We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wine Valley Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPA Special
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Please don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Rooms are small with old furnishings. I wouldn't sit on comforter. Front staff was not very friendly or helpful. Located on a back street, alley and parking lot. No views. Motel 6 is better. We had a tour fthey set up Vin Dal Limos. We had a grumpy driver with cheap suit, old limo, bad lunch, and the wineries were not impressive. Warning don't stay here!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    298
    170
    79
    44
See reviews for
151
451
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

I am choosing to write this review because what I had read simply did not adequately express what I actually experienced at this hotel. We arrived after dark and were greated with a degree of professionalism and warmth unusual in this day. Even the short walk to our cottage was enjoyable as the romantically lighted courtyard is lush and rich with the sounds of the waterfalls within it. The room (cottage) was large, warm, music was playing, the real wood fireplace was ready to light and the spa was hot. Everything about this hotel says welcome and thank you for coming. As we walked back to our car to retrieve our luggage, a horse drawn carriage pulled up to the front of the hotel and dropped off passengers. This is old world service and old world charm at it's best. Even the free breakfast was remarkable as the pastries were amazing (good coffee too). All in all, this hotel gave us much more than we ever expected, this review is written in gratitude.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtable
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We wanted a cottage but they book quickly and I see why. We stayed in a regular room facing the street and it was just fine and clean. We slept great and the I still don't quite know where to walk you dog to go potty but the cottages in the back are adorable but not where they want your pet to go potty. The price was great and we have booked a cottage for March. When they book they book quick. Cottages 1 and 2 are the best and are original cottages.

  • Liked — The cottages and back area
  • Disliked — Could not find where to let my dog go potty
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Wine Valley Inn on Christmas Eve and Chrsitmas day. When we arrived, they announced we were going to be placed in a room with two queen beds, even though I reserved a king size bed in the Tower. Once I mentioned this at the desk, the receptionist informed me that the king size room was being painted and they would offer me a $20 discount for each night.

My wife and proceeded to the room and were very disappointed to find a very poorly lit room with two tiny windows and dated decor. The walls were bare and the bathroom looked as if it hadn't been remodeled since the 70's. To be blunt the room looks NOTHING like the photos on their website.

The walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbor's conversation, children laughing in the parking lot and the heater inside the surrounding rooms. This actually made sense, because our own heater sounded like a Jet Engine before take off.

Beside the poor room, the breakfast was a joke. In Solvang you expect an Inn to have fresh patries. They offered cold bagels, cold cereal and hard bioiled eggs. One morning they had fresh fruit, the second morning none was offered.

For the price, I expected more taste and comfort. I could have stayed at a basic chain motel and saved money and had a nicer room.
Tom (Thousand Oaks, CA)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — decor/comfort
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little02
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

We stayed here last year for one night and had a great stay. Both our rooms were nice and breakfast was more than enough. Would definitely come back if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

This is the 3rd or 4th time I've stayed at the Wine Valley Inn and safe to say, I most likely won't stay anywhere else when visiting the Los Olivos area. I've stayed a few times with my wife and once with a friend - so it gets seals of approval from each end of the spectrum. Everything is always spotless, the staff is always very friendly, and all things seem to work properly. Beds are very worthy in the comfort sense. The larger rooms with the fireplace are worth the few extra bucks if you're going for a special occasion but are still keeping it all within budget. Big bonus for the continental breakfast. While not a huge, ritzy spread, it has everything you need to get going and save cash for a good lunch or later breakfast at Paula's Pancake House (Continental includes fresh bagels & danishes, cereals, waffles, yogurt, juices, fruit, coffee etc). Location is perfect for the Solvang visit, and ideal for Los Olivos/Buellton vineyards & wineries. They've even thrown in free coupons for local Solvang tasting rooms. Finally, the Wine Valley Inn looks more like large Danish cottages than a normal hotel, a plus if you like something to look a bit different. Overall, never any issues and always a very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

On our first visit to the inn, my husband and I were quite pleased with our room and the hotel's friendly staff. The gardens, albeit small, are aesthetically pleasing and the overall impression of the inn is a good one. Our first room, for which we paid $119.00, had a very comfortable king-sized bed, fresh paint, new carpet, and a fireplace. The bathroom was newly tiled with an oversized shower (great shower head). Because of this lovely room, we opted to stay at the same inn on our way back to LA. We requested a room like the one we had on our first visit, and we were given a similar room for the same price. The differences between the two rooms were rather noticeable: room one (#305)was relatively flawless; whereas, room two (#211) had wallpaper that was peeling off in several areas; it had spots in the wall that were badly in need of fresh paint, and worst of all, its blinds did not quite do the job. Anyone who wished to peek inside our room could do so. Luckily, the majority of people who stay at this establishment seem to be family-oriented and low-keyed (no peeping toms on our stay :)).

I would recommend that you stay at the inn if you can get a reasonable price. Its location is off the main drag, which is a good thing. As I mentioned before, you can't find a nicer staff.
Hope this information helps you. Oh, and best of luck finding a good restaurant; we didn't. However, the area is fantastic for wine tasting, and Solvang is worth a quick visit; the town's unique.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.