We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's been updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wine Valley Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPA Special
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's been updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a tower king room for one night in mid January for a quick get away. We were worried about other reviews that called the hotel outdated, and were pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room. The room was updated with fresh paint, carpet, bedding and the bathroom was redone by removing the shower and tile that looked like slate. The heater did not seem to be new as it was loud when running.

The hotel has charm, there is a nice outdoor fireplace and the area around the cottages is nicely landscaped with bridges and koi in the ponds. The hotel is within walking distance to tasting rooms and many places to eat.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent, cooked and put over warmers, but refilled frequently. The breakfast room was very yellow. Yellow walls, yellow tables, yellow chairs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    269
    152
    72
    40
See reviews for
130
410
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very small room.Bed was worn out, very bad.Not very friendly on check inn. Front desk person had no idea on the town..Said she could not locate the room attendant, so we had to wait till are room was cleaned and ready..Be careful when renting bikes.they want 25.00 dollars an hour!..not worth the visit! Will not go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask questions before traveling. Be careful when using air or credit card miles, they always give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at Wine Valley Inn. I am sorry we could not accommodate an early check in and the bed did not meet your expectation, however I will share both of these issues with the rest of my team with the goal to improve our housekeeping schedule and increase our room inspections. Although the Surrey Cycles do rent for $25.00 per hour, and are signature to Solvang, we have Mountain Bicycles that are more affordable at $10.00,

Best Regards and I look forward to your return,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We purchased a Living Social deal for our Anniversary. We stayed in room 304 our first night, and the room was okay. It had a King bed, a fireplace, and a tub. The king bed was old, as I felt like the middle of the bed was sinking. The fireplace was not working. The bathroom was average size, but what I found weird was the mirror was not in front of the sink, but on the wall next to it. It was a decent room, but since it was on the top, I felt like it was not as clean as it should be. It was clean, but not pristine. Also, I felt that the bathroom could have used another coat of paint because you can still see the primer underneath. We purchased another night at regular price because the Living Social deal was only for Friday. On Saturday night, the heater stopped working. We called the front desk, and they came up to try to fix it, but they could not so they moved us to room 204. The room had 2 queen beds, but it was a nicer room. It did not have a tub, but the fireplace worked, it was bigger, and cleaner. There was not a lot of counter space in the bathroom, but it was alright. I liked this room much better even if it was not with a king size bed.
We also purchased a massage. You meet your therapists in the lobby, then they take you into another room. There is no spa area where you can change into robes, but you just change out of your clothes in the massage room. The therapists where great.
The hotel is nice with room for improvements here and there (i.e. paint, bed quality, functioning fireplace, heater). If they were to work on these things, then I would like to return here. It is walking distance to a lot of places in Solvang, and the staff was helpful. Nothing fancy, but just nice.

Room Tip: Choose room 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The price and location for this pet friendly hotel is what drew us to stay here. It's right in the middle of Solvang, so you can walk everywhere from the hotel. We stayed in room 102, which was clean, with a comfortable bed. The trouble is that the head of our bed is apparently the same wall as the neighboring rooms TV. These 2 rooms have a connecting door, which offers no sound suppression even when not in use. The TV noise from the next room was horrendous. Putting the A/C fan on all night blocked some of it.

The room is L-shaped; with the sink and 'closet' in the short leg. My big problem arose from the fact that there is a step down from this sink area to the sleeping area. Speaking from personal experience, this is a very dangerous set up. A step is not something you think about when going to the bathroom in the middle of the night. I ended up with a badly sprained ankle. We did not get to sample the breakfast as we had to head to the ER. I do not blame Wine Valley Inn for my clumsiness, but everyone should be aware of the multilevel floor plan.

Room Tip: Beware that some rooms have a step between sleeping area and sink area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for staying at Wine Valley Inn and sharing your experience. I am glad I was able to speak with you and have the opportunity to have you return for another stay. As we discussed I will be adding a banister in addition to the existing lighting so the step up should no longer be an issue. I have also taken steps to insulate the connecting door to minimize the door.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We purchased a Living Social deal for $85 which included a wine basket and breakfast which was a fantastic deal. From the outside, Wine Valley Inn looks cute, there is a bell tower with a giant clock. Like many hotels in the area, it's a quaint Danish style. We stayed in a Village Tower King room. The names sounds grand but it felt like an old fashioned studio apartment which had been converted into a hotel room. The bathroom was so tiny that the bathroom sink could not fit, instead it was in the bedroom next to the bed. There was also a big metal safe on the floor in the corner of the room and metal bars on the interior of the windows. Also, the blinds did not keep the sun out - it was bright sunlight in the room early in the morning (no sleeping in without blinkers). Something about the room felt ad hoc and dated - we were a little disappointed when we walked in. Maybe it's because our tastes lean more towards contemporary, we'd previously stayed at a similarly priced hotel in Solvang (you can read my review) which we preferred as the rooms felt newer and more upmarket. For the Living Social price, it was worth it, but I would not want to pay full price here.

Room Tip: Avoid the Village Tower King rooms with bath sinks in the bedroom and blinds which let the early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wine Valley Inn & Cottages doesn't pretend to be an upscale establishment. As it is, it could use some updating, some fresh paint, new carpeting and a better elevator and just a general sprucing up. But, it has many obvious plusses: it's fairly clean, it's walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Solvang and it's very reasonably priced. It also provides a good breakfast. So all in all, for just a basic hotel stay with few frills, it's fine. If you have young children, they do have a pretty little pond with little foot bridges that is charming.
My husband and I stayed here for one night for a quick birthday getaway. Our room, #216, was fairly roomy but had no view and the windows all faced other rooms just a few feet away, so for privacy, we had to keep the blinds shut the entire time. It was a bit claustrophobic. Also, the mattress was lousy -- thin and hard. The room itself was clean, but the carpeting was looking old and the upholstery on the chairs needed to be replaced or cleaned. The bathroom was okay, but the shower drain was very slow to drain. But, for us, we weren't in the room much and for what we paid and since it was just one night, all in all, it was acceptable. If you're looking for a luxurious experience in the Wine Country, there are many other options in the area that would meet your needs. If you have a family and want a friendly place that's conveniently located, Wine Valley Inn is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask where your room is -- some are near the parking lot and rather noisy, others have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My new husband and I spent our honeymoon at Wine Valley Inn. We loved the town of Solvang and the hotel setting. However, we both felt that the cottages could have used a little updating. While everything was clean, the carpeting and furniture seemed a little old and dingy. There was a lovely hot tub that was very clean and well maintained. The fireplace in our cottage barely worked. Essentially for the price, we were disappointed in the quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.