We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Solvang, got to go Dutch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petersen Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Petersen Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petersen Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THEATER PACKAGE
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“First time in Solvang, got to go Dutch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its high rating on Tripadvisor, but I did find it a little bit outdated. The room sizes are large but oddly shaped with a corner lounge chair next to a picture window. The bathrooms had old fixtures and are half carpeted. Our room faces the parking lot instead of the garden area, but you do need to pay extra if you want a better view. The location is convenient as you can just park in their underground parking & walk down Copenhagen Street to downtown where there's many shops & restaurants. The town itself is adorable and you feel as if you're strolling down a European city in the midst of California! We arrived just in time for the Farmer's Market where you'll find plenty of imported fruits & vegetables. The hotel advertises special deals on their website, but a voucher for free wine tasting is included in the regular room rate which was worth it because we managed to save $8-12 per person. The breakfast is also part of the package so it is really worth it.

Room Tip: Look at their website for special packages or call their front desk directly to speak with someone w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    48
    22
    16
    9
See reviews for
20
105
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

In my many trips to Solvang, I have never stayed at this hotel, although this past weekend I had to make alternative arrangements for a family emergency. I was given a room at $200/night. The room was small, that was ok, it was just me, but the shower did not have warm, let alone hot, water and the shower head was "spitting" water. Also, as the water came out of the shower head, the base of the shower stall started to fill ( wasn't draining as fast as the water was coming out).

For $200, even on a holiday, I would expect the room to be operational and pleasant.

When I went for dinner in their hotel restaurant that evening after being with my very ill friend, I ordered Chardonnay and they were OUT of Chardonnay! Amazing for a place that is in WINE country!!! They did mix two different bottles which they said would taste "like" Chardonnay, and it was ok, but I would have thought at that accomodation that it would be gratis, no, full price!

I'll stay where I have stayed before before I come back here.

Room Tip: Room 310 is smaller of their rooms (cute balcony) and less money, but besure the shower head works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I were in Solvang to visit friends and spent one night here. The location is excellent if you want to explore Solvang on foot. Reception was friendly and helpful. All guest rooms are one floor above street level, either on the external perimeter, or on the interior overlooking a quiet courtyard. We opted for a Village King Courtyard room (#322) , which was spacious and nicely furnished, with a sofa and chairs in an "L" and windows on two sides. We turned off the HVAC at night and slept with a window open. The bathroom was small but adequate. The old CRT TVs mentioned by another reviewer are being replaced and this room had a flat panel set.
For parking, you have an open lot behind or a garage (not secure) beneath it. Breakfast was in a sunny room and featured Danish and other pastries from the nearby Mortensen bakery.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Never been to Solvang and didn't realize it was so kitchy with the Danish thing. The hotel was clean and neat, but dated. That wasn't our issue here though. I had specifically asked for a room with a view that did not include the parking lot. Guess what? Parking Lot view. That's okay...I got over it. From other reviews, it was probably a quieter room. The room was larger than we had been getting along Big Sur, so that was minor. In spite of the dated thing, it had European charm. We enjoyed browsing along the main street. Included in our room was a wine tasting for two at Lewis and Lewellyn Winery Tasting Room in Solvang. This is the winery featured in the movie Sideways. It was delicous wine and we had to convince ourselves that the gonga deal on two cases was not necessary...a couple bottles would do. We opted not to eat at the hotel and had dinner at the Heidleberg Inn...not so good. Typical German fair, but just so so. Should have eaten at the hotel. We heard it is excellent, but expensive. Next morning, we go down for our breakfast that was to be included and as I enter the room and take a first look sweep of the room as I walk, I walk right into two steps to an higher section...down I go and hit my cheek on a chair arm and my knee on the floor. Lucky for me that the chair was wicker and not something harder. I was okay except for my pride at falling down. The staff quickly came to check on me and we assured them I was okay. As we left, I noticed there were lights around the steps. They were not on when we entered. Overall, the Peterson Village Inn is a good bargain for Solvang and we would probably go again or maybe try a B & B there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

While a bit dated, we found the Petersen Village Inn to be a delightful choice for tourists who like to stay overnight in the Danish themed town of Solvang. By dated, I am referring to the furnishing in the room, even the TV set, which is the old CRT style, not flat panel. Bathroom is old, cramped and with low showerhead. otherwise, it's a nice spacious room with European charm.

The best part of this stay was the included breakfast. Excellent fruits, cheese, croissants, etc. we loved it. The worst part of the stay is road noise that one can hear even if set off from the street facing the courtyard, as we were. Ask for a room facing the back, away from the main street.

In sum, this hotel is a solid Solvang choice.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the back side would doubtlessly be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It's been awhile since I visited, but wanted to still review my last stay at Petersen. What a wonderful, soothing place. Beautiful decor, a fantastic restaurant with a charming free breakfast and delicious, reasonably-priced three-course supper, hot tea or coffee in the room (delicious teas not typically found elsewhere). And the truly special people who remember my face and my name. This is definitely a more expensive property, but well worth the price.
(Darn it, now I want to go back!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. It's much quieter. The garden rooms are lovely too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Santa Ynez Valley is a mecca for road bicyclists, even attracting several professional teams to its quiet, rolling hills. We've biked here many times, but never found a hotel that we really like - until now! At first glance, this charming, warm inn with big comfortable beds might not seem a likely choice for bicyclists - until you look at the details:

- Petersen Village Inn is centrally located, within walking distance of numerous restaurants and attractions.
- Plenty of free parking.
- A secure conference room for bike storage and a helpful bellman to give you access 24 hours a day.
- A free carb heavy breakfast buffet that runs from 7 am - noon, allowing you to fuel before or after a ride!
- And best of all - a regular check out time of 1 PM! (Yes that's right, 1 PM)

What that means is that we were able to get up on the final day of our stay, have breakfast, get in a 40 mile ride, and still have to time shower and check out, with no rush! To me, that is huge! Staying at the Petersen Village Inn, three day weekends will now allow for three long bike rides without having to the choose between cutting a ride short or driving home in sweaty clothes!

If you want to bicycle miles of quiet country roads, come to Solvang and if you're biking Solvang, definitely stay at the Petersen Village Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter and closer to the elevator that takes you down to the bike storage are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petersen Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersen Village Inn

Address: 1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petersen Village Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at Solvang's only Four Diamond award winning Country Inn. The Petersen Village Inn is located in the heart of the Santa Barbara County Wine country. Enjoy the quiet ambience of Solvang in an air of casual elegance. The Inn's Cafe Provence, features European and Mediterannean entrees. Award winning Executive Chef Mini Dal-Fuoco is considered one of the finest chef's in the region. Dinners at Cafe Provence are the most talked about experience at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Petersen Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersen Village Hotel Solvang
Petersen Village Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petersen Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.