We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirabelle Inn

Save Saved
You added Mirabelle Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mirabelle Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   409 First Street, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Solvang B&B and Inns
Orange, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Founded in 1911, the city of Solvang began as a dream of three Danish immigrants: Reverend Benedict Nordentoft, Reverend J. M. Gregersen, and Professor P. P. Hornsyld. They raised money to buy a large area of land on the West Coast and subdivide it for farms, homes, and a town for Danish immigrants. Profits from the sale of land would be used for building a Danish-style folk school and a Lutheran church. There is no truth to the folklore that they also planned for it to devolve into a kitschy tourist destination with tired, aging motels.

But thanks to the nearby wine country, Solvang is definitely staging a comeback. I was actually shocked at the amount of people walking the streets during the day (nighttime is another story). I was one of the people visiting to tour wine country and drove down to meet a friend to tour with.

Instead of one of the aging motels, we chose this B & B and were glad we did. Although pricey, the room are large and off the main drag in a quiet neighborhood and was able to sleep off the vino imbibing pretty easy. Room # 10, which I booked, is perfect for couples with a large poster bed, multiple styles of pillows to choose from, on the top floor and a sitting room.

Breakfast was included and can be hit or miss. First breakfast was a disappointment with a terrible choice of poached eggs. Considering poached eggs are no one's first choice at breakfast this was a definite misfire. Plus, at 9:30 with a 10:00 AM end time, breakfast bread basket was empty and not refilled plus water/orange juice were also near depletion. Second morning was much better with lovely service and a very nice omelet. I ate all the fruit and bread I could muster to make up for the lackluster opening morning.

There is free wi-fi and your feeling of the price will depend on why you are in Solvang. If a motel is your price point preference you will not like it here. I preferred a more civilized accommodation and in spite of the breakfast misfire will stay again. There is a restaurant on site and I will review that under separate cover. Other rooms have in room jet tubs and there is a small room on site for guest spa treatments. They can organize a wine tour for you as well.

Recommended!

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    36
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
125
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are planning a trip back to Solvang soon and I happened upon this site as I was checking for reservations at the Mirabelle Inn. I was shocked at the negative reviews.

Brigitte and her staff are always very kind and beyond accommodating and we would never consider staying anywhere else in Solvang.

