We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petersen Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Petersen Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petersen Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Claremont
1 review
“Christmas Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

From the initial welcome, on Christmas evening, to the last morsel of our dinner, this was an outstanding meal. The Mushroom Bisque soup was truly delicious. The special was Rosemary crusted Rack of Lamb that we found to be the best we have ever had. Everything added to the next great experience. Thank you and your staff for a wonderful Christmas evening

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    47
    22
    16
    9
See reviews for
20
102
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This summer my daughter and I stopped in Solvang for one night on the way to San Jose where we were attending the Junior Olympics for Water Polo. When I called the hotel and explained we just needed a room for one night the manager gave me a discounted rate as it was a midweek stay and they were not at capacity. I really don't understand the negative reviews because when you take into account that Solvang is a very small town (yes they roll up the sidewalk at 8pm, you are not in Vegas people!) the amenities offered at this hotel are great. There are several restaurants and bakeries within walking distance, parking is close to the rooms and the staff is welcoming and friendly. Our room (331-queen village view) was at the front of the hotel and overlooked the main street in Solvang. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was serviceble if not lavish. Please take into account there really isn't a five star in Solvang so I consider this to be the best place to stay in the town.
That evening we were planning on walking to a nearby restaurant but decided we were too lazy to go out and so we stopped in the restaurant to see the menu. The hostess was so sweet and patiently answered our questions about the menu so we decided to eat there largely because of her kindness. We were relieved to find the food was great and the special of $35 per person was a great deal for shrimp cocktail, filet mignon and lava cake (which she offered us to go). The food was really good and we appreciated the dessert delivery with complimenttary coffee so we could eat in our pj's. I am posting pics of our food because honestly this place is underrated!

Room Tip: A room facing the village, the town is pretty when lit at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were travelling around the area when we decided to stop in Solvang and spend the night there. We chose The Petersen Inn because it had many good opinions in tripadvisor. Our room was in the annexed building at the end of a hallway. We listened furnitures moving noises all night long and was very scared. Believe me, we listened heavy movements at 2 a.m. and we were almost sure that there wasn´t any room above us. It was just one night but we´ll surely not be going back again.

The decoration is very old, the bed is very small for two (i think it was a full one) and the room has faint light.

Solvang is completely dead after 8 p.m. All restaurants were closed at 8 p.m. Nobody in the streets either. Solvang is just a very touristic day place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We happened to land in Solvang after our preferred Santa Barbara Inns were not available.
We made our reservation by cell phone. We booked adjoining suites.

The Petersen Village Inn exceeded all expectations. The inn reminded us of the best experiences we have had staying in smaller, upscale European hotels. Our package also included dinner in the Inn's dining room. Pork Schitzel was the special of the house and was incredible. After staying in Solvang two more nights, we returned to the Inn's dining room for a repeat performance.

We intend to return to Solvang and the Petersen Inn at some time in the future. No reason to stay in Santa Barbara again as it is a short day trip from Solvang.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Petersen Village Inn on a recent trip to California after a long day of flights and road travel. Things were pretty booked up in Solvang but we snagged the last room here. It was a bit more expensive than we would normally look at but wow was it worth it.

Even though it was only one night, I don't think we have enjoyed a stay in any hotel as much as this one. The room was very clean, comfortable, private and opened out onto a sunken garden area complete with a rockfall and pond. The complimentary breakfast was well above the standard fare (Mortensens pastries are to die for!) and the service was spectacular.

On that note, I'll end with an illustrative story about the "great folks" title caption I started with. We were almost a week down the road when my wife realized that she had inadvertently left a pair of her favorite earrings in the room at the Inn. We called in and they had found and set aside the earrings. They offered to mail them back to us free of charge and we were overjoyed.

But it didn't end there, the USPS inexplicably returned the package, even though they had properly addressed it, so, after calling to tell us what had happened and to confirm the address, they said they would take it to the post office and verify that it was good to go before sending it along again.

We were astounded at their kindness and 'can do' customer service attitude. Do yourself a favour - STAY HERE, you won't be sorry.

