We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Comfortable and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wine Valley Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPA Special
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Charming, Comfortable and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

The hotel is located in the heart of Solvang town, within walking distance to all restaurants, bars, Theater and wine tasting rooms. The location is at the end of a very quiet street, with plenty of on-property parking. From the outside the hotel’s main building looks like a beautiful old church with an European style, but the whole property is indeed very well maintained and renovates indeed. The rooms were cozy and had a welcoming ambiance/decoration with warm colors; the beds were comfortable, with great linens and brand new pluffy comforters. There is also TV, a/c and fridge in all rooms. The first night we stayed at the adjacent building (in the cheapest rooms) and there was a bit corridor noise (you can basically listen to anyone walking or opening the doors once there are no carpets and the sound propagates loudly and freely). The second night we moved to a king size room in the “villa” building. The décor in the room was as superb and modern, also everything looked renovated, clean and new, but the noise here came from steps from the upstairs floor (the wooden construction). Overall the experience exceeded expectations once you are staying at a boutique-like hotel with much better service and quality than a best western/comfort inn type of hotel elsewhere for a similar price. In Solvang you may rent bikes and tour around the wine country and visit the wineries. During spring/summer/autumn you may have a unique experience at the open air Theaterfest in the city’s local theater. This is a perfect romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Renovated. clean, comfortable, great decor
  • Disliked — A bit of noise from other guests until everyone goes to sleep
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    271
    152
    73
    40
See reviews for
131
413
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

I am so surprised to see any mediocre reviews on this place. This is the BEST place to stay of you are traveling to Solvang or Santa Ynez. Modern, clean decor....better than any hotel in the area. The rooms are ultra quiet. Anyone that says otherwise has to be a "cronic complainer" type. This hotel is along the back corner and is so quiet you can not hear any street noise or foot traffic at all. Its situated such that you feel you are in your own little world. So cozy and romantic. I have two trips planned to the Wine Valley Inn in 2009 and can't wait! I have and will continue to recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Liked — Huge quiet clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Co., CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

This place looks lovely on its website. This is NOT the way most of the actual rooms are. We saw a number of rooms because we would not stay in the 1st room they showed us. Also, we were there with 2 other couples & saw their rooms.

The basic queen bed rooms were so tiny that the sink was in the bedroom NOT the bathroom. There were NO CLOSETS - only a tiny ammoire (spelling?) which also held the extra blankets, pillows and ironing board! If you had more than 4 hanging items, they were squashed together.

There was no closets for any luggage etc., so it all had to be lined up against the wall creating a cluttered, claustrophobic room.

We had a "Junior Suite." The 1st room they showed us was a tiny kind of "half-room with a couch & 2 chairs. It had 3 large windows all facing the stucco walls across the narrow corridor. Dark, dank and tiny. The "bedroom" was a step down - another "half-room" with no windows. We couldn't get out of there fast enough.

After looking at 2 more rooms which were equally unacceptable, we finally settled on a larger room on the street side. It was dark & dreary, but reasonably spacious. It had the same tiny ammoire and no closets. It was also very noisy. The bathroom was small, but functional and at least the sink was actually IN the bathroom instead of in the bedroom as the other rooms were.

I believe this hotel bills itself as European. I've been in Europe and had much nicer rooms at lesser prices.

I will say the bed was very comfortable, but it was right up against the windows & a draft came in from the windows all night even though they were closed. This was in December and the nights were freezing.

None of the 3 couples on this trip would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Quick summary: Quaint outside. Crisp, clean and stylish, inside. Far too noisy--you could hear every sound.

The long version: We love Solvang, and this is the first time we stayed at the Wine Valley Inn. The overall look of the hotel is quite nice and quaint on the outside and modern and crisp, but cozy, inside. There is part with a motel-style set up and then, in the back, an adorable group of little cottage style, two-stories in back.

Our room was small, but nicely decorated with a crisp modern feel with a granite counter top in the bath area and it wasn't overdone. Room had a very comfortable bed, linens, pillows, etc. Everything was clean and well put-together. The only thing that gave away the age of the room was the ancient thermostat and the paper thin walls. We had Room 32--31 and 32 may have been the worst possible rooms in terms of noise, as they are the most immediate toward the parking area and on either side of an open air hallway with a staircase. We could hear every conversation and step of every person coming or going from their rooms. Quiet conversations and normal volume would come into our room as though we had no door. The room has a double door option that can be used to join it with the room next door and the gap under the door was big, so the light from the next room would enter. Also, when the occupants of the neighboring room would blow their nose, we could hear it like they were in the room with us. The people upstairs, though surely not elephants, sounded like them when moving around. Our neighbors couldn't have been too happy with use, either, as we were with our baby, who would periodically announce her need to eat. By about 11:00pm, thankfully, people were pretty quiet and not too many coming or going. But at, 2:30am, a few women were returning from their night out and laughing and talking like they were in a real hotel with real walls. Not a nice way to wake up in the middle of the night.

