We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Solvang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good location, clean room and bath. All Esat you expect from a hotel that you soulda stay one night.
We where a Group'da of three elderly couples on our way to Los Angeles. We made our reservations aerler on through a travel agency and should be thankful for the choice. We had time to enjoy the ferah produce and fruit market nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Candan A,

Thanks for staying with us. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our clean room and bathroom. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    114
    66
    21
    23
See reviews for
85
113
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Holiday Inns are always dependable as to location, cleanliness and comfort. This Holiday Inn had the rudest, most no cooperative staff I've ever encountered. The pricing of 179.00 a night is ridiculous for the value, but Solvang is not cheap. The poor management is inexcusable.

Room Tip: The best room you can choose is at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear TheTardisTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about the hotel. I am sorry that your review is not a positive one. It is our goal at the hotel for our guest to experience a clean room and a problem free stay.
Our management team has reviewed your comments and will take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns.
We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here and found it very clean and relaxing. The lobby as well as the rooms are very clean and close to all the wonderful shops of Solvang. Very enjoyable and will consider this Holiday Inn Express to make my next stay fun as well as a good place to rest!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear EvelynSpeaks,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on Tripadvisor!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you recognize that our hotel
is clean and gives you time to relax.
Please do consider to stay with us again on your next visit to Solvang!

Thank you!
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location. I stayed 1 night on a business trip heading to Santa Maria. The room was spacious and clean. Modern flat screen HD T.V. and large clean bathroom. Walking distance to nice restaurant, I ate across the street at a nice steakhouse (Hadsten House) ........very nice and price reasonable. Breakfast was better than usual, they had a mini fridge holding small cartons of milk (nice touch) and hard boiled eggs. Good hot food including omlettes and sausage patties.

Would stay here again, was a nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Jerry K,
Thank you for taking the time to place your comment on TripAdvisor, we realize you have many choices in where you stay in the market, and appreciate your positive feedback.
We are happy to have met your expectations and glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our spacious rooms!
We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.
Thank you,
Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was the typically good Holiday Inn Express. Clean, good service, okay free breakfast. One nice thing about this one is the parking garage. One downside is that anyone can walk in the garage or back door of the hotel-unlike many today, there is no pass card needed to get in.

The hotel is right on the main street, so you can leave your car and walk around. The little market is just across the street. I'd probably check out some of the quaint Tudor-style hotels if I came through here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or near the front. Anywhere except by the back door that you ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear MPJ515,

Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed as part of a wedding I was attending, with a good negotiated group rate under $150. I checked out various options for other dates and noticed some over $200. My expectations and review are based on what I paid. It was a nice hotel in a decent location. Elevators for those of us who need them. Good parking. A decent free breakfast, not just bread items like some places. I did not price compare with other hotels in Solvang, so do not know how this compares to others in this really cute little town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear SuzanneCA84,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are glad you were able to receive a good wedding group discount and had a good time. Hopefully when you come to our area again you will choose our hotel again!

Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The location is great. Central to all the restaurants, shops and tasting rooms in solvang and a short drive from major vineyards in the area. Hotel was clean and had everything we needed. Not fancy, but just fine. As a plus, we had a room on the back side of the property with a huge deck.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back of property with a large deck. Pretty wooded view and tons of stars at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear heather b,

Thanks for staying with us and for the great review. We hope to accommodate you again when you return to the area in the future.

Lisa Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.