We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Earplugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wine Valley Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Bring Earplugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Do people naturally emulate rowdy Vikings when they visit a Danish village? Or do drunkards tend to gravitate toward hotels with the word "wine" in their names?

Whatever the reason may be, there seems to be an unusually large number of douchemeisters staying at the Wine Valley Inn. They load up on wine and engage in inebriated, raucous philosophical debates into the wee hours of the night.

Also, whenever someone stumbles around in the room above, the hotel's thin wooden floor booms with thunderous reverberations.

So, if you like to sleep well when you're on vacation, bring earplugs and book a room on the top floor.

But for the noise issues, Wine Valley Inn would be a pleasant place to stay. Here are some of the things that we liked about it:

+ Convenient location (within walking distance of Solvang's main attractions)

+ Well-appointed rooms (but no microwave or DVD player)

+ Reasonable price ($108 per night)

+ Pet-friendly (but there's a $50 fee)

+ Free breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and other simple fares)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    261
    145
    67
    38
See reviews for
122
391
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years, a little less enamored on each visit, and finally have reached the point that we have to look elsewhere. While charming from a distance, the lack of attention and state of disrepair of the interiors of the accommodations and the exterior make this property; dirty, unsafe and and unattractive. Holes in the various levels of decks have been shoddily patched or left unrepaired, stairs are narrow and poorly lit, paint is chipped or flaked off inside and out, something does not work in most of the rooms, common ares are oftimes fithy. Although mgmt. has promised major "fixes', little has been done and they seem to turn a blind eye to the problems. The front desk staff is oftimes disinterested and unprofessional [ although manager Sandra always seems to be trying to help]. It is inconvenient and some areas a safety risk, to older people, especially access to the upper floors. It is a great location but so are many other properties. Its advertisement as a "boutique" high-end Broughton spot makes us question the rest of their properties and what oversight they provide.

Room Tip: The best two rooms are those that front on the street and have gated patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in March and had no real big complaints, it's good value for money and roomy. Our room was a split level room which was a nice change. The bathroom was a fair size and had a nice shower. Breakfast was adequate and more then enough to get going. The only issue we really had was that the rooms were a little noisy, mostly from the old air conditioning units of other rooms, they are the old type, so that combined with thinish walls meant it go a bit loud at times. That said for the right price I'd stay here again, the grounds and staff are nice and the location is handy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Super deal! I called to see if they would honor I price I found online & they gave me an even better deal! The front desk was very friendly and let us check in a little earlier. We stayed in a standard chateu room & it was just fine for my friend and I ~clean & comfortable. The room included a mini fridge. The included breakfast was great! I was pleasantly surprised with all the options & the atmosphere of the dining area. We took our hot tea to go and enjoyed a little stroll in the peaceful garden. Koi pond and little waterfalls added a soothing touch. I would definitely come back to this little gem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Extremely well-situated but shabby property in the heart of the main shopping, sightseeing and feeding section of town.
Brusque and quirky front desk staff providing minimal support.
The only reason to stay here is for the central location and to pose for photographs in front of the quaint exterior.
Otherwise, the accommodations are to serve penance for your sins with the bed serving as principal flagellation device.

Room Tip: Tower suite not a pleasant experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am genuinely sorry your experience some time ago while staying at Wine Valley Inn was so disappointing. It is my goal to have every guest leave on a positive note which clearly did not happen here. I will share this with my team to ensure we improve our level of customer service to support and recognize this type of situation. In the event we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again please let us know immediately if your guest room has not meet your expectation in which case we certainly would move you to another room based on availability.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a room on the upper floor, it was in serious need over overhauling. Just sort of old and the mini-fridge ran so much and was so loud, I just unplugged it. The pictures all look so great but it just wasn't what we had hoped for.

We don't normally eat the "free" breakfasts at places like this since there are so many places in town that we like. However, we grabbed a coffee and danish and they were fresh and good. The location is great, within walking distance to everything in town! The staff is helpful too, our room was just not up to par.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience, your comments are important and valuable to me. I am sorry your room was disappointing especially since as a first time visitor you were relying on our web pictures to choose your guestroom. We are making some repairs and upgrades beginning with the entrance, stairs, and deck so I am hopeful upon your return to Wine Valley Inn you will be happy with the improvements over your last stay.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Small cozy room.... Very Dutch style.... Away from the main street in Solvang (The town has one main street and this is one block parallel..)

For Solvang... I guess during the summer is nice.. February is not a month to visit... town is dead, not too much to do... We stayed there but spend many hours in Sta. Barbara...

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet and closer to the parking (which is in the back of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.