We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One improvement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wine Valley Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPA Special
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
1 review
“One improvement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

One improvement would be to include local food in your complimentary breakfast. It would be a great way to start the visitors out and get them to try more restaurants with a Danish cuisine. I really enjoyed the complimentary log in the room for the fireplace.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    271
    152
    73
    40
See reviews for
131
413
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a great time at this hotel. Right in the middle of Solvang easy to walk to the shops and restaurants. We were able to check in early with out any problems. It was very quite and breakfast was very good. I really like how they provide danishes from the local bakeries. The only thing we had to call about was the A/C it was a little confusing on how to use the remote. After we Other than that it was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The chateau rooms are a standard size (not too big), the other two types of rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff at the desk was friendly and the breakfast very good but our room was not user friendly!
First, the wood blinds did not keep the blazing bright outside lights out at night and it was like sleeping in the afternoon. We had to put washcloths over our eyes to have dark. No small table, only on chair and a fireplace not facing the bed but a back side wall! The decor ran from modern to country to deco with a hole in the unmatching carpet. The shower was like a cave with dark slate and most of the lighting in the room and bath was unpleasant, cold fluorescent. The only way the light in the bath turned on was with a noisy fan. Good bath supplies and soft enough towels.The bed was comfortable but the overall vibe was not.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The breakfast was amazing, and the hotel staff was friendly and nice. Free wireless is a big plus. The bed was quite comfy. My aunt loved the Wine Bar! and the honor bar had a good assortment of snacks.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are also happy to know that your family enjoyed our immaculate and spacious rooms, and that the honor and wine bar were to your aunt's liking. As you saw during your stay, our complimentary breakfast is composed of scrambled eggs, coffee, orange juice, waffles, sausage patties, freshly baked Danish, yogurt and many more. We thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you and your family back at our Solvang property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my wife as we were attending a friend's wedding in Solvang and we were extremely disappointed. We experienced several problems with some very lack luster staff that really aren't friendly or just don't give a damn. It is very sad as this can be a great property if the staff cared about taking care of guests. Our first issue was the phone call for a reservation. We wanted a Cottage as we were bringing our 2 small dogs and we thought we would splurge as a special treat as well as we like more space and the promised room amenities sounded good, etc. We are very happy they allow dogs on property, that is one of the positive things here. That being said they do charge $25 per dog and they promise a "pet program." We are familiar with "Pet Programs" as reputable Hotels such as Kimpton, Lowes, etc. have them and they are great. That being said, the "pet program" here is not anything but 2 dog biscuits and 2 very small coupons that aren't even legible to read. Getting back to reservations, we were told by the woman on the phone that they did have availability for the Cottages and she went on to tell us how great they and she seemed really nice until we told her it was for 1 night then her demeanor sharply changed, she became very argumentative, she put us on hold several times, as if she was "checking" with someone? and she told us we would have to stay 2 nights as there is a minimum on Saturday nights. But we were only coming for 1 night as we were attending a Wedding on Saturday night, which the Hotel was aware of since the Bride and Groom booked a block of rooms with this Hotel months before. There seemed to be a huge disconnect between Reservations and the staff that handles Weddings,etc. It seemed very disorganized that one didn't know what the other had promised the Wedding party, etc. That being said, we were told the only way we could stay was if the room is available the Wednesday before and only then we could book it. So this was the first poor taste for us. That being said, we then checked online and it seemed you can book anything in the reservation system? So again, very poor management and policy on this. One would have thought they would have been accommodating to a party bringing the Hotel a block of rooms for business. That being said the room did eventually become available and we booked it, so why we had to be hassled on this and argued with is just mind boggling! We also asked for an early check in as the Wedding we were attending was starting at 2:30PM and check in is 3PM. We arrived at the Hotel at 2PM and were told our room was not ready. Not ready 1 hour before...are you kidding me! We were furious as our notes on our reservation clearly stated we wanted an early check in. We were told that the Hotel takes these requests seriously to which we said obviously not because you chose to clean other rooms besides ours first and we requested an early check in clearly in our reservation notes. Our room at NO TIME was EVER ready not 1 minute before the regular check in time of 3PM. So we are assuming no one reads these requests, or they don't care. The one woman at the desk, (Corrine who is not friendly at all) then tried to give us an ADA cottage