We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Garden Grove, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We came for two nights to celebrate my nephews wedding. Many of our family members stayed at the Inn. Our overall experience was simply ok, some of the staff members were very short and not to polite. The room was clean and the bed was comfy, but the carpet had a bad smell. The breakfast selection was very nice. The location was great right down the street from downtown. If the Inn cleans up a little more I would definetly recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: The lofts are great and the rooms facing the back of the hotel have a fabulous moutain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sandra B,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor!
We realize you have many choices in where you stay in the market, and appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    116
    66
    22
    23
See reviews for
86
115
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a lovely little find. Location, location, location. Nearby by the greatest less traveled wine area of Santa Barbara County (Santa Rosa Road), and the "Sideways"-famed Hitching Post, this was so convenient. After a day's worth of winetasting, we cabbed it to the joint for dinner.The staff was so sweet and helpful. The rooms were spacious, spotless, and well appointed! (LOVED the lotion!) There was great water pressure too. The fridge came in handy for our leftover cheese, fruit and such - and of course, our purchases. Only wish the jacuzzi was open later, or that I could have spent another night to enjoy it! Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Joni,

I am SO happy you had a great time in Solvang! Let me know when I may make another reservation for you! I'll have enough lotion in the room at your arrival :)

Thanks again!
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I recently had a big birthday and chose to celebrate with in Santa Ynez. My husband and I are big Pinot and love going wine tasting. Solvang is relatively close to us therefore we go every couple of months for a wine weekend with our friends. When we go we always stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Solvang. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. So when it came down to planning accommodations for my friends to stay after the my birthday celebration, once again we chose the Holiday Inn Express. Lisa was super helpful and gave me a great rate. As a result of their stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Solvang, my friends have found a new place to stay. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Solvang area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear wirral13,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our hotel. We really do appreciate it!
We are glad you always enjoy your time in Solvang and feel that our rooms are comfortable and clean!

Please do give me a call when you decide to schedule another trip to the Valley, as there is always so much to do. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Hopefully I get to meet you next time!

Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is fine for a short stay. Room was clean and comfortable and room enough to move around. There was no cover on the air vent, and we were a little uncomfortable about particles blowing out of the unit. The halls and room had a peculiar smell. It was nice to have a micro wave and refrigerator; however the refrigerator was barely cool. There were no towels so we called down to the lobby. They told us that they were out of clean towels, but would bring some up in about 15 min. We were meeting friends for dinner and wanted to take a shower first. Still no towels an hour later – called back down and they finally brought some up, but not in time for us to shower before dinner. Staff was pleasant enough, but certainly wouldn’t call it a warm welcome. One thing that really surprised us was their local guide. For an area that has so many dining establishments, they listed only 7, one of which is in San Francisco. There were only 3 or 4 points of interests. Thankfully we are familiar with this area and really didn’t need guidance, but if we were not, the guide would have been totally worthless. Because we booked through Orbitz, we got a good deal, so we were ok with this hotel at that price, however, if we would have paid the hotel asking price, we would not have been happy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Diana B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and felt that our spacious rooms were clean and comfortable. I did take note of your comments about the air vents not having covers or that you had no towels at your arrival. We take these comments seriously as we are always attempting to improve.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We came to the Santa Ynez Valley for a quick getaway wine tasting trip. The Holiday Inn Express had the most reasonable rate for the weekened we went, and I liked that breakfast was included. Upon checking in, we noticed that our roon was directly next to a very large bachelorette party where it seemed 6+ people were staying in the room. As we wanted a relaxing (and quiet) weekend, we asked to be moved to a different room. The manager (I think) upgraded us to one of the loft rooms, which was great, and VERY quiet. We didn't hear a thing! I appreciated the speedy customer service that I haven't seen at some very high-end resorts. The room was comfortable, no frills, but very clean and the hot breakfast in the morning was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good customer service in Solvang.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park, you don't have any street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Turtle9012,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel and the staff! We pride ourselves in making sure each guest is comfortable and taken care of. I believe that from your response we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Solvang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Short two night stay but loved it!

Location:
Amazing - 2 minute walk to tasting rooms and brewery.

Pool and hot tub:
Spotless - not even a leaf in the pool or a spec of dirt, very impressive! Heated pool was warm enough to swim at night - swam both nights in February.

Room:
Large, extremely clean, comfy bed, big bathroom, great shower pressure, cold mini fridge.

Overall, highly recommended. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear RealTraveller111,
Thank you very much for your amazing review of our hotel! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our heated swimming pool and jacuzzi. Thank you also for recognizing the many amenities in our room. Hopefully we will be your destination the next time you travel to Solvang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is right on the main street in Solvang and you can easily walk anywhere to enjoy all of the fantastic bakeries, restaurants and wine tasting rooms. This is a great option for wine tasting, the wineries have storefronts and you don't have to worry about getting back in your car. The hotel itself is interesting, it would be awesome if they refreshed the rooms and replaced the windows. My partner was in love with our room, it was 2 floors and a balcony bedroom upstairs.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and the windows desperately need to be replaced to block the noise. I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear BizTravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review.
We are happy you and your partner were able to enjoy our hotel and the location.
Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.