The rooms are well appointed and the restaurant is fabulous.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Uncle!
At $350 (including the recent Solvang tax), the price exceeds the value. I would have been pleased to pay $175 for our room. Decor is hodge podge, bathrooms are small, outdated, tub grout thickened to cover black bath mold. Location, great. Service, great. Food at restaurant in evening, great. Breakfast was super simple, nothing exciting. Exterior is best part with ivy and draping wisteria welcoming their visitors. Inside, lots of items for sale with price tags on artwork, and a corner cabinet of costume jewelry.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirabelleinn, Owner at Mirabelle Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate the time this guest spent to review our property and are grateful for the positive comments. Our rooms are individually and tastefully decorated and most guests much enjoy some of the antiques that were brought in from Europe by the original owner, when the inn was built in 1994. We have many modern amenities, but we are not a large chain hotel where every looks the same and has the same color scheme.We have an extensive cleaning and maintenance program and are proud of our property. Guests often go online to www.mirabelleinn.com to view our rooms and pick the one they like best. Our rates vary from $165 to $295, depending on the room and the day of the week. These rates are in line with Solvang hotel prices for this type of property and pay our staff and the mortgage.
Thank you, Brigitte/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cctx
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The room was nice and well appointed. The bathroom was adequate but very small. We stayed 2 nights and I was surprised when they didn't replenish the bath items including shampoo. When I asked the front desk person said she's leave shampoo on the desk which of course I forgot. The wine and cheese at 4:30 was well received. The owner asked about our stay on her way in at night and I mentioned that morning's breakfast which underwhelmed us. The muffins seemed like a box mix and not a good one at that. The egg dish was eh. The following morning's breakfast was much better and all was forgiven. The desserts were also excellent. It's a good location if you're wine tasting and visiting the cute town of Solvang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirabelleinn, Owner at Mirabelle Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks to this guests for the positive comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay! The staff and I often try out new recipes for baked goods and cookies and although most of the time they are delicious, I agree, those muffins were not one of our baking highlights!! I apologize and hope you enjoyed the rest of the breakfast and tried our delicious homemade granola.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This inn is run just like a hotel. It lacks that personal touch I expect from a B&B. The receptionist is young and she tries to please, but the demands are too much for one person. She works the front desk, takes reservations, responds to complaints, supervises housekeeping, and even serves the food for breakfast. She is so harried, she cannot remember the orders for breakfast and even spilled my orange juice this morning as she was serving. My heart really goes out to her so I just overlooked the fact that she couldn't remember my order and never informed us that there is a little wine happy-hour in the evening. I did start to feel a bit more neglected when our room received no housekeeping services on the second day. But the final straw for me was when we requested a late checkout because we were catching a red eye flight out of LAX and the owner refused to accommodate us because it would cause a challenge for housekeeping. How ironic! I shared my disappointment about the lack of customer support and was told it was the owner's direct decision not to honor our request so it was clear it was not the receptionist's call.
Despite its rank as the #1 B&B in Solvang, I would not recommend this inn to my friends and I would not stay here again. The message we clearly received was they are too big/busy for that personal touch and not so much because of customer load as the owner's unwillingness to provide support to both her staff and in our case, her guests.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirabelleinn, Owner at Mirabelle Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We strive to accommodate our guests every need. This guest unfortunately informed us, after a 3 night stay, at 10 am on check out day, that she would like to extend her check out until 5 p.m. We are a 10 room inn, our housekeepers work in the morning, so that our rooms are clean by 2 pm for stay over guests to have a relaxing afternoon and for new arrivals. We did extend the guests check out until 1 pm, at this time she let us know that she reviews places and “we better fix this, an unfavorable review would follow”.
We apologized for the housekeeping oversight on the first day and the innkeeper assisted with what was needed when it was brought to her attention. Mr. F. enjoyed wine hour with other guests and we presented a nice bottle of local Pinot Noir to Mr. & Mrs. F. for having missed the complimentary wine hour one day.
Our innkeepers work hard, but they are more than well equipped to handle our guests and the work that comes with it and they enjoy it. I am very proud of my staff. They are all friendly and kind, and go out of their way to please our guests, as one can read in other reviews.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank our many loyal guests for their many kind words and hope to welcome them back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mirabelle Inn on February 9-10, 2013. We stayed in Room 10 which is a suite with a king size bed located on the hotel's top floor. The room was spacious & the bed comfortable. There is a small elevator (enough for 1 person + luggage) that goes to the floor below where Rooms 10 & 11 are located and guests can reach these rooms by using 4-5 steps. We saw other travelers' comments on TA before we booked Room 10 and we were pleased to find that the stairs posed no problems. May not be for everyone though. We were greeted upon arrival by Becca who was exceedingly pleasant & helpful during our stay. Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant and consists of fruit & breads followed by an egg dish or abelskivers ... all very good and plenty to carry you over to lunch. The hotel's location on the east side of "downtown" Solvang made it convenient to walk to dozens of shops, restaurants and bakeries. There's a small parking area behind the hotel that is reserved for hotel guests and ample street parking in front of the hotel if the lot is full. The only minor drawbacks were that the bathroom was somewhat small for a "suite level" room, the bath towels are nearing the end of their useful life and there was a little street noise (not enough to interrupt our sleep) as our room faced 1st Street. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant on our first night. The food was top notch (i.e. comparable to The Ballard Inn) with a very good (if not huge) wine list. We travel to the Santa Ynez Valley about once a year and we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I had a number of stressful experiences in the last two months with work, house, kids, etc. So, to detox I booked room nine at the Mirabelle. I know that we both will live longer. The reservations were handled personally as if we were the President of the U.S. When we arrived Becca treated us like we were visiting royalty. (Not to mention we parked for free right out front of the main door for the entire weekend.) We were demanding guests continuing to change our dinner reservations right to hours before the reservation time. All of our changes were treated as if we had tipped every one a hundred dollars each time. The room (you have to get room nine) with its balcony, hot tub for two, and working fireplace was perfect. The king bed was great. We couldn't have asked for better.

Room Tip: The Mirabelle Cafe is wonderful. Another great place is ROOT 246 just a block away. We walked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mirabelle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabelle Inn

Also Known As:
Mirabelle Hotel Solvang
Mirabelle Hotel
Address: 409 First Street, Solvang, CA 93463
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mirabelle Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European elegance, exquisite wine country cuisine, award winning wines, legendary service. Mirabelle Inn offers 10 guest rooms with antiques, fireplaces and luxurious amenities. Spa and concierge services. Rates include full breakfast and afternoon wine hour. Restaurant open for dinner to the public Thursday - Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Mirabelle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirabelle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.