We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petersen Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Petersen Village Inn to your Saves list
Petersen Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Woodland Hills
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is charming. Staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. The rooms are immaculate but a little dated. When we checked out after our two day stay they told us how excited they are about an upcoming redecoration. No need for the car to see Solvang and the hotel's recommendations for dining were great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterseninn, General Manager at Petersen Village Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear WoodlandhillsPtc,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to review all the updates.

Warm Regards,

Wonny Rengersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    54
    23
    17
    10
See reviews for
23
116
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a centrally located hotel, with lots of room and an adequate pool. The included breakfast is nice, but not spectacular. The breakfast room location and view, however, is outstanding. After breakfast, peruse the neighborhood shops on foot and never get into your car, as the location is truly superb. You can walk to restaurants, shops, parks, wine tasting and anything else you may want. It is a lovely town, filled with good food and good times. The hotel staff was quite accommodating and although we had some problems with the electrical system, they offered to change our room and fixed the problem immediately. The rooms are nice and were immaculate, but are quite dated and really could use some freshening and upgrading, but I thought that the price reflected this and that the rooms were reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterseninn, General Manager at Petersen Village Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Kathy S,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent visit to Petersen Village Inn.
I am glad that despite some bumps with the electrical system you experienced, you enjoyed your stay.

In regards to the pool, I am assuming that this may have been the hot-tub in our 3 level Tower suite. Many of our guests do indeed enjoy this feature.

Again thank you for choosing Petersen Village Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Wonny Rengersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed 3 days 2 nights. Right in the heart of Solvang. The hotel is clean, the rooms large and comfortable. Breakfast is included. On weekdays it is a continental, amazing fresh danish pastries, fruit. They serve hard boiled eggs, cereal. Great coffee. On the weekend they serve quiche. All very yummy. There is a piano player late in the day to play. In the lobby they always have coffee, water, pastries.
We will be back.

Room Tip: couples, family, solo all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterseninn, General Manager at Petersen Village Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Zina E,

We can't thank you enough for this wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to write this.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Wonny Rengersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a Saturday night as part of our Santa Ynez / Solvang getaway weekend. We booked our room online, directly through the hotel's website.

PROS:
-Location, location, location! This hotel is DIRECTLY in the heart of downtown Solvang; completely within walking distance to everywhere else (in Solvang).
-The front desk staff will hook you up with complimentary wine tasting passes (redeemable at several local tasting rooms down the street), and they have plenty of great advice as to where to eat, drink, shop, etc..
-The check-in and check-out is quick and painless. The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable.
-The staff is Johnny-on-the-spot attentive! One quick stop by (or call to) their front desk will resolve just about any problem you could have. They hooked us up with a fresh (and complimentary) pot of coffee upon request.
-Super-comfy bed, with real goose down comforter and pillows!
-Free WiFi!

CONS:
-For some unknown reason, you have to go through an old, glass-paneled wooden door before you get to your own hotel room's door. These ancient doors give a uniform look to the building (when viewed from the parking lot), but have no cushioned hinges / air pistons to soften their closing. This results in the stupid door SLAMMING shut every single time, unless someone consciously remembers to slowly shut it by hand. The end result? You'll be woken up by the LOUD SLAMMING sound at all hours of the early morning and late night. (The management says these old doors might be permanently removed as part of the building's forthcoming renovations -- keep your fingers crossed!)
-Our so-called "Garden View" room didn't have much of a garden view; it was more of a street/roof view. So much for the $20 upgrade over the standard rooms! We did have double French doors that opened up to a small private balcony framed by real ivy, however.
-The furniture, fixtures, and décor in general reminded me of my great-grandmother's house back in Ohio. The wallpaper was peeling, the armchair corners were threadbare, some bathroom sink/vanity light bulbs were burned out, there were visible cobwebs on some of the fixtures, etc. (This isn't necessarily a bad thing if you're nostalgic, but it's definitely not good if you're expecting modern décor!)
-There's no ice machine.
-The complimentary shampoos, conditioners and lotions are HEAVILY perfumed; they smell like a cross between an Abercrombie & Fitch store and an elderly churchgoing woman's perfume. AVOID!
-There was a mini- "family reunion" of sorts going on in the room directly across from us; people were coming and going throughout the day and night. The patriarch decided to keep their front door propped open, so their constant talking (in a foreign Middle Eastern tongue) could be heard through our closed door. This continued despite my asking them to please close their door and lower their voices at least twice. (To the management's credit, they later told us that if we had informed them directly of the problem, they would've resolved it immediately, including escalating it to the police if necessary.)

Overall, I'd recommend a stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 315. Everything was great (check-in, parking, location) but the queen bed needs to be replaced. It was very very firm, pillows were in bad condition and we didn't sleep well at all that we decided to check out early the next day. It's a shame that the bed ruined our weekend getaway. We're still sore after a few days..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterseninn, General Manager at Petersen Village Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear OC_M_Lu,

Thank you for your time to write this review.

I am sorry to hear about the soreness you got after sleeping in one of our beds.
We are planning on replacing all the mattresses and their linen early 2014. During this time we are actually making many updates to our hotel here in Solvang.

Hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome you back after all the updates are done, and you will be able to review our new beds.

Warm Regards,

Wonny Rengersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just spent one night at the petersen Village Inn as I was passing through solvang on a bike trip.
Overall the room was a decent value for the money. I walked up to the front desk and sked for their room rate. It was $30 more than i found on tripadvisor and they wouldn't match so I had to book online and then give my booking number. Not a big issue for me and I saved 430 in a matter of minutes.
The room was a bit dated but the linens on the bed were great and the bed very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and the location across the street from a local brew pub made it a very convenient place to stay.
Breakfast was only ok but overall a good place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Petersen Inn and like the other times it was excellent. Danish Days wouldn't be the same without the Inn. The room was clean and bright and the food at their restaurant was as good as any we have found in our travels. The service is also first class. Upgrades to the Inn are forthcoming but I hope they don't change the ambiance that we have found at this gem of Solvang.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the main road can be a bit noisy but not enough to avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petersen Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersen Village Inn

Address: 1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petersen Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at Solvang's only Four Diamond award winning Country Inn. The Petersen Village Inn is located in the heart of the Santa Barbara County Wine country. Enjoy the quiet ambience of Solvang in an air of casual elegance. The Inn's Cafe Provence, features European and Mediterannean entrees. Award winning Executive Chef Mini Dal-Fuoco is considered one of the finest chef's in the region. Dinners at Cafe Provence are the most talked about experience at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Petersen Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersen Village Hotel Solvang
Petersen Village Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petersen Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.