We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updating would be Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wine Valley Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPA Special
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Placentia, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Updating would be Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Wine Valley Inn and booked a King Bed Suite with Fireplace. The pictures looked great on the web site and they allowed pets so I booked for 2 nights. This place was is in a nice location to walk to restaurants, cafe, and bakeries in solvang and I felt safe taking my pet
for walks. The room itself needed updating of fresh paint and more serene calming colors as the
lime green and gold & gray bathroom were odd. The room was split level and maybe they need
to install T.V on wall so they could place a small working desk in room. My spouse keep hitting his
head on a wooden beam which was not pleasant for him. The biggest problem for us was the King Bed was very old and bowed toward the center I was so happy to leave. Most hotels need to understand the mattress is important if a guest is going to get a good nights sleep. Maybe other rooms had better mattresses I can only share what I experienced in my room. Was OK but
will try another place next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    273
    154
    73
    40
See reviews for
135
416
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

i had the oppertunity to stay again at this gem of a hotel!, and let me say this is truly one of the best in solvang, truly a unique place, the rooms are cute as a button, and the cottages are truly your home away from home, compleate with a kitchentte, living room, w/ fireplace, and a seperate bed room upstairs, a private patio with a jacuzzi!!,and a balcony off the kitchen the room is extremelly clean! Do yourself a favor a book a cottage for that special one in your life, you won't be sorry!!, Worth evey penny and more!

the staff is very kind, and make you feel very welcomed, The General Manager Sandra is very outgoing and goes above and beyond the call of duty, if you have any problems with your stay (I'm Sure you won"t) notify her, and she will make it right, it really shows she loves her job!!

and the best of all this hotel is pet Freindly, and with a one time fee, per stay!, My dogs are having a blast running up and down the stairs,!!

i have been traveling the coast for a month, and this is by far the best hotel i have stayed at!!

Keep up The good work Sandra, and Staff, You guys rock, i will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We decided to try this Inn on a Living Social deal we got as we wanted to try out the local wineries. Check in was easy. We had a suite that was fairly large had a downstairs living area with a mini fridge, and a large L shaped couch a TV, smallish bathroom that had a separate sink outside the cam-ode and shower area, which was a little unusual but not an issue. There was an upstairs loft kinda small, but cozy enough.that had another TV and comfortable queen size bed but this area was not large enough to get ready, so you would need to get ready downstairs in the living area. Not a big deal. The upstairs loft also had a little door that when opened I think went to an Attic area that looked to be storage. It was kinda strange not really big enough to walk in but I think every room adjacent like ours had a little door that opened into this area as well. I don't think it was meant to be opened, but it intrigued us so we checked it out. It was a little creepy if anything. Aside from that, everything looked to be clean and well maintained. We had a great deal that included wine vouchers, and breakfast in the morning at their little dining area where they served a continental breakfast in the morning. It was fine.
They do a nice job at keeping it very much like an Inn which was quaint and cozy and that made it worth it.
I would definitely stay again, also as the location is ideal to walk to everything, but I think I would try one of the cute bungalows they have instead of the odd suites.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

wow, loved this place. Hotel was very fairytale! Lovely room, very comfy bed and the location was great. Would stay here again if we were in the area. Breakfast was also good and staff friendly. There is also a micro brewery pub nearby that does fab food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is perfect and the hotel is very beautiful especially during the Holidays as it's decked out in lights. As well, the entire downtown area has 100+ "real" & decorated Christmas trees strewn throughout the sidewalks providing a beautiful Holiday atmosphere especially at night; everything comes alive in lights. The rooms were clean and well serviced each morning. The gentleman at the front desk was pleasant (not rude at all) nor were any of the staff I came across. Again everything is within walking distance with the Solvang Brewery a minute away by foot, great food and beer along with a cool huge windmill. I would highly recommend this hotel and the off-season December rates were very reasonable at $109/night from Sunday to Wednesday. Should you visit this Danish village, enjoy the authentic food, windmills and Christmas decor if you're there during the Holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

a first this appears to be a charming place, not true the property is in need of a fresh paint job!, and a make over they are stuck in the 80's -----the room 102 is below par, the carpet is terribley stained, and dirty, i was affraid to walk on it bare foot, the walls are all marked up, and floor boards, , the top cover to the bed was dirty, the room has only blinds, not black out drapes, the TP holder was broken, the room is right by the stairs,so all you here is people going up and down the stairs with there luggage! the walls are paper thin you can you here your neighbors talking while tring to sleep, apperntly both rooms share the same wall for bed placement
there is a a large step up to the bath room,and a bright lite, at the base of the step that is way to bright to sleep, i covered it with a pillow, a nite lite or rope lighting would be much better soulution to the lighting , issue and if you cant sleep because of that light, the BRIGHT LIME GREEN walls will keep you awake, who paints walls lime green anymore? very tacky!!!, i was going to spend another nite but couldnt stand the room!,

Also they show a picture of a hot tub in one of the photos,thinking it had a hot tub i booked it, only to find out they have private hot tubs for the guests you book a cottage, mis leading photos!!

They are pet freindly which is always a plus in my book, and it seems to me they treat the pets better then there guests, upon entering my room, the house keeper brought, my dogs some tteats, and bottled water, yet the guests have to pay for the bottled water( 1.50) or soda in the fridge,and or treats, go figure,!!!, i booke even reading the bad reviews of this room, but according to the manager in a responce to the bad reviews of this room were all addressed, not true!! they dont have all the channels programmed in the remote, or do they have you telling where to find local stations, abc, nbc, cbs, fox,

this poor hotel is in dire need of a makeover, and a much needed paint job!!,

When i called that day to see about a early check inn, the girl told me WE DONT DO EARLY CHECK IN'S AND TOLD ME CHECK IN WAS AT 3:00 AND HUNG UP, that alone raised red flags, but had to stay there or be charged for the room!!

do yourself a favor and skip this place and go to the HADSTEN HOUSE, 100 percent better, the rooms are beautiful and well appointed, Complete with a HEATED INDOOR POOL, AND OUTDOOR HOT TUB!!! and even room service!!!, need i say more!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you bringing the condition of your accommodation to my attention, I am very sorry you were booked in a room that was obviously put back in service before passing a complete inspection. It was a pleasure to talk to you personally and I appreciate your willingness to return to Wine Valley Inn another stay that I am hopeful will re-build your confidence in us to meet your expectation and provide the level of customer service possible.

Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The photos make this place look pretty and well cared for. It was old and funky and unkempt. We were part of a wedding party, and when trying to get information in advance, very few of the staff members had any idea what was going on and I had to call back many times and be really assertive to get actual pricing or information on the room choices. I was misquoted prices numerous times, and different people told me different prices each time. We never would have stayed there, but went ahead since the groom had booked us rooms. The room was old and funky, stained carpet, and they didn't even bother to warm it up before we got there. Couldn't use the bathtub because we were told it would leak to the floor below. No elevator to the third floor, so we had to walk all of our luggage up the stairs in the rain. There was only 1 person on staff at night for the entire hotel, so we had to wait a very long time to get supplies. No microwaves to use in rooms even for a charge, and the only type of coffee makers are those funky kind with the cheap coffee pouches. Very little closet space. With all the wonderful places to stay in Solvang, we would definitely not go back to this place unless they fixed all the issues. O yea, there is very loud bell that rings about every 30-40 minutes. ={

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to speak to me personally regarding your stay from the onset of booking your reservation through your date of departure, I will share your experience and suggestions with my team to strive for improved communication and customer service. I am looking forward to your future visit; it will be pleasure to personally coordinate your stay.

Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.