three week visit to the USA, and made reservations for the four of us at Holiday Inn Express Solvang for two nights (July 24 and 25 - Rooms 112 and 114).

The hotel was almost exactly as one would expect of a Holiday Inn Express. Our bed was comfortable, with both soft and hard pillows on the bed. Bathroom amenities were as are on offer at most Holiday Inn Express properties, and I thought the towels were of above average quality.

When we returned to the property at 3:00PM on Thursday afternoon for a nap, our room had not yet been serviced. We were happy just to get fresh towels, but none were available for us at the time, but they were delivered later that evening, so no worries at all with this

Unfortunately, when we went to pack everything in to our friends' car (which was parked in the private lot under the Holiday Inn Express) on Friday morning, we discovered that their car had been broken in to (there were distinct finger, thumb, and hand prints at the top of the driver's door window), the trunk then opened, and a box containing five bottles of wine that we had purchased during our visits to wineries on Thursday had been stolen.

One of our friends went to the front desk to inform one of the staff of what had happened, and the reaction was of disinterest at best, but she did at least say "sorry". Calling the police would have been a waste of time, which was at a premium, as we had to return to LA for some business before our flight back to Australia - and there's no way the police would ever recover the wine for us.

While we can't actually "blame" the Holiday Inn Express management or staff for the burglary, the experience left us feeling violated and disappointed.

Let this serve as a warning (and a "lesson learned" for us): don't leave things of value in a vehicle.

Room Tip: Rooms could use with a refresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Charles S,

Thank you for staying with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room with the amenities and that the towels were above average!
I am very sorry to hear about the wine that was stolen out of your car. We hope you return to our hotel. If you decide to visit us again I will have a bottle of wine in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed at several properties in Solvang previously and made this booking at the last minute because we wanted to attend the acclaimed Theaterfest in town. Weekends are busy in Solvang so plan ahead.
The hotel is located on the edge of town as your approach Solvang from the freeway. It is in a convenient location and you essentially can walk to everything leaving your car parked in their underground garage.
The faux Danish architecture is similar to what you find throughout Solvang but the rooms themselves are standard fare. Holiday Inn is predictable so there shouldn't be any surprises.

Unfortunately, this hotel is in bad need of a refresh. The rooms are shabby; in our room the wallpaper was beginning to bubble and the bathroom had a moldy smell.

Solvang is a fun place to visit but I will view this hotel as only a convenient stopover to sleep; you will want to find things to do in Solvang and not hang out at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Theroadwarrior12,

I’m disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.