We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, Not great. Proximity to highway makes sleeping difficult” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Not bad, Not great. Proximity to highway makes sleeping difficult”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I wasn't disappointed by the HIE Solvang, nor was I totally impressed. So in fairness a 3 out of 5 review.

The pluses. The breakfast meets the HIE standard. I appreciate having boiled eggs because the bagged scrambled eggs that are re-heated never really taste like scrambled eggs. So having real eggs in the form of boiled eggs is appreciated. The bathroom was clean. The room is ok. The hotel is not a motel but the rooms are conveniently accessed by multiple entrances in a quasi-motel like format. The internet connection was reasonably fast. Front desk staff and service was good. Staff are friendly.

The minuses. No fitness center. Most HIE's I stay at have fitness centers. It's hard enough being on the road without having the annoyance of staying at a hotel with no fitness centre. The room is ok, could use a bit of updated. The windows badly need upgrading to sound-proof windows. Road noise permeates into the hotel rooms making it difficult for light sleepers. I found myself wide awake in the early morning when road traffice resumed on the roadway. For a Motel 6, no problem with this level of noise. But for a HIE, inexcusable. In terms of prioritization for upgrades, I'd recommend the hotel upgrade the windows before upgrading the rooms. Soundproofing is needed to help mitigate the road noise. Minor nitpick and this is something I never comment on but it was apparent to me. The toilet paper was a rough one-ply toilet paper unbefitting the HIE brand. I had never noticed toilet paper before in hotels because typically it's soft. At HIE Solvang, the toilet paper was good to write on but not really good to use for it's intended purpose. It probably helps the hotel cut its costs in using this low-grade toilet paper, but at what cost in customer satisaction (dissatisfaction)?

Room Tip: Stay away from any rooms at the front of the hotel to avoid the road noise that permeates into the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Cabbagetown,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary hot American breafast, service of our staff as well as our high speed internet.

In regards to your comment of a fitness center, I think it would be a good asset to our lovely hotel, although most guests coming to Solvang usually like to walk around town. I apologize
for the noise leven you experienced during your stay. Hopefully next time you visit us we could
accommodate you on our park side.

We do hope to see you again when you are travelling to Solvang.
Thank you,

Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    90
    60
    20
    22
See reviews for
73
100
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The front desk clerk was very nice and the complementary breakfast was tasty but neither of those things would convince me to stay at this hotel again. Like many hotels in Solvang, it fronts on a relatively busy road so we paid a little extra for a room in the back with a view of the park. Should be tranquil, right? Instead this was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. There was a constant rumble which can only be likened to sleeping on a plane & listening to the engines roar. I am one of those people who can sleep any where, any time, but this kept even me up. There is really no point in listing other pros & cons because if you can't sleep in a hotel, what is the point?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear karen89178,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good location, clean room and bath. All Esat you expect from a hotel that you soulda stay one night.
We where a Group'da of three elderly couples on our way to Los Angeles. We made our reservations aerler on through a travel agency and should be thankful for the choice. We had time to enjoy the ferah produce and fruit market nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Candan A,

Thanks for staying with us. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our clean room and bathroom. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Holiday Inns are always dependable as to location, cleanliness and comfort. This Holiday Inn had the rudest, most no cooperative staff I've ever encountered. The pricing of 179.00 a night is ridiculous for the value, but Solvang is not cheap. The poor management is inexcusable.

Room Tip: The best room you can choose is at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear TheTardisTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about the hotel. I am sorry that your review is not a positive one. It is our goal at the hotel for our guest to experience a clean room and a problem free stay.
Our management team has reviewed your comments and will take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns.
We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here and found it very clean and relaxing. The lobby as well as the rooms are very clean and close to all the wonderful shops of Solvang. Very enjoyable and will consider this Holiday Inn Express to make my next stay fun as well as a good place to rest!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear EvelynSpeaks,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on Tripadvisor!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you recognize that our hotel
is clean and gives you time to relax.
Please do consider to stay with us again on your next visit to Solvang!

Thank you!
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location. I stayed 1 night on a business trip heading to Santa Maria. The room was spacious and clean. Modern flat screen HD T.V. and large clean bathroom. Walking distance to nice restaurant, I ate across the street at a nice steakhouse (Hadsten House) ........very nice and price reasonable. Breakfast was better than usual, they had a mini fridge holding small cartons of milk (nice touch) and hard boiled eggs. Good hot food including omlettes and sausage patties.

Would stay here again, was a nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Jerry K,
Thank you for taking the time to place your comment on TripAdvisor, we realize you have many choices in where you stay in the market, and appreciate your positive feedback.
We are happy to have met your expectations and glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our spacious rooms!
We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.
Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was the typically good Holiday Inn Express. Clean, good service, okay free breakfast. One nice thing about this one is the parking garage. One downside is that anyone can walk in the garage or back door of the hotel-unlike many today, there is no pass card needed to get in.

The hotel is right on the main street, so you can leave your car and walk around. The little market is just across the street. I'd probably check out some of the quaint Tudor-style hotels if I came through here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or near the front. Anywhere except by the back door that you ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear MPJ515,

Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang
Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.