We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hotel-- Right In The Center Of Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petersen Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Petersen Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petersen Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
West Hills, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute Hotel-- Right In The Center Of Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I treated my husband to a Sunday Monday get away
We had a charming room #314
King sized bed, Flat screen T.V.
With the package I purchased we
got a bottle of wine, breakfast
and wine tasting coupons in Solvang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    54
    22
    16
    10
See reviews for
23
113
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Idyllwild, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights in March and felt like I was staying in one of the best hotels I could have selected. The front desk was very friendly and helpful from the onset as was the rest of the staff. Our room was beautifully decorated and well appointed for comfort.Service was first class from bellman,houseman,to wait staff in the restaurant. Continental breakfast was delicious. It included juice,coffee,tea,ham,cheese,hard boiled eggs, pastries and fresh fruit.Room service for coffee,tea and ice were always delivered quickly . We hope to go back to Petersen if we ever travel back to Solvang.

Room Tip: All room are 4 diamond !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Any hotel with a facade like the Petersen Village Inn is worth consideration. We arrived in Solvang in the early afternoon and the Petersen Village Inn looked comfortable and inviting. The grand piano in the reception area bode well, as did the copious amount of paneling on the walls. The desk clerk was friendly; the uniformed bellboy polite and did not push himself on us. The room was very nicely appointed with plenty of space and exuded comfort. The sort of room one could spend more than one day. Complimentary breakfast was a treat, with orange juice, fresh fruit, coffee, cold meats and cheese, and freshly delivered pastries from Mortensen's Danish Bakery less than a block away. How often does one see a bakery worker walking a tray of fresh baked pastries, covered with a white sheet, to a breakfast room in a nearby hotel! The Inn is a bit on the pricey side but the memories are worth it to us. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard may be quieter but our room, facing away from the Main Street was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for three nights midweek in February. Great clean room, super helpful staff (asked to upgrade to two beds as my partner was super sick and sharing a bed was going to mean no sleep for either. was shown two rooms to pick from, both of which were great and the upcharge was totally reasonable) and the location is great! Continental breakfast is a bit skimpy, but fine. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

In all honesty, I wasn't all that thrilled with staying in Solvang, because I have always felt like, once you've been there, you've been there! BUT....we were traveling with friends that had gotten a great deal through groupon at a different hotel. By the time I tried to book a reservation at their hotel, they were all sold out. So, I took a chance at the Petersen Village in and from the moment I called, these people were so nice and top notch in the customer service department. I had mentioned that I missed out on a groupon opportunity and they basically made a special deal for me that was just like that of my friend's. And they upgraded our room for just a very little bit more $$. So, I was extremely pleased from the get go. The room was quite nice, spacious, very clean and had a lovely view and small balcony. Also, we were blessed to get the room with a fireplace.

Also, we ended up really enjoying our walk around town....way more than I would have imagined. The bonus was, we went mid-week, so there were zero crowds. All in all it was an extremely pleasant stay and I would definitely go back to this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the fireplace / balcony room. Also, see if they will throw in any wine tastings with your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed many times at this wonderful inn. It is always a treat. It has a beautiful old world charm, very comfortable rooms, wonderful service and a delicious breakfast. The breakfast consists of hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, breads, cereal, fruit, fresh squeezed juice, great coffee and the best part: fresh-baked danish pasties. They also provide complimentary wine tasting at local establishments. This is our favorite place in Solvang.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Street noise was horrible. This place is old and the windows don't close all the way and are not double pane. Was told that street noise was minimal. They lied! I'm a very sound sleeper but couldn't sleep in this noisiest of rooms I ever experienced.

Was also told that they had free wine tasting in the afternoons. They didn't bother to mention that you had to walk 2 1/2 blocks to the tasting room.

This place is pricey for no apparent reason. I have no idea how they could have earned their 4 diamond rating from AAA. The person at the front desk also had an attitude.

Room Tip: If you want uninterupted sleep, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petersen Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersen Village Inn

Address: 1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petersen Village Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at Solvang's only Four Diamond award winning Country Inn. The Petersen Village Inn is located in the heart of the Santa Barbara County Wine country. Enjoy the quiet ambience of Solvang in an air of casual elegance. The Inn's Cafe Provence, features European and Mediterannean entrees. Award winning Executive Chef Mini Dal-Fuoco is considered one of the finest chef's in the region. Dinners at Cafe Provence are the most talked about experience at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Petersen Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersen Village Hotel Solvang
Petersen Village Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petersen Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.