We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close to Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a King Loft Suite which was very nice and close to downtown for walking. We found the staff to be helpful and the hotel was clean. I would recommend this to anyone who would like a comfortable place close to downtown Solvang.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Rory T,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel and the staff! We pride ourselves in making sure each guest is comfortable and taken care of. I believe that from your response we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Solvang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    109
    65
    21
    23
See reviews for
85
109
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Dominguez, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Book hotel four weeks prior to staying, had to cancel and did so, two weeks before stay and was charged a full amount for not even staying. Tried to complain this was not right, my card should not have been charged until I actully checked in, and only dealt with non English (Indian) speaking people, they claim it's like the airlines, if you book then cancel, you loose out! At least with airlines you get a ticket to use at a later date. No where on the sight does it indicate you get charged automatically for booking, the full amount wether you stay or not. $400.00 is what they took me for, I'm filing a claim with my bank, then with small claims court! BEWaRe of this hotel and it's staff!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Koollet4600,

The reservation was made as a Book Early and Save option which allows you to get discounted rate. It advises you very clearly your Credit Card will be charged at time of booking.
If you would like to have the option to cancel or change dates I would suggest to book our Best Flexible Rate.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We made reservations at the Holiday Inn Express thinking that it was safer, even though a bit more expensive, since Holiday Inn is a known entity. At check-in, I was surprised at the unfriendliness of the staff at the desk. When I requested a "quiet" room, I was told that the room we reserved was the less expensive, standard room, which is on the street side, the rooms on the other side, facing pastures, was more expensive. . . And, we were told, they were fully booked. That aside, its location was convenient to the restaurants and shops. I was also disappointed, upon returning home, to find out that we didn't get any priority club points because we booked through a third party. That is something to keep in mind, and it certainly turned me off to Holdiay Inn Express for the future. The room itself showed marked signs of heavy usage and little upkeep, such as stained and cracked tile in the bathroom. Breakfast was the usual --disappointing in that with the Dane-inspired motif of the town, it would have been nice to have Danish danish for breakfast. This hotel could have been located anywhere. So, it was worn, unfriendly staff, and mediocre.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor and facing away from the road are quieter. No Danish decor, just a run-of-the-mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Nitvoyodelo,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about the hotel. I am sorry that your review is not a positive one. It is our goal at the hotel for our guest to experience a clean room and a problem free stay.
Our management team has reviewed your comments and will take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is one of the worst i have ever seen. First off when i go to check-in all i hear are two "indian" employees fighting in front of everyone! After checking in to my room my heater was not working i called to have someone fix it and they guy kept saying it was fixed but it wasnt. when i tried to call for a manager i got some rude girl (same indian girl) who was short and kept saying its fixed theres nothing to do. I will never stay at this hotel because of the rudeness that i recieved from just her alone! Location is ok its in the beginning of solvang but other than that, unless you want to see the front desk fight or be rudely talked to i wouldnt stay here!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear 78hulu,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Your concerns will be addressed. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Perfectly located right on the 154 within walking distance of restaurants, shops, bakeries and wine tasting rooms. Close to Buellton and Los Olivos. Our room had a wonderful balcony overlooking green pastures and large oak trees.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear cburnsesq,

It's great to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel. It's fun to walk into town and all the wine tasting rooms, shops and restaurants are only minutes from the hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

OK...It's a Holiday Inn Express. It is pretty much like any other Holiday Inn Express, although I can say that after our stay I did not feel smarter. I'm still waiting for their ad to live up to its promise...

The room was fairly clean and had a fridge and microwave. If you do choose to stay here I recommend you ask for the top floor. We could hear every footstep in the room above us. The top floor won't help the fact that you can hear when the toilet is flushed in the adjacent room, and the hallway noise is loud enough that you think it is in your room, but it's a start.

The complimentary breakfast offerings were OK, and there was ample seating in the breakfast room. While there was no fruit visible, we asked about it and some was brought out right way.

Solvang is a Danish-inspired town, with most businesses keeping to that concept. This hotel doesn't even try, so if keeping with the theme is important to you a different hotel may be a better choice. If you just want a place to stay, this one may work.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear XIntAdventure,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the breakfast and the staff! We pride ourselves in making sure each guest is comfortable and taken care of. I believe that from your response we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Solvang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Solvang is such a quaint town. It's a must see for couples. We arrived late on Tuesday evening with 2 teenagers. I would not recommend this town for teenagers. It's really for couples or a great girlfriend(s) getaway. Restaurants were primarily closed. We found 1 open. Our hotel was very nice and accommodating. The breakfast area was also warm and sized appropriately for the amount of guests they service. Getting around from room to lobby is a little tricky (hallways with another access card), but it's doable. We plan on returning to take in the full experience this Danish town has to offer.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a good taste for the town and it's shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear FollysJourneys,

Thank you for your positive feedback on the hotel and the town Solvang. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.