We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old town Older Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wine Valley Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPA Special
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old town Older Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

this hotel is situated in a quaint little village with lots of nice shops and restaurants.The Hotel however is in desperate need of TLC very overpriced for what you are getting in return,the hotel needs some work. The room the front desk gave us had a small hole that a mouse could have easily fit through not to mention the stairs that i had to climb to get there a gym is not required here just getting to your room is a workout in it's self.The front desk staff was very helpful May have to take the high road next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    298
    170
    79
    44
See reviews for
151
452
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed their for 3 days 2 nights. Stayed in the Chateau Standard Room.It is basically one big room with two chairs as a sitting area. It has a small closet(extra pillows are in their) to store your things. The bathroom seemed very small the toilet and sink are right next to each other the shower was an adequate size. A mini fridge is available for use and their is a mini bar area is stocked with different treats. Air conditioner made a humming noise but I was able to sleep. They have a dining area and all guests are treated to complimentary breakfast which included eggs, sausage, hash brown, waffles, orange juice, tea bags (to make your own tea), coffee, danishes. I did not care for the sausage the waffles were a bit limp but I did not care for their eggs at all they tasted to fake. The one thing that did bother me was that I had to CALL IN for room service I assumed that since I was staying 2 nights they would automatically service my room and change the sheets(you have to place a card on your bed stating you want the sheets to be changed). I got back at 4:45pm the second day their and was surprised to see my room was in the same state that I had left it. I had to call the service desk and they sent some one over(they told me they were just about to leave). When I got their I received a envelope full of discounts and wine offers. Since I was alone for 2 days I was only able to enjoy one wine offer I had nobody else with me and I didn't want to get to tipsy to drive.
I headed over to Buttonwood Farm for a wine tasting of ... I believe it was 10 wines I lost count(it was more than 5 I know that for sure) and kept the crystal stem glass all for Free. The flyer from Wine Valley Inn included a Free wine tasting at Buttonwood and a discount on the merchandise and wine, I want to say the discount was either 25% or 50% . I bought their 2010 Buttonwood Sauvignon Blanc and the total amount I spent their was $10.
Everything I did in Solvang, excluding going to Buttonwood, was done on foot since everything is so accessible. One suggestion I would give to anyone going their would be that even if you are on a budget don't go and eat something you usually would, you are in a new place try some new food. I made the mistake of tying to be cheap and paid for it( I got a SANDWICH that cost me $10, a sandwich that I could have very well made at home.) So when your there consider what you usually pay when you go out and try to keep to that same budget. One thing I regret not buying while I was their is the pastries, they look good and are. If you ask nicely they'll even give you a sample. This trip is of for a Family with older children since their are not many things for a young child to enjoy. But I think it its ideal for a couple since most everything is amid at couples. Not really well for a Solo traveler you get boarded pretty fast since it is a small town and in 1 day you can finish looking at it.
All in all my trip to Solvang was ok it was a nice place to relax. I would stay at Wine Valley Inn again if the price does not increase dramatically. I booked in advance and got the room for $72/night.
One last note on the first day me and my sister were taking photos and she climbed up the stair case by the parking lot heading up the clock tower, she noted that their was a broken stem on either side of the stairs.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the parking lot in the morining people are heading out and it gets a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My last review of this establishment was June 9, 2005. I gave it a 5/5 and said I can't wait to come back. At that time I was on a business trip and always found Solvang a relaxing little town to stay in. Fast forward to now and my wife and I spent a night here having tickets to a concert at Chumash Casino down the road.
First thing I noticed was some of the upgrades they did to this place having expanded their breakfast area just off the lobby which used to be small and is now good size. Another thing they do differently is they have an evening wine social ($4.00 a glass, not bad) with cheese and crackers and the server was an extremely nice lady who we talked to and had a few laughs. We stayed in a basic room on the first floor that also had been updated a lot with a newer bed (Very comfortable) and decor as well. The room still had an older TV but at least it worked. Since my last visit I've read mixed reviews on the service so I thought I'll give mine...
1. The front desk clerk gave us early check in, no questions.
2. When we got to our room, we had a light out, told the front desk and a maintenance guy was there almost instantly with a replacement.
3. The next morning my wife noticed the in-room hair dryer was broken, looked like it had been dropped by a previous guest. We let the front desk know and in a few minutes someone knocked on our door with another one.
Needless to say, service was not a problem. They must have taken the mixed reviews seriously.
Their breakfast selection has more hot items than my last stay as well. Coffee was excellent. The cost of our room was $109.00 which wasn't bad at all for a basic room. I will again give this place 5/5 if for nothing else, the service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great 2 days in Solvang and took the 4 hr santa barbara backroads open air hummer 4 winery tour with lunch. This was great experience with driver Dave Talbot. The hotel was excellent and location is right on the main drag where all the shops are so you don't need to use your car and can walk to all the shops

Room Tip: our room was the king bed and huge tile shower and also fireplace in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great location in downtown Solvang. Rooms average size. The carpet needs attention and a good cleaning. The bathroom and beds were clean. Front Desk personnel very friendly especially Frances. The airconditioning unit out in the parking lot was rather loud humming all night. The breakfast was hot. Eggs, sausage patties, hasbrowns, sweet rolls etc. All the staff were very pleasant and accomodating.

Room Tip: Room 30 on ground floor was noisy. Room 40 upstairs was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I paid extra to get a room with a fireplace, which turned out to be a cheap fake plastic one.
The room was dark and cold. Our heater wasn't working properly. Walls are thin, you can hear everything around you.
The front desk was really rude, didn't greet us or smile at all when I first arrived and when I asked to have the heater fixed.
Although for some reason they were really nice to the people in front of us.
Apparently the hotel had a complimentary wine tasting, which of course we didn't know since the front desk didn't tell us anything, they made us feel very unwelcome.

Yes it's in a good location but so are all the other hotels in Solvang since it's such a small place.
All hotels in the area are close to the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I decided to give the Wine Valley Inn a try when our normal spot in the area was fully booked. The overall look of the hotel is cute, but it's easy to tell that it can use a facelift. The price is quite reasonable, so we had no problem forgiving this. Upon check in we were told that we had been upgraded due to an overbooking. Thanks. Around 2 am that night we were awoken by a loud noise coming form the air conditioner. No biggie, these things happen. We simply turned it off and went back to sleep. We notified the front desk the next morning on our way out for a day of wine tasting. They said they would have someone come out to repair it. We received call about three hours later saying that the a/c couldn't be fixed that day and we were being upgraded again to a cottage. The nice lady asked if we would like to have the staff move our belongings to the our new room or if we'd prefer to do it ourselves. I particularly appreciated this because we actually preferred to do it ourselves. The rest of our stay was lovely. We ended it with a fantastic couples massage at the spa. The spa was small and quaint, but the massage itself was great! Overall a great and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.