We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sushi, Eeh environoment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Masuo's Restaurant

Masuo's Restaurant
145 S Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075-1806
+1 858-481-6363
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 71 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good sushi, Eeh environoment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The sushi was good. But, the restaurant was really hot (which totally worried me about keeping the fish cold). Service was okay. Overall, not great atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
465 helpful votes 465 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere. Quirky surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We eat here frequently. Even though there are many other sushi restaurants to choose from in Solana Beach, we keep coming back.

The decor is not what you would expect, with surfboards and quirky paintings, and the atmosphere is friendly and lively.

The restaurant itself is quite small but there is a back deck and large back room (but with not so much atmosphere). There are also tables outside at the front incase you are on the way back from the beach with the dogs.

The special rolls are excellent. My favorites are Timmy's, James and Hawaii 5-0. If you love tempura shrimp, these are for you.

They recently ran a Daily Deal/Groupon, so suddenly it has become difficult to just wander down at the weekend and get a table. Until the interest dies down, it is wise to phone ahead and make a reservation.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Solana Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My wife and i are wintering in SB this year to be able to spend time with my son and his family,and to get our 12 yr old granddaughter to stay with us every weekend.
Nadia is a sushi fan, and my wife and I were fortunate enuf to have lived in Tokyo for a couple years back in the 80s. we love Japanese food and have eaten it all around the world.
we first ate in Masuo in 2002 when we last wintered in Solana Beach. it had just opened but was an authentic hit with us from day one. this year Masuos is still rocking along, but is now being run by the original owner's sister and her hisband. Two very charming and friendly folks.
this year, one of their $9 lunch specials is the bento box combo. You can have sushi and tempura (my favorite), or grilled salmon and tempura (wife's favorite) or a third i can't remember and never ordered. Fresh ingredients, made to order and served immediately when ready.
riding along Hwy 101, you could easily miss it (small store front) so dial in your GPS and give it a try - you won't regret it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great place for sushi and rolls; looks small but has a great back room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Great place for sushi and rolls; looks small but has a great back room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sushi Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

This has been our favorite place for a number of years. The service is alwasy pleasant and accommodating. Be sure to try the specialty rolls. The back room is a great setting, particulary the "tiki tree" table! We highly recommend...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masuo's Restaurant also viewed

 
Solana Beach, CA
 

Been to Masuo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masuo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.