We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a facelift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wine Valley Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
CALABASAS
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Needs a facelift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked this hotel because a friend was getting married nearby. The rate was good, but the hotel feels like it is being held together with duct tape and wire. The room was musty, and no windows opened. This was a shame, because the room was too warm, even though outside it was fresh and cool. Turning on the a/c was impossible, becasue the room air conditioner was very noisy, and there was no overhead fan. The breakfast, which was included, was greasy sausage patties and scrambled eggs and cereal, and bad coffee. The smell of the cooking sausage permeated our room from about 6am on, which made for some queasy wakeups.
The little workout room was also musty, with no ventilation. The sound insulation is almost non-existent. We heard footsteps above us, showers on both sides, and outside, people ascending and descending the staircase sounded like they were right in the room. Very noisy.
The only thing we liked was the space in the room, and the good bed. But the bare spots on the walkways, and the dry rot on the staircases made this place feel like it was one step away from a tear-down. If you have a family, and price is an issue, this is a good place. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't choose 216; overhead noise and stairway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    261
    145
    67
    38
See reviews for
122
391
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I thought this Inn was everything thing I had hoped it to be except for a few issues.The room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor upon opening the door there was this horrible musty smell.that just did not go away.The room was decorated nicely.The shower was a little akward because it was built into a dormer so I always feltlike I was going to hit my head but it was done up nicely.We could not operate the TV on the first night.Day 2 the staff came up to fix it.We did not have breakfast on the premises which was included in the rate.They had an outdoor fireplace with cozy seating.Our room also had a fireplace.The rug in the room was severly warn out and water damage to the windows which probably explained the smell.Would I recommend this place? Yes,but maybe not on the 3rd floor.The staff was always pleasant and helpful.It is located perfectly to everything around Solvang.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get a room on floor 3.The elevator only goes up to 2 then you will have to hoof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We pre-booked a luxury wine tour through the Wine Valley Inn. We received confirmation via email and upon check in, but when Saturday rolled around....no limo!! Francis was working the front desk (alone) and after many, many phone calls ( it was obvious) that a private wine tour on a beautiful Saturday in Solvang was out of the question. Francis did not give up and eventually was able to find us a driver with a mini-van. (no limo, no picnic lunch and we paid for our own tastings, but a driver just the same!!)
We were disappointed and upset but really there was no other choice. This mistake was most unfortunate, but honestly, could happen anywhere. What sets the Wine Valley Inn apart from other properties was the handling of the situation. Francis was excellent and although the general manager was not present, Francis made sure that she was well aware of the situation.
Before we left the hotel, the price of the wine tour was removed from our bill and other adjustments were made. We were contacted by the general manager 1 day after our return home and further adjustments were made; as well as a gift certificate issued for a free upgrade next time in Solvang!! The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful and we will return to the Wine Valley Inn next time in wine country.
The hotel offers great outdoor areas and a wonderful buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the wine valley inn (we came with a group) and the rooms were about the same but the service was worse, and this was on many levels. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to everything in Solvang, the rooms are hit or miss, but overall nice. The entire hotel is quite quirky with weird stairways, it seemed everyone in the group had issues with bright lights outside the hotel windows, making sleeping awkward (waking up un sure of the time). The hotel is also in desperate need of repair (ie. dry rot, chipping paint etc). All this being said it was the service that will make me question a 3rd stay. Our room was lacking an ironing board which we requested and never received (we borrowed from a friend in another room), the gal at the front desk misquoted a taxi fair by almost 200% which we of course didn't realize until we reached our distination, and lastly the woman pouring wine during the wine and cheese our was incredible, she knew nothing about wine even stating to one guest "I know it comes in a pretty bottle" but worse she was rude, she stormed out to us when we were on the patio enjoying a bottle of our own wine reprimanding us that she would be charging us a corkage fee. She reprimanded us like a mother to a young child, mind you she did nothing to deserve a corkage fee (she didn't open it or provide the glasses) nor did it state anywhere that a corkage was applicable. In all fairness we got a discount for the troubles with the cab fair as they realized it was their mistake but overall this didn't make up for some of the other short comings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wine valley inn, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear kfitzy7,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am sorry to learn you did not have the same experience most of our guests do and will work with our team to ensure the maintenance and customer service issues are addressed and resolved immediately. I would like to speak to you personally regarding the details of your stay so please contact me at your convenience at 805-688-2111; I look forward to hearing from you.
Sandra Hallmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast was the best aspect of our stay. Usually, in my opinion, hotel buffet breakfasts are mediocre at best with dry, overcooked imitation scrambled eggs & limp bacon. Wine Valley Inn's buffet featured hash browns, sausage patties, & fluffy scrambled eggs - all perfectly cooked. They also offered the usual Continental Breakfast fare, such as healthy cereals, breads, pastries, fruit, yogurt & juices.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

First, I want to say that I've stayed at the Wine Valley Inn several times before and, if reviewed at that time, would have given it four (loft suite) or five (cottage) stars. We love this property and the friendly people who work there! And the location is great! It's off the main street, so you're not hearing traffic all night.
This trip we had a great "Living Social Deal" so were booked into a "Deluxe king" room in the clock tower area. Not impressed. The room was long and narrow. The bathroom seemed like an afterthought. It had a nice long shower, but when you sat on the toilet, your knees were up against the shower curtain. The sink was outside the bathroom, next to the bed! There was no bathroom counter on which to place toiletries, nor was there a nightstand on that side of the bed. Shortly before we were to leave, the bathroom electricity apparently blew a fuse or tripped a circuit, because neither the fan nor the light worked after that.
We were on the second floor (overlooking the parking lot), so fortunately we were able to open the window because the air conditioner blew really cold air. The fireplace was nice. It could be set with a remote to either give you "mood" flames (which don't heat up the room) or flames providing heat. Nice touch.
The bed was comfortable. The honor bar extensive and reasonably priced (chips, nuts, wine soft drinks, water), for those who like that kind of thing (we don't ever use the honor bar).
Our room had a little refrigerator and a room safe..always a nice touch. And free wifi!
There was a wine, crackers and cheese reception in the evening and a breakfast buffet in the morning. It is not your usual continental breakfast...much better. It included local pastries (life is good!), bread for toast, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, assorted cereals, fresh fruits and beverages.
In the "living room" area between the lobby and the breakfast room there are two computers for use by guests. A nice touch for those who don't travel with their own computers.
We'll be back! I just think we'll avoid the clock tower rooms.

Room Tip: If available, the cottages are really the best!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came up for 2 nights. The hotel was very cute and definitely added to the charm of Solvang. We decided to stay at the Wine Valley Inn because of the different rooms, and it was dog friendly. The staff was pleasant and very nice. The first night we stayed in the loft suite, but due to an issue with the air conditioning, we moved into a cottage suite the next night. The wine reception from 5-7pm was a nice touch, and it was nice to relax after a day of shopping and sweets. The staff even offered to watch our pup while we walked around the town. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.