We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petersen Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Petersen Village Inn to your Saves list
Petersen Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super friendly, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for three nights midweek in February. Great clean room, super helpful staff (asked to upgrade to two beds as my partner was super sick and sharing a bed was going to mean no sleep for either. was shown two rooms to pick from, both of which were great and the upcharge was totally reasonable) and the location is great! Continental breakfast is a bit skimpy, but fine. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    61
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
25
133
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

In all honesty, I wasn't all that thrilled with staying in Solvang, because I have always felt like, once you've been there, you've been there! BUT....we were traveling with friends that had gotten a great deal through groupon at a different hotel. By the time I tried to book a reservation at their hotel, they were all sold out. So, I took a chance at the Petersen Village in and from the moment I called, these people were so nice and top notch in the customer service department. I had mentioned that I missed out on a groupon opportunity and they basically made a special deal for me that was just like that of my friend's. And they upgraded our room for just a very little bit more $$. So, I was extremely pleased from the get go. The room was quite nice, spacious, very clean and had a lovely view and small balcony. Also, we were blessed to get the room with a fireplace.

Also, we ended up really enjoying our walk around town....way more than I would have imagined. The bonus was, we went mid-week, so there were zero crowds. All in all it was an extremely pleasant stay and I would definitely go back to this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the fireplace / balcony room. Also, see if they will throw in any wine tastings with your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed many times at this wonderful inn. It is always a treat. It has a beautiful old world charm, very comfortable rooms, wonderful service and a delicious breakfast. The breakfast consists of hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, breads, cereal, fruit, fresh squeezed juice, great coffee and the best part: fresh-baked danish pasties. They also provide complimentary wine tasting at local establishments. This is our favorite place in Solvang.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Street noise was horrible. This place is old and the windows don't close all the way and are not double pane. Was told that street noise was minimal. They lied! I'm a very sound sleeper but couldn't sleep in this noisiest of rooms I ever experienced.

Was also told that they had free wine tasting in the afternoons. They didn't bother to mention that you had to walk 2 1/2 blocks to the tasting room.

This place is pricey for no apparent reason. I have no idea how they could have earned their 4 diamond rating from AAA. The person at the front desk also had an attitude.

Room Tip: If you want uninterupted sleep, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

From the initial welcome, on Christmas evening, to the last morsel of our dinner, this was an outstanding meal. The Mushroom Bisque soup was truly delicious. The special was Rosemary crusted Rack of Lamb that we found to be the best we have ever had. Everything added to the next great experience. Thank you and your staff for a wonderful Christmas evening

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This summer my daughter and I stopped in Solvang for one night on the way to San Jose where we were attending the Junior Olympics for Water Polo. When I called the hotel and explained we just needed a room for one night the manager gave me a discounted rate as it was a midweek stay and they were not at capacity. I really don't understand the negative reviews because when you take into account that Solvang is a very small town (yes they roll up the sidewalk at 8pm, you are not in Vegas people!) the amenities offered at this hotel are great. There are several restaurants and bakeries within walking distance, parking is close to the rooms and the staff is welcoming and friendly. Our room (331-queen village view) was at the front of the hotel and overlooked the main street in Solvang. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was serviceble if not lavish. Please take into account there really isn't a five star in Solvang so I consider this to be the best place to stay in the town.
That evening we were planning on walking to a nearby restaurant but decided we were too lazy to go out and so we stopped in the restaurant to see the menu. The hostess was so sweet and patiently answered our questions about the menu so we decided to eat there largely because of her kindness. We were relieved to find the food was great and the special of $35 per person was a great deal for shrimp cocktail, filet mignon and lava cake (which she offered us to go). The food was really good and we appreciated the dessert delivery with complimenttary coffee so we could eat in our pj's. I am posting pics of our food because honestly this place is underrated!

Room Tip: A room facing the village, the town is pretty when lit at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were travelling around the area when we decided to stop in Solvang and spend the night there. We chose The Petersen Inn because it had many good opinions in tripadvisor. Our room was in the annexed building at the end of a hallway. We listened furnitures moving noises all night long and was very scared. Believe me, we listened heavy movements at 2 a.m. and we were almost sure that there wasn´t any room above us. It was just one night but we´ll surely not be going back again.

The decoration is very old, the bed is very small for two (i think it was a full one) and the room has faint light.

Solvang is completely dead after 8 p.m. All restaurants were closed at 8 p.m. Nobody in the streets either. Solvang is just a very touristic day place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petersen Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersen Village Inn

Address: 1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petersen Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at Solvang's only Four Diamond award winning Country Inn. The Petersen Village Inn is located in the heart of the Santa Barbara County Wine country. Enjoy the quiet ambience of Solvang in an air of casual elegance. The Inn's Cafe Provence, features European and Mediterannean entrees. Award winning Executive Chef Mini Dal-Fuoco is considered one of the finest chef's in the region. Dinners at Cafe Provence are the most talked about experience at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Petersen Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersen Village Hotel Solvang
Petersen Village Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petersen Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.