We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleseant hotel with down to earth service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petersen Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Petersen Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petersen Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleseant hotel with down to earth service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a pleseant stay here. Staff was super helpful with any request, parking right outside the door that we could stay at after check out. Comfortable room and free wifi, though with a tricky air condition :) All in all a good experience in Solvang.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    54
    22
    16
    10
See reviews for
23
114
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It was so odd that I recognized that the poor reviews and the excellent reviews I had read on tripadvisor were all true - I just didn't care about the negative stuff. The room is large, had a fold out couch bed with a broken hinge - I just left the thing open. With all the room there was no refrigerator in which to store some of the excellent Solvang leftovers, nor was there a simple table on which I could set up my laptop. And, the wallpaper was starting to come up. The rooms seemed to have very little sound separation - as I was walking by a room I could hear the music as if I was in it. HOWEVER, nobody was next to my room, I didn't have much time to look at the wallpaper, I made do with the computer, etc. The room was lovely, clean, and did not smell of disinfectant. The price was acceptable with my Travelzoo discount, the bed was comfortable, and the service staff was sooo nice. It really felt like being in the large home of close friends. Finally, the complimentary breakfast was good. Two days in a row I had strawberries that were the best/sweetest I've had in years. The rest was simple, tasty, adequate. But where else these days do you get to sit down at a table with a tablecloth with a view of the courtyard and enough light to read, and are given a carafe of good coffee with a real, old fashioned cup and saucer. It just felt so good nibbling, sipping, and reading that I must have stayed there an hour each morning. I would not have expected that the dining room would be one of my favorite experiences on this trip. Other reviews have noted that the hotel is being updated. I just hope not too much.

Room Tip: After reading the reviews I had hoped to have dinner at the hotel restaurant. Open Table indicated i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I enjoy getting the theater package every summer. For a very reasonable price one gets a nice room, theater tickets, gourmet three course dinner and a continental breakfast. A coupon for free wine tasting is also included.
It is a very good value!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, since we bought two (1 night each) vouchers from Travelzoo. Each voucher for a one night's stay included wine tasting coupons (3) and a "box of chocolates." We did not receive a box of chocolates, just 3 pieces of white confection. Since we used two Travelzoo vouchers, we should have received "two boxes of chocolates" but we did not receive even another piece of chocolate for our second night, nor did we receive any other wine tasting coupons except for the first 3. We were not off to good start.
The location is central, and convenient to the village. Our room was a good size, but the decor was very outdated. The pink carpeting was soiled and stained in traffic areas, and the "desk" in the room was wobbly to the point that I thought it would tip over whenever it was touched. Upholstered chairs and sofa/loveseat were also worn, and the supporting springs were gone. Each time you sat down, the seat would sink further down towards the floor. Tired and in need of an extreme facelift, this was indicative of the entire location. Staff was courteous.
Solvang village has also seen better days, but it still charming in it's own way. If you choose to stay here, be forewarned that the above conditions are the norm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonny R, General Manager at Petersen Village Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear WorldWideTravelerCA,

Thank you for your time to write a review on your recent stay at Petersen Village Inn.

I am so sorry that we failed in our quest to provide world class service, and that we disappointed you in that and several other regards. As you had 2 Travel Zoo Vouchers, we should certainly have provided to sets of chocolates and 2 sets of wine tasting vouchers. On this occasion we fell short in some areas for which I apologize.

Please be assured that we have taken your comments to heart and worked to correct the shortcomings with enhanced training and processes.

In regards to our furniture and decor, we are happy to inform you that later this year we will start our long awaited renovations. All furniture and wall decorations will be replaced. We started our renovations by replacing most of our mattresses and all televisions. Next step was our Air Conditioning system that was updated to a state of the art system. Our rooms and public areas are next on the list. I invite you to visit our FaceBook page and/ website to get all the updates.

I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back at some point and provide you with the true, authentic Petersen Village Inn experience that is more indicative of our usual standards. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further, and thank you for taking the time to provide your candid feedback.

Warm regards,

Wonny Rengersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I asked for a quiet room and got one. But I hadn’t expected it to be so attractive and appealing, so I was delighted when I walked in. Later I ordered a steak dinner, expecting an okay meal: filet mignon is generally tender but not richly flavorful. This one was one of the very best I can remember. Everything on the plate was delicious, too. I even fell in love with my lovely, gracious server! And the desk staff--all of them were friendly and helpful, too. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and when I’m again in Solvang, I’ll be happy to return to this place.

Room Tip: I think I stayed in 318. It was spacious, airy, clean and quiet. I liked the view, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We used a travel zoo coupon, so the price was great. However, were I to pay full price, I would have felt that the value wasn't there. The staff was friendly, I loved using the L'Occitane products, our room was very large and the canopy bed was fun. Though there was street voice, lots of trucks going by, we didn't notice the noise in our room. The breakfast was included with our coupon and included hard boiled eggs, fruit and nice Danish pastries. The down sides were that the decor is pretty outdated, there aren't any mini-frigs or safe, there was only one bar of soap, so we had to reach into the shower to grab soap to wash hands at sink… a little thing, but sort of weird. If you get a discounted rate, I paid $129, it was a great deal. If you have to pay full price at up to $250/nt., I would keep searching.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I like for hotels to do what they say their going to do, and, while this is petty, they just didn't do what they advertised, and that upsets me. I booked the Petersen Village Inn through Travelzoo for a fairly reasonable price, which was to include vouchers for three wine tastings for two, and a box of chocolates,an added value of about $95 dollars. We received the wine tasting vouchers, and, instead of a box of chocolates, we got 3 pieces of foil-wrapped white chocolate candy in a little tray in the room. Take away the maximum price for the tastings, and the box of chocolates should have had a value of about $10-12. When I inquired about the chocolates, the desk person said that the wrapped candy is "what we're giving now." The hotel was nice - pretty, in a good location; the employees were friendly - everything was good, except for this. I wanted my chocolates (especially for my wife - plus, 3 pieces for 2 people?) Sorry, but I'l try to find a hotel I can trust will do as advertised next time.

Room Tip: Good location, free parking, free internet, no pool or hot tub. We stayed in 317 - nicer view out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petersen Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersen Village Inn

Address: 1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petersen Village Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at Solvang's only Four Diamond award winning Country Inn. The Petersen Village Inn is located in the heart of the Santa Barbara County Wine country. Enjoy the quiet ambience of Solvang in an air of casual elegance. The Inn's Cafe Provence, features European and Mediterannean entrees. Award winning Executive Chef Mini Dal-Fuoco is considered one of the finest chef's in the region. Dinners at Cafe Provence are the most talked about experience at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Petersen Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersen Village Hotel Solvang
Petersen Village Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petersen Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.