We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landsby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Landsby to your Saves list
The Landsby
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1576 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463 (Formerly Petersen Village Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay the Landsby Way
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This place really stands out in downtown Solvang. A beautiful white building with modern day elegance, the Landsby has lots to offer travelers. Their restaurant, Mod & Vin, is fantastic and the staff is gracious and attentive. I really loved my time here.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tx
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We loved this hotel!..the rooms are very clean and nice. Had a room overlooking the lovely street which added to the charm..the plantation shutters in rooms are a great touch. Nice continental breakfast...had old-time keys got the rooms.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Solvang is a very nice place to visit. A lot of shopping can be done here and some good restaurants too. We do miss the old Peterson Inn as it was once called. Have been staying there for over 10 years.

Room Tip: We enjoy the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel at the last minute. Everything about this hotel is modern and beautiful and they have great service. Nice lobby with bar and excellent drinks. The service is amazing and we can't wait to come back! Highly recommend!!!!!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just stayed at the Landsby and LOVED it.....what a surprise. The lobby was bright and beautiful. The hardwood floors throughout the hotel were a nice touch and I really loved the tiles on bar the stair risers. The contemporary Scandinavian furniture was beautiful-if you like well done design, you will love this hotel. All of the staff were professional and friendly and I felt like I was staying in a 5 star boutique hotel.

Lastly....I love, love, love the bar and restaurant. I had one of the hand crafted cocktails and the wine list was stocked with amazing local wines. My husband and I dined in the restaurant - he had the steak, I had the seafood hot pot. Both were amazing - flavorful, hot and delicious. I understand the hotel just opened, you couldn't tell because everything seemed running smoothly. This is a "can't miss" spot if you are heading to Solvang.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hip, fresh, forward Scandinavian are words that come to mind when I think of the newly renovated Landsby in the heart of Solvang. Cool bar scene, with some custom cocktail creations, and an inviting sense of arrival. The whole hotel is done in tones of gray and off white- with some ochre and soft white accents. None of your grandma's floral wallpaper or chintz here.

Uber cool design elements abound in the blond wide plank floors, interesting fixtures, painted wall paneling and ceilings, and the contemporary yet comfortable furniture. Nothing institutional about it, just refreshing clean lines and the occasional well placed soft textured touch.

The dining room is attractive and there is a small adjoining deck with a few tables outside. The rooms are contempo elegant without being overdone- clean and nicely appointed. The bed was all kinds of comfortable. Our renovated bathroom was on the small side, but lacked for nothing (and it was stocked with l'Occitane shampoos and soaps).

John at the front desk is friendly and eager to point out the changes made since the Landsby reopened after its makeover. A wonderful place for a getaway. We'll be back for an encore.

Room Tip: #48 was nice and quiet facing away from the main drag
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is a gem. I am very picky about detail, quality, aesthetics and ambiance. This place has it all. will stay again. Comfortable, stylish guest rooms- great F&B and lovely staff. No detail or amenity has been missed. The Succulent Cafe right across the street is perfect for wine & meals / snacks. Amazeballs all the way... 10/10

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Landsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landsby

Address: 1576 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463 (Formerly Petersen Village Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Landsby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landsby, a newly renovated 41-room boutique hotel, brings a unique hospitality offering to Solvang. Located in downtown Solvang, a small town in the heart of the Santa Ynez Valley, the property combines a bright contemporary design with Scandinavian elements inspired by the town's Danish roots. The Landsby, which means "the village" in Danish, offers an authentic hospitality experience to both visitors and locals. Designed by Santa Monica-based design firm, Studio Collective, the hotel incorporates a Scandinavian lodge aesthetic with a design nod to the past. The hotel lobby has been completely reconstructed to add relaxed lounge spaces and a new bar. The bar's lively atmosphere will be the perfect place for patrons to gather and enjoy a craft cocktail or glass of locally-produced wine. The bright and welcoming guestrooms, including several junior suites and our signature tower suite, is finished with blonde woods, brushed brass fixtures, genuine leather accents and sophisticated, yet comfortable, handcrafted furnishings. The rooms feature whimsical artwork commissioned by a regional artist and thoughtful accessories, which work together to create a residential ambiance. Standard room rates start at $225 and suites start at $329. All guests will have access to the property's redesigned outdoor garden lounge. This new space will prove an oasis for guests can relax and unwind among lush landscaping and romantically lit trees. Additionally, the property serves as an ideal retreat for meetings, with multiple meeting venues offering a total of 2980 square feet. The property also provides full-service amenities, catered meals from the restaurant, as well as access to courtyard and garden areas that can be used for breaks. Mad & Vin, the hotel's highly anticipated restaurant, is inspired by the local wine region of the California coast. The name of the restaurant, which translates to "food and wine" in Danish, continues to play off of the hotel's Scandinavian inspiration. Executive Chef Seth Nathan will develop a specialized menu that captures flavors from around the world and incorporates them into foods native to the area. The restaurant offers dinner seven days a week in addition to daily breakfast. A complimentary breakfast will be included for all hotel guests. Located 35 miles northeast of Santa Barbara, The Landsby is centrally located in downtown Solvang and steps away from boutique shops, bakeries, art galleries, sidewalk cafes, wine-tasting rooms, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Landsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersen Village Hotel Solvang
Petersen Village Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landsby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.