We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petersen Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Petersen Village Inn to your Saves list
Petersen Village Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
TV just got better!
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
scotland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

we had a great stay here whilst passing through. owner was really friendly, bellman was extremely helpful. stayed in a massive, nicely traditional room, in a very quiet corner bordered by a courtyard. excellent rate , even allowing for the time of year, included a superb breakfast. if you're thinking of visiting Solvang, which i would recommend, i promise you wouldn't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    60
    29
    19
    12
See reviews for
25
131
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

After a long day out in the wineries we made it back to Solvang without a hotel reservation. We figured it would not be a problem to find a place since there are so many little hotels on the main street. So we went into one, went into another one, and then a third... And I started to get quite worried - they were all pretty much unacceptable. There was a theme: grandma flower bedspreads that haven't been washed since grandma was a young woman. If I am not painting a clear enough picture - most of the hotels were old and stinky.
And then, thankfully, we went into Petersen Village Inn. This hotel is also old fashioned, but in a charming and lovely way. It's a bit more expensive than the other hotels, but so very worth it. Friendly staff and great experience overall. Next time we are going straight to Petersen.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Beautifully appointed rooms in the very center of Solvang's action,; a delicious breakfast of cold meats and pastries with fresh fruit and cereal is absolutely perfect for starting the day, and their gourmet dinner room is equally perfect for finishing off at night. Stephanie, Alice et al bend over back backwards to ensure that you have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thousand oaks
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Great hotel clean quiet. The dinner thy offer is a good price and the food is great. Very friendly staff. Always our first choise when we stay there. I hve read review saying to high of price but let me tell you you get what you pay for. This hotel is weel worth it. It is located right in the center of town you can walk to any spot in Solvang from here. If you want a great hotel with great service,this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Solvang is a mini trip to Europe, and the Petersen Inn fits right into that scheme. From check in to departing the staff were among the friendliest and most helpful, with tips for dining and coupons for wine tastings, offer to make dinner reservations, etc. This is not the city, and though some would call it dated, the Inn is very homey, very comfortable, and just a pleasure. It's like staying at a European relative's home. Buffet breakfast was Euro style, excellent pastries from the Danish bakery a block away. Great location for seeing Solvang.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

The Petersen Inn is beautiful and inviting the moment you walk in the door. It was pouring rain when we arrived and the front desk was so friendly and helpful and suggested we park in the underground parking to stay dry. The elevator was right there so we had easy access to our room. We love that this is more like a hotel versus a motel like the Hadsten House and we were able to enjoy a fantastic gourmet dinner right in the lovely dining room of the hotel/Inn. Check out time is 1pm so we had plenty of time to enjoy the complimentary breakfast and come back to our room to write this review! They have actual keys for the rooms versus swipe cards...I know this is silly but that is such a nice touch somehow. Also, they serve complimentary coffee and tea service to your room at night so we enjoyed that while catching up on Facebook. The rooms are so inviting ~ beautiful quilts, quality wood shutters on the windows...windows that actually open for fresh air...embroidered shower curtains...the list goes on! We highly recommend this fantastic Inn!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We absolutely loved this charming hotel! The staff was wonderful, the atmosphere warm and friendly -- like spending the evening with relatives!

If you're looking for flat screen TV's and ultra-hip decor, don't bother -- if you're looking for good old-fashioned hospitality, this is your place! Good price too! We chose to add on the dinner and Cafe Provence and were not disappointed.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petersen Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersen Village Inn

Address: 1576 Mission Dr., Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petersen Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at Solvang's only Four Diamond award winning Country Inn. The Petersen Village Inn is located in the heart of the Santa Barbara County Wine country. Enjoy the quiet ambience of Solvang in an air of casual elegance. The Inn's Cafe Provence, features European and Mediterannean entrees. Award winning Executive Chef Mini Dal-Fuoco is considered one of the finest chef's in the region. Dinners at Cafe Provence are the most talked about experience at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Petersen Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersen Village Hotel Solvang
Petersen Village Solvang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petersen Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.