Even though it was a visually pleasing place, the lack of insulation from noise is a deal breaker for us. Maybe an upstairs room at the end of the hall, facing the back or side would have been better in terms of noise from people passing by and upstairs occupants, but it still would have the capability of being as quiet as a better insulated, newer hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, nice looking, comfortable
  • Disliked — loud, noisy room. we heard every noise outside
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

This was our first trip to Solvang and we were both VERY excited. We chose this place because, in the photos, it looked very clean and the decor was crisp and modern.

Although the staff was friendly, the exterior was lovely, and the lobby/lounge areas were cozy and inviting, the room was one step above a motel 6. I don't expect any hotel room to be spotless, but this room smelled like an ex-smoking room. The linens were clean, but the bathroom and tub had small hairs all over. The room was TINY, we had enough space for the queen bed, two chairs, the tv and our suit cases. Also, we were in a ground floor room that sat directly accross from the housekeeping gate so we had the banging and clanging of the staff all day. Our upstairs neighbors sounded like they were rearanging furniture in wooden shoes every time they moved, and the "ladies" next to us were partying late into the night.

Also, even though it was a non smoking room, the patio outside had an ashtray stand setup so our room contantly smelled like cigaretts from the people around us. Finally, when the smokers were NOT huffing and puffing, I was unable to open the windows for some fresh air because the handles were stripped and could not be turned.

I don't want to give the impression that this was a horrible stay, but I was expecting better, especially for the cost and in a town with SO many choices.

  • Liked — The exterior and garden
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgsb2001
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

My wife and I have stayed at the Wine Valley Inn (WVI) numerous times before this stay (12/19/08) and were fairly pleased (8/10). We have referred numerous other friends and family members to the WVI (at least 12 different couples).

This stay, however, stunk from the get go. As we trekked the three flights of narrows staircases we brushed along side walls that were freshly painted. There were no signs posted to alert anybody to the wet paint.

Two men's coats (Claiborne), a men's Van Hussein dress shirt, a women's DB purse ($400), a women's coat (donna karen), and four other articles of clothing were ruined. Our luggage was also damaged, but the hotel management was unwilling to compensate us for our loses. Instead, the clerks gave us towels to 'dry off' the paint. What a great help that was (sarcasm)

Things got worse . . . our t.v. and t.v. control did not work. We did not get a fire log for our fireplace (we bought our own), the soap trays were broken, the beds were made for midgets (my feet hung off the edge of the bed)

Needless to say the response from management was subpar - we were not fully reimbursed for our losses - and we will not be staying at the WVI ever again.

Stay at the Wine Valley Inn at your own risk. We have vacationed in Solvang for the last ten years and are very family with the service standard of the area. The Wine Valley Inn demonstrated an inability to service its customers at a satisfactory level.

This was the most disappointing stay we have ever had in Solvang.

  • Liked — Free coffee and USA Today Newspaper
  • Disliked — everything else (the lack of toilet paper, ice, bed space, customer service)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

We were so disappointed in the lack of attention paid to details. Obviously, management couldn't care less since they never contacted us after we mailed in our survey card.
The veneer on the leg of the bathroom vanity was peeling off. Only 1/2 roll of toilet paper--good thing we didn't get Montezuma's revenge, or there would've been a big mess. ALL of the towel edges were frayed--I have nicer towels in my rag bag. Door didn't shut properly--felt like a credit card could open it from the outside. Then locking it while in the room, couldn't get it to unlock--very dangerous situation in case of a fire. Window wouldn't shut. No instructions on how to use the heater nor were there any instructions on using the fireplace. Damper knob was broken/missing. Room was supplied with 1 2hr burn time log. Not enough for a romantic evening.
There was a decent continental breakfast and it is withing walking distance of all downtown Solvang. I just don't feel it was worth the almost $300 per night charge. Too expensive for an over-neglected room. Most likely we won't be returning and I'm telling everyone I know about our stay. I expect these kind of conditions in a Hotel 6.

  • Liked — Continental breakfast and fireplace in the room
  • Disliked — Lack of attention paid to neglected details
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Solvang
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.