We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday Inn; maybe not your best Solvang choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
335 hotel reviews
Reviews in 336 cities Reviews in 336 cities
668 helpful votes 668 helpful votes
“Good Holiday Inn; maybe not your best Solvang choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you've ever stayed at a Holiday Inn Express, you'll know what to expect here. And, overall, I would say this is a slightly-above average Holiday Inn. The place is attractive to look at (they have some faux Danish architecture outside), and my room was large and in good shape. The hotel is somewhat unusually laid out, but it's no real problem getting from the parking garage to the lobby and to your room.

As Platinum PriorityClub members, we stayed on points (reasonable at 15,000) and received a nice room upgrade. So there's no way we could possibly complain. But if you're not using points and paying cash money, you should probably consider one of the more local hotels. While the location is very convenient to seeing the town, there's nothing really "Danish" about this hotel; it's basically a chain cookie-cutter motel. For example, the breakfast is like every other Holiday Inn Express breakfast in America (which isn't bad; if you don't stay at these hotels regularly, you'll probably like the pancake machine and overall decent breakfast selections). But are you going to Solvang to stay at a typical chain motel? If not, I'd suggest seeing what else is available at a reasonable price.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Dave's reviews,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that we could meet your expectations. We are proud of our larger than usual rooms and are glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast.
Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to Solvang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    99
    63
    20
    22
See reviews for
78
105
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last year. It is clean, has plenty of parking, and it is close to the center of town. Parking is free and they offer free Wi-Fi. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Some general maintenance needs to be done but over all it is more than adequate. The breakfast was more than I expected for a Holiday Inn Express. I especially like the pancake maker. You press a button and a minute later it rolls off onto your plate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Joe T,

Thank you for your review and enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is in quite a central location- withing easy walking distance of the Mission and other attractions of Solvang.
The layout of the Inn is somewheat odd. You take the lift to your floor, then you have to pass over a bridge into another building before we reached our room. It was fine when we got used to it.
Breakfast is good.
Rooms are good.
But, in a town where everything has a Danish feel and Danish style- it didn't existing in this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay close to the lift- that way you won't get lost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Seeburg3Leixfort,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are glad the location was a ideal for you.
The layout of the building is different from others and would take a second trip back to us to have it perfectly memorized. It's great to hear you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and our rooms. Have a great day and we hope you will be able to visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were given the Handicap room. Not a problem really, except for the extra room features suited for wheelchair clients.
Rooms were typical of the Holiday Express chain, no frills but quite sufficient for travel weary clients. The breakfast buffet was ok, my daughter particularly enjoyed the automated pancake maker though.
The key feature that stands out for us, was the close proximity of the hotel to the downtown stores. It was less than 5 minutes away by foot. The concierge was very accommodating and allowed us to keep our vehicle parked in the basement even after our checkout time, so we still had the chance to enjoy strolling through the stores in the downtown area before continuing to our next destination.
Overall a pleasant stay :)

Room Tip: We had a problem looking for the lift connecting the rooms from the basement parking area, so we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear dennis u,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I was delighted to read your review and I am very happy that your daughter enjoyed the pancake maker. On the other hand, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We ate their amazing Cinnamon Rolls and left the place feeling very smart. Actually the food is typical HI Express stuff. I agree with a previous reviewer that they should add a local twist to the menu. Otherwise it was an uneventful hotel experience - staff was nice and helpful. The beds, rooms and baths were as to be expected for an older hotel. This facility is a bit run down, but they try to keep it clean. Pool is small and we did not partake. The elevator is a scary experience - take the stairs.

The advantage is proximity - you can walk to Paula's Pancake House and many other shops, restaurants and wine tasting rooms. Sort This Out Cellars was an entertaining wine tasting experience in town.

I would highly recommend you check out Los Olivos for either lunch or dinner. Andrew Murray pours a mean Syrach. Carthartt was a fun tasting room in Los Olivos that stays open late. The owner Mike will give you a generous pour, while he is drinking himself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dera Boniek1982,

We are glad you were able to enjoy our cinnamon rolls and you felt smarter afterwards !
I thank you for your great suggestions we will take it in consideration! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a King Loft Suite which was very nice and close to downtown for walking. We found the staff to be helpful and the hotel was clean. I would recommend this to anyone who would like a comfortable place close to downtown Solvang.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Rory T,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel and the staff! We pride ourselves in making sure each guest is comfortable and taken care of. I believe that from your response we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Solvang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Dominguez, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Book hotel four weeks prior to staying, had to cancel and did so, two weeks before stay and was charged a full amount for not even staying. Tried to complain this was not right, my card should not have been charged until I actully checked in, and only dealt with non English (Indian) speaking people, they claim it's like the airlines, if you book then cancel, you loose out! At least with airlines you get a ticket to use at a later date. No where on the sight does it indicate you get charged automatically for booking, the full amount wether you stay or not. $400.00 is what they took me for, I'm filing a claim with my bank, then with small claims court! BEWaRe of this hotel and it's staff!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Koollet4600,

The reservation was made as a Book Early and Save option which allows you to get discounted rate. It advises you very clearly your Credit Card will be charged at time of booking.
If you would like to have the option to cancel or change dates I would suggest to book our Best Flexible Rate.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.