We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CEO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Save Saved
You added Wine Valley Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“CEO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had a wonderful time whole on a personal sabbatical from work. Everything was good including the price. The beds were very comfortable and I enjoyed being close to the center of town.

Frances at the front desk was wonderful and can help you with anything!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    236
    128
    59
    32
See reviews for
105
354
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We chose Wine Valley Inn, because we were traveling with our dog. We only stayed one night, and although we didn't have any problems, we probably would not stay there again.
There were four of us, in two rooms. One room was right in front of the parking lot, the other behind the office. The room behind the office was a bit of an odd room, but offered a bit more warmth and charm than the parking lot room. The parking lot room, never got completely dark, because of the parking lot lights and lacked any sort of charm.
Breakfast was hot and descent, especially for the price. We paid about $79.00 a room. That is dirt cheap, especially including a hot breakfast!
I noticed a laminated paper on the inside of the door stating the room was a $150.00 a night room. I would feel really ripped off if I had paid that much! No way was that room, or even the other room worth that.
Staff was nice. Fireplaces were nice. The $6.00 glass of wine you can skip, unless you like swill.
Bottom line is, it is a great place if you are on a budget, or traveling with your dog, but if you are looking for a cozy romantic getaway, probably keep looking.

Room Tip: I'd request a room not overlooking the parking lot unless you like lights glaring into your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Recently we revisited The Wine Valley Inn for the first time. What a lovely surprise. We have stayed in Solvang several times in various motels on the Main Street. This time we tried the Inn and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms was comfortable, particularly the beds and bedding. The real delight was the buffet breakfast included with the price of the room. Plenty of choice and atmosphere comfortable. Priced right. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Took my boyfriend on a short "Sideways" tour for his birthday. We stayed in the Windmill Days Inn from the movie the first night because we got in late. But that is another review!
I chose the Wine Valley Inn for the second night because it had a little more luxury and offered a "Grape Escape" package. This package included the room with a king size bed, a free bottle of Bridlewood wine, and a free tasting for two at Bridlewood Vinyards. A very good deal and add on under most circumstances.
After leaving the Days Inn and taking a leisurely brunch and stroll around Solvang, which is a wonderful little Dutch city that we could have spent more time in, but we had come for the wine, and had only that day to partake! :-) We showed up at the Inn about 200pm wanting to drop off our stuff and be on our tasting way. I knew it was a little early for check-in but it was a Wednesday and thought we might luck out. The girl at the desk said we wouldn't be able to check in until about 2:30. So we walked around some more and came back. On our return, when she brought up my room details it was charging me over $300 for the 1 night! It said 1 night in the reservation but was actually charging the price for 2. She tried to change it but said it had something to do with the computer and could we come back around 4 when her manager was in? Dropping our stuff off and freshening up was now out of the question. :-( We informed her, that we had already put off beginning our tastings until after 2:30 and when we left we were going to do tastings up until about 5pm when most closed. Therefore, we would likely not be back until after 5:30.
At our return which was closer to 6pm, the person at the desk gave me the same original reservation with the outrageous price. She then realized it was wrong and called for assistance. They fixed it together and gave us our room and our "Grape Escape" voucher. Now came the additional problem. The tasting and free bottle of wine was only good for your date of stay. If they had given it to us at 2:30 when we originally tried to check in then we could have used it. We were leaving early the next morning though to catch our flight back.
The lady ( think her name was Linda) that fixed our reservation apologized and gave us a voucher good until the following year and also gave us coupons for their wine and snack hour that was going on in the lobby. That was really relaxing and quite nice with the roaring fire.We were almost late for our "Hitching Post" reservations that night because of it and the late check-in.
Our room itself was just okay. The Inn has a lovely courtyard but after all the problems, we were given a room right on the main parking lot. It was a loud from people and the cars coming and going. We also had a hard time adjusting the thermostat, no matter what we did it seemed rather warm. The breakfast hot and cold buffet in the morning was an added plus and we really enjoyed it.
I think if our room had been in a different area, the staff had been more competent from the beginning, and had acknowledged my boyfriends birthday just once, I might have given the Inn 3 1/2-4 circles.

Room Tip: Try to request an inner property room. Parking lots and noise from them aren't any more special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

front desk could not be any nicer, great happy hour, lady that works there Michelle Gilley. was very helpful on what wines to drink with food. can not wait to go back want to take the horse ride next time
Ralph & Cookie Corrado

Room Tip: junior suites are great on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lompoc
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My friend and I were guests of your hotel this last week and I would like to commend you staff on there fantastic service and "go out of the way" attitude. We were assisted by Correna at your front desk upon check in - cordial, friendly and very at ease with check in (this doesn't happen often at some hotels).
After a long day in Solvang we returned to your wine bar and we met with your server, Michelle. We had a great time. Michelle gave us a great time - we sat around the fire and she went out of her way to make us feel at home. Thoroughly enjoyed her friendly conversation and went out of her way to help us plan our next day adventures. We will be back with people like this working at your establishment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect. Shared a room with my sister. Nice big room. I like that the toilet and shower were separate from the sink. Two people could actually get ready at the same time. The room was very nice. Loved the soft clean sheets. However, take your own pillow if you don't like very big fluffy ones. Frances at the desk made us feel welcome. She answered all our questions. She asked us if there was anything she could do to make or stay better. We couldn't think of anything. The breakfast was fresh, hot and just what you need to start the day.

Room Tip: This is perfect if you want to stay in the middle of all the shops. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.