instead. To which I thought she was taking us out of an ADA room as we will not stay in an ADA room as for us this is like parking in a Handicapped spot when we clearly don't need to. We also have had family members with disabilities and we would never take a room away from someone who needs it. This was very insulting and in poor taste. Corrine did not apologize she seems to be very stoic and didn't seem to care. Not really the face or attitude any Hotel should have at the Front Desk when you first arrive. We would recommend you speak with Wendy or someone else to try and get assistance as Wendy had a much better attitude. Not to mention, on top of this, we were now late for our Wedding we are paying close to $400 with taxes and dog fees (on a discounted AAA rate no less) for this room for 1 night and we couldn't believe the issues that had already transpired. Unbelievable! We then asked them to give us a place to change as they weren't offering us ANY HELP other than we had to wait. So, again, the Hotel made us late for our Wedding, not to mention we had a dog sitter we paid to stay with our dogs at the Hotel who we had to reschedule as our original plans were ruined by the Hotel. Thank goodness the dog walker (who is not affiliated with the Hotel in any way) was very understanding of all this insanity! Our room was finally ready at regular check in time, 3PM. Thanks for nothing Wine Valley Inn! So we flew off to our Wedding stressed, upset, and frustrated which was all due to the Wine Valley Inn Hotel. After we returned from the Wedding we were able to actually see what we were staying in and paying for. The Hotel although extremely charming, is a bit worn and outdated, and the Cottages could use some upkeep for the price they charge. We experienced yet again several issues with our Cottage, which is unacceptable at the price point you pay. The pro is the size of the Cottage and that it is only connected to one other unit. That being said, the amenities in the Cottage are just not there. We had robes but no hangers in the downstairs closet. The water pressure is very low and there were visible rust and nicks in the bathtub. They have an antiquated coffee system (no Keurig's here) and if you want tea you have to ask the front desk as they don't provide any in your $400 room. What?!! How can you not have tea bags in the room? No complimentary water or anything anywhere, everything has a price attached to it in the wine bar area as well as in the small refrigerator. The sink in the kitchen had hard water all over the base of it making it hard to use. The chairs in the kitchen area are stained. And the soaps, etc, they provide are not in any way luxurious. Again if this Cottage was priced at $150/200 perhaps you can overlook it all but at $400 per night all in, the Hotel MUST deliver a better experience. Thank goodness for the Hot tub to relieve some of the ridiculous stress put on us staying here. Although on a very bizarre note they have a sign by the hot tub warning people to stay out of it if you have had Diarrhea...really makes you think why there is a sign for that hanging there? On a completely different note, a positive, they do include a breakfast here, pretty average, as they go but if you have your dogs you cannot eat in the Breakfast room even though you pay $25 per dog. We did experience a very chipper, sweet younger woman Sunday morning, 12-14-14, at the front desk, I wasn't able to get her name, maybe Holly? but she was the only one there at 8/9AM. She did set us up at a smaller table outside the Breakfast room to eat with the dogs. We very much appreciated her kindness, professionalism and her help. More of the staff should be like her representing this Hotel to give it a better image. Upon check it we told her of the maintenance issues in our Cottage and she wrote them down. We additionally have photos documenting all of this. Overall, the sad part is that I want to love this Hotel as this COULD BE a great Hotel, it just seems to be poor management. At no time, did the GM, Sandra, or any other Manager ever contact us during our stay, or apologize, or help us. We had nothing sent to the room, no extra special treatment, nothing for what transpired. That speaks volumes to us. It is cute, charming and the Cottages are a really neat idea. Again, we wanted to love it, as it is a great location to the area. We may try it in the future if we are in Solvang but we would only do that if they get their acts together.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay..the room was wonderfu and right in the middle of Solvang. Our only potential negative comment was on the breakfast. The lack of choices and same food everyday had us wishing there was a McDonald's next door. Add some variety and some cook to order items and this place would be off the charts!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guest with your feedback on your recent stay at our Solvang property. Yes, Wine Valley Inn and Cottages is located in the heart of Solvang, so walking to any store, shop, restaurant or winery is always a short distance away. Wine Valley Inn and Cottages offers all its guest free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. Our gardens are beautifully manicured so that guest such a yourself can enjoy a relaxing walk around our property. We hope you will be able to stay with us on your next visit to the Solvang area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We tip our paws to the staff! My boyfriend, myself & our little dog visited this cute little hotel for the Christmas festivities last weekend..We have to thank the staff for being SUPER ACCOMODATING to not just us but our little guy as well! We weren't allowed in the breakfast area because we had him w/ us so Correna ( who was awesome and very attentive!) set up a little table for the 3 of us for breakfast right next to the fire! Loved every minute of our experience there!!! Thank you Correna and staff :)!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.