We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wine Valley Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPA Special
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Malibu, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful rooms (love the fireplace), but what rocks is the service: Vanessa and Corenna, thanks so much for being so helpful and accommodating!! Coastal drivers FYI: this place will take you half an hour off course. Pretty drive, but good to know

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us and future readers detailing the great service that was provided to your by our fabulous front desk team members. It always brings us great joy to hear of the great service that our guest are offered every time they stay at our property. Please know that we do offer an ample selection of hot and free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi service and best of all, we are open twenty four hours a day so that anything that you might need during the night can be attended to in a speedy manner. We hope you will be able to stay with us again on your next visit to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    273
    153
    73
    40
See reviews for
134
415
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I haven't been to Solvang in over 20 years so this was my return. My husband and I are city people (L.A.) who work hard 5 days a week. Sometimes you need to 'turn life down a notch' so we thought Solvang was something different to consider...I HAD TO PRY MY HUSBAND AWAY FROM THE COTTAGE DOORKNOB ON CHECKOUT! We LOVED the cottage! Such a wonderful way to spend a couple of days focusing on quiet and relaxation. Wine tasting galore and comforting breakfasts and lunches steps away you couldn't ask for more! Thank you to the property staff who helped adjust the jacuzzi water temp, they were all so nice including the front desk! We will be back again this year..we love it there too much to wait a long time for a next visit! Thanks Wine Valley Inn.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with a cottage, its worth the extra money. Like having a 'little house'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
It is so great to hear from you that you along with your husband fully enjoyed your stay at one of our cottages, and that after twenty years of not visiting beautiful Solvang, you decided to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are happy to hear that our team members shined for you during your stay and that you and your husband both fully enjoyed the serene atmosphere that we offer here at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Also, thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our free and hot complimentary breakfast, and yes, we are only steps away from most restaurants, shops and bakeries. Finally, we would like to thank you for deciding to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages on your return to Solvang California. We hope you can continue at our property on more frequent trips to Solvang.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

It was a great sunny Sunday Afternoon, when me and My BFF's since high school ( over 22 years ) reunited again for the longest time in this small town of Solvang, the place we chose to be our half way meeting place (from Norcal and Socal) and luckily decided to booked in Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Came in early for their check-in time but still able to get a room ready by 12nn. Reception staff was helpful though she wasn't able to give us enough idea on the things to do here in Solvang, especially for us first time tourist on the lighter side they provide us with a leaflet of all the information we need. The room is huge with a homey atmosphere. Bathroom is clean except for a small cockroach I saw that got me scared a bit. The Breakfast was perfect with its hot meals and variety to choose from. I love to go back here again and again. Love their facade and landscape of different flowers, very vibrant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for deciding to book with Wine Valley Inn and Cottages on you recent reunion with you best friend for high school. We feel privilege you decided to stay at our Solvang property and at the same time are very much happy with all the positive comments you have regarding how well maintained our entire property is. Please know that we do offer free complimentary breakfast every morning. We also offer free Wi-Fi and parking to all our guests. Also, we are always walking distance to many shops, restaurants and bakeries. All our spacious and immaculate rooms are always kept this way by our amazing housekeeping team members. And as you saw during your stay, our entire team members do any amazing job of maintaining Wine Valley Inn and Cottages in the best condition possible.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Except for mistakenly discarding a bag full of candy for my grand children, the stay was comfortable. We stayed in room 103 ADA approved , it was a bit noisy , because of its corner location by the bicycle rental area where people congregated to chat and take pictures.

Room Tip: Room next to 103 is much quieter, prefer back of the hotel rooms, less traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, and please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with the bag of candy that were you had bought for your grandchildren. After reading your review, I talked with the housekeeping team so things like to one you experience does not happen again. We hope that during your stay you were able to take advantage of our free, hot and complete breakfast. This breakfast includes sausages, scrambled eggs, hash browns, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt and other breakfast related items. Please let us know when you will be coming back to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages so that we might be able to provide you with a quieter rooms. We look forward to see you on your next stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is amazing. The room we were in was large, clean, bright, amazing. The staff was so sweet, kind, funny and helpful. When you needed anything, they had it right away. The breakfast was yummy with a variety for the entire family. It was also very quiet and beautifully manicured lawn and bushes.

Room Tip: We had 6 in our room so we took the room with the extra twin bed room. Perfect for privacy of our te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for providing us with such a wonderful review on your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We greatly value all the positive feedback you have providing for us, a well as we value the kind comments you have regarding the beautifully manicured lawn and bushes that we have at our property. We are happy to read that you and your entire family enjoyed and very much liked our free and hot complimentary breakfast as it is composed of sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles, freshly brewed coffee, OJ, danish which are freshly baked every morning a our local bakery. We hope to see you and your entire family once more here at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages on your next visit to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here on a bicycle tour for one week. There was a mix up with my online reservation, and at first I was in a smaller room than I had reserved. But the staff was extremely helpful and apologetic and by the next day they were able to move me into a much larger room than I had actually reserved, so upgraded me for free. Both rooms were very nice and clean and the staff was the best. We had the couples spa package, and the massage was really awesome after a long hard day of bike riding over mount Figueroa. Really enjoyed the hot breakfast buffet every morning. So close to everything, a great place to stay in Solvang. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: The chateau rooms are nice, but on the small side, so go with a tower room if you need more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us and future readers with your feedback on your most recent experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are happy to hear that our team members were able to assist you in every aspect during your stay and that you were upgraded for free due to the small issue we had with your online reservation. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our hot and free complimentary breakfast. As you were able to see for yourself during your five night stay with us, our hot breakfast is composed of scrambled eggs, sausage, hash brown, freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly brewed coffee, fruits, danish, yogurt, and many other breakfast related items. Once more, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our Solvang property, and we will be waiting for you and your entire bike tour team next year.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a lovely hotel! Jennifer at the front desk upgraded us and couldn't have been sweeter! We love staying at the Wine Valley Inn every time we come up and will do so again in the future! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for Jennifer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are very thrilled to hear of the wonderful experience you had while staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, and we are also happy to hear that our customer service exceeded your expectations. It brings us great joy to hear of the wonderful customer service that our valued guests received whenever they come to stay at our Solvang property. We hope you were able to take advantage of our "Wine happy hour", as well of our hot and free complimentary breakfast, and also our free Wi-Fi. Thank you once more for your time in the writing of this review and on the wonderful comments you have regarding our team members. We look forward to seeing you and your loved ones on your next trip to Solvang California.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.