Sincerely,

Matt Mitro

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, AL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a family trip to this area. The room (327) was very large with comfortable bed, adequate lighting (overhead lighting had dimmers), windows that opened and shutters that blocked all outside light at night. The room had a sofa (it actually would have let out into a bed), lounge chair and ottoman, and table and 2 more chairs. Coffee and newspapers were put out in the lobby in the morning on the weekend, however on Monday they never put out coffee. The breakfast was excellent - pastries, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, fruit and cereal. We booked a "Pay for 2, stay 3" package which came with breakfast every morning and dinner 2 nights. We expected the dinner to be a short version of the menu, but we were actually told to order off the menu - and it was very good. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. We never had a problem with parking. And you could walk to everything in Solvang.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was time for another Vintage Japanese Motorcycle Club (VJMC) show, this time in the charming town of Solvang, which everyone knows is famous for its Danish decor and numerous excellent bakeries (I recommend Mortensen's next door to this hotel). It was a three night stay this round, and since it was on a weekend the room rates are jacked up $100 a night (to $250) on Fridays and Saturdays. We arrived on Thursday late, our confirmed room which had been booked on Expedia (Room 339) was waiting for us (although for some unknown reason the air conditioning had been set on "freezing" and the place was cold as an igloo in Alaska when we walked in out of the much warmer interior hallway.

No problem, we turned the heater on and the nice size room with the extra wide King bed became homier in a short time. There are a couple of odd things that have been mentioned by others on TA, the regular old fashioned (and obviously less secure) metal room keys instead of the electronic scanner cards for room entry that are almost universal in the hotel industry due to security and liability concerns, and then the 19 inch tube type televisions in the cabinet that would easily accommodate a modern flat screen of 26" or 32" size. At least they did have satellite television and access to the Speed Channel, although not Velocity. When you're charging $250 a night for most of the rooms in a 40 room establishment ($10,000 a weekend night gross revenue if fully booked) the lack of easily and cheaply available LCD flat screens and proper security key locks become glaring shortcomings to modern travelers. How does this place maintain its AAA Four Star rating? It's superb staff and the charms of the town. But the nice family that runs this place ought to replace those awful CRT screen TV's. Please.

After being there four days and considering the situation, it's kind of obvious why the door locks aren't updated as a practical matter: this town is about as safe as Mayberry and the Andy Griffith era of living. It's all about tourists, and the locals know it. There's minimal police presence (because not many really bad things seem to happen here) and the friendly police that are here are plainly here to protect you, rather than fleece you like rabid revenue agents writing tickets for every possible transgression like they do in some tourist towns.

The beds are very comfortable, the only problem we experienced was a lot of traffic noise from the Mission Avenue cars and trucks which run late into the night. You should request a room that does not have windows overlooking Mission (the main drag) if you are used to sleeping in a very quiet place. There's Solvang Brew Pub across the street, and their bar has live music and a young noisy crowd. Although we did have a good meal there, even though the service was poor. (I'll review that in another post.)

Parking can be somewhat of a problem, particularly if you drive a large pick up truck or are towing any kind of trailer like we were. There's no place to park a trailer on the Inn property, but there is a well lit city owned parking lot on the west side of the Inn which is free. You can even park there all night, even though you're not supposed to, as long as you don't try to sleep there in your vehicle. You will likely be rousted by your local gendarme if you try that, according to the locals. We even unhitched our trailer and left it there for two days, without any problems, with the truck parked behind it to prevent access to the back doors of the trailer. It was a small thing, but important to us, and we appreciated not being hassled about it while we stayed there in town and spent our money.

Over all, the Petersen Inn is a fine establishment. The complimentary breakfast is not large, but the quality of the cereals, the fresh orange juice, coffee, and most of the all wonderful pastries from Mortensen's Bakery made each day start happily. We did not eat at the in-house restaurant because it is fairly expensive. I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with windows on Mission if you need a quiet place to sleep. Much traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petersen Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersen Village Inn

Address: 1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petersen Village Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at Solvang's only Four Diamond award winning Country Inn. The Petersen Village Inn is located in the heart of the Santa Barbara County Wine country. Enjoy the quiet ambience of Solvang in an air of casual elegance. The Inn's Cafe Provence, features European and Mediterannean entrees. Award winning Executive Chef Mini Dal-Fuoco is considered one of the finest chef's in the region. Dinners at Cafe Provence are the most talked about experience at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Petersen Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersen Village Hotel Solvang
Petersen Village Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petersen Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.