We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late NIght” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Touch

Mandarin Touch
1635 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463-3649
805-686-0222
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 57 Restaurants in Solvang
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wrightwood, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Late NIght”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I staff and food are amazing!!! The best I have had. ... Can't wait to eat here again!! Location in town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Solvang's (only?) late opening restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Solvang on Valentine's night, and when we checked into our motel and asked for dinner venue suggestions we were told the Mandarin Touch was probably the ONLY place that could accommodate us without a reservation, and after 7pm! Unlike other reviewers we found the staff welcoming and helpful, and certainly didn't experience any pressure with tipping. The food was fine - not the best Chinese I've ever had, but the ingredients were of good quality and portions were generous. The Hunan shrimp was very good. We chose the Imperial menu ($18.95 each) which included green tea, Wonton soup, a range of appetizers and choice of entree from about 6 or 7. They serve a range of drinks, including Chinese beer and a decent wine list. By Solvang standards we thought the prices were reasonable, and whilst the restaurant was a little lacking in ambiance I would definitely recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Be prepared for the 20% tips and "automatically" round up (really goes up).”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Be careful! Mandarin Touch will automatically add the so called mandatory tips to your bill, even though we only had 5 people and there was not any service during our meal. Surprisingly, the tip rate is about 19% on the money after Tax, and over 20% pretax money. No need to mention that they will round up the total amount even there is something 0.10 (e.g. $58.10 to $70).

Again, bad service + crazy tips! HIGHLY NOT RECOMMENDED!
Again, please stay away from this restaurant if you can. There are so many choices at Solvang. The so-called mandatory tips are insulting to the customers. To them, it really doesn't matter you have 2 people or 5. Be prepared for the 20% tips and "automatically" round up (really goes up).

Also, the sizeof dinner dishes are exactly the same as the lunch combination except there are bigger plates but no rice come with them.

Of course, choice is yours. Only kindly suggestions here. You can check other people's reviews here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese restanrant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I've been to the U.S over 25 years and have dinned in numerous places, but this is the worst, worst restaurant that I've ever been to, The price is ridiculously high while the food is unbelievably bad. I doubt the chefs were Chinese. The restaurant is simply trying to rip off the diners. Worst of the worst is that it added the 15% tip to the bill, afraid of us not paying the waitress. I'ts a notorious discrimination!!!! 同胞们,你们千万不要项我们一家误入虎穴掉进这陷阱。

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Chinese Food in Solvang!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The restaurant was hopping when we got there. We found a booth near the back. My husband bought the cheapest meal ($12.95) & I got the next one up for $14.95. They both came with hot tea (which hit the spot on a cold evening), hot soup, and rice bowls. The entrees were huge and delicious! We took 1/3 of them back to our hotel room & saved them in the fridge. We ended up eating them at home, the next night for dinner. :)
The service was good, so many courses, so lots to keep track of. They were very busy, but attentive to us. We would go there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Touch also viewed

 

Been to Mandarin Touch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Touch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.