We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like sleeping on a highway!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Petersen Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Petersen Village Inn to your Saves list
Petersen Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
TV just got better!
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Like sleeping on a highway!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I am sitting wide awake in my adequate but dated $260 "village view" room 335 listening to the people in the next room discuss the traffic noise...which is surprising given the TRAFFIC NOISE!! Called the front desk asking to be moved. Told they were "95% sold out" so they would not move us a different room, and good luck finding another hotel because it restaurant week. I may not be great at math, but 95% would indicate there are maybe 4 or 5% of their rooms available. I am sad I booked through Expedia, stuck staying the night or paying and driving home; no sleep either option. I feel like a captive in a roadside motor inn, not the 4 Star hotel Petersen touts itself to be. I'm not a fan of giving poor reviews, but shabby customer care makes me at least 95% sure I wouldn't return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterseninn, General Manager at Petersen Village Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Shoppercherri,

I would like to thank you for choosing The Petersen Village Inn and for your time to write the review and speaking with me in person.

Again I would like to apologize for the reaction by the night staff, this is certainly not our standard.
If we had rooms available, we should have offered a room move.
I do appreciate you mentioning this on your check out, so we were able to address this with our team as a training.

As you may have noticed, we did make an adjustment on your final bill due to the street noise.

As discussed during our conversation, we are looking to renovate our hotel and many improvements will be made.
I would like to invite you back once we are fully done with our renovations and get your opinion.

Again my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may experienced.

Warm regards,

Wonny Rengersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    60
    29
    19
    12
See reviews for
25
131
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed only one night on route from San Francisco to Las Vegas, but were pleased with our choice. The Inn is perfectly located mid town and very easy to find. Off Street parking is available. We had a room facing the Main Street and there was a little street noise but not enough to bother you. A spacious room and good appointments. We didn't need, but noticed the absence of a fridge and coffee facilities in room - having said that coffee will be brought to you and is available in the lounge.
The facility looks ready for refurbishment. The service is terrific; everyone we met was delightful. We ate in the Restaurant for dinner and breakfast and both were great. As about the dining package - great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Our first impressions of nice, but old, were pushed towards very nice on our three day stay and we, among many, are looking forward to their renovations. We didn't ask them to put a refrigerator and microwave in our very spacious room with its extremely comfortable bed but we left thinking they might have had we asked. They brought us everything we wanted, wine glasses, knives, forks, napkins, spoons and lots of ice and the staff felt more like family when we left. Their recommendations for wineries and restaurants were superb and several became our highlights for the trip. These people know how to run a hotel. Now, if they could update this one, we're talking five stars.

Room Tip: Check first for deals and discounts. We had a court yard view with a king bed. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed one night at the Petersen Village Inn as a stopover on our way from LA to Paso Robles. A nice lodging in the charming village of Solvang lined with these wonderful Danish-inspired architectures and lovely small shops. Our room (Village Queen) was spacious and decorated in a warm pick theme. Furniture was just basic but we loved our antique-style four-poster bed. Dinner at the Inn's own restaurant - Café Provence - was great. Ambience was nice and the food was skillfully cooked and presented. The onion soup, mushroom pasta, grilled filet mignon and warm chocolate cake were all delicious. Continental breakfast (also served at the Café) was satisfying, too. The quiet old charm is probably not for young travelers/party goers but will certainly be appreciated by those who are looking for a peaceful or romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Pros: Clean and a great location, friendly staff
Cons: OLD, very old. You feel like you are visiting your grandparents or even your great grandparents. High price for what you get.
They say they are going to remodel in 2014. Should be nce after that but for now, stay somewhere else unless you want to take a journey back to the 70's or even the 60's.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "village side" are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Not bad, but I expected much more for the price ($225/night after taxes via Expedia). There are several pros and cons:

Pros:
1) Good location
2) Large room
3) Clean
4) Plenty of decent towels
5) Easy parking

Cons:
1) Very outdated - absolutely everything in the room needs to be updated (furniture, tv, alarm clock, carpet, ...)
2) Horrible mattress - sagging, lumpy and well past its useful life
3) Small bed - queen size instead of king
4) Thin walls - can hear everything from the room next door
5) Poor internet connection - this is the 3rd time I'm writing this review due to dropouts
6) Poor service - at check-in, I'll expand below

I likely would've given 3 stars except for the check-in fiasco. When I arrived I was given keys to a 3rd floor room in the main building. When I walked in, I thought the room hadn't been cleaned (tussled bed, towel on the floor, half-eaten tray of food) until I saw the luggage. I had been given keys to a room that was already occupied. Luckily the occupant wasn't in when I walked unto their room. Not a big deal as mistakes happen.

I return to the front desk, the staff apologizes and has a young staff member take me to a different room. I was pleasantly surprised (large bed, flat screen tv, balcony overlooking a courtyard) and started getting settled in. About 5 minutes later I hear someone trying to open the door and open it to find a very surprised woman. She also had been given keys to my room. She apologizes (even tho' it wasn't her fault) and hustled off to the front desk. Soon after the phone rings and the front desk tells me I've been given the wrong room yet again!

Same young guy comes up and takes me to an ugly room across from the parking lot. I was very disappointed after starting to get settled into the (much nicer) previous room. Then I notice the young man is hanging around expecting a tip! Not only has nothing been done for my inconvenience, but he didn't even offer to help me w/ my luggage - and he thinks he deserves a tip! Needless to say, he didn't get one.

So, as stated above, I was ok when the 1st error was made. However, I would expect you'd double-check and make sure the issue was corrected and wouldn't happen a 2nd time (and to multiple customers). So, I was VERY unimpressed by the front desk staff.

Overall, not worth the price (likely would've been if I had been given the 2nd room and not the last one I was given). I'll definitely look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterseninn, General Manager at Petersen Village Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Talaga,

Thank you for your time to write about your experience. We take all of our Guests' comments very serious.

I truly apologize for the mix up with the room and I discussed this with the staff and actions have been taken. This is certainly not our standard procedure.

We are starting our complete renovations for the hotel in 2014, I would love for you to come back and experience the new hotel.
Please contact me directly so I can set up a stay for you at a special rate.
wonny.rengersen@peterseninn.com.

Again I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and I look forward to your contact to discuss your future stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Wonny Rengersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed here in November and decided to come back in December for all the Christmas festivities. The Petersen is smack dab in the middle of everything. Staff was very efficient and friendly. We liked the 2nd floor Garden Room as it was very quiet. It had a private veranda overlooking the hotels patio and fountain. I would imagine it would be very tranquil in the warmer months to leave the veranda door open to hear the fountain. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was very nice. Breakfast is European-style: meats and cheeses, hard-boiled egg, fresh fruit and pastries. Not my style, but Paula's is across the street. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden King room has easy access and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petersen Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersen Village Inn

Address: 1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petersen Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at Solvang's only Four Diamond award winning Country Inn. The Petersen Village Inn is located in the heart of the Santa Barbara County Wine country. Enjoy the quiet ambience of Solvang in an air of casual elegance. The Inn's Cafe Provence, features European and Mediterannean entrees. Award winning Executive Chef Mini Dal-Fuoco is considered one of the finest chef's in the region. Dinners at Cafe Provence are the most talked about experience at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Petersen Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersen Village Hotel Solvang
Petersen Village Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petersen Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.