We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   717 South Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Basingstoke,uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard Solana Beach for a week prior to going on to San Diego in March.
Booked a suite on the second floor which was very spacious and well worth the extra cost.
Unfortunately because of the roadworks in the area the road it overlooked was used by traffic more than usual but the noise was not excessive for us but could affect some people.
The hotel is in an oval shape and I would imagine that the inner rooms - overlooking the pool and courtyard - would be quieter.
Staff were excellent - welcoming and very helpful - and gave us good local tourist information.
Breakfast was in the bistro which is in the inner courtyard and was good - although the choices were limited - it is not as good as the previous buffet breakfast they used to offer.
Overall our stay was very good and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Solana Beach hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our second floor rooms, they do have vaulted ceilings for more overall space. In addition, because of the elevation there is a nice cool coastal breeze in the evenings. Solana Beach is going through a lot of improvements which includes the Highway 101 corridor. These improvements are scheduled to be complete in June 2013. I am confident that during your next visit to the area you will be able to enjoy the new improvements to roadways, inviting sidewalks, and vegetation along Highway 101. If I may ever assist with future reservations please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel (858-792-8200).

Josh Lujan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    113
    32
    13
    1
See reviews for
73
108
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I recently wanted to get out of the heat and close to the beach area where the climate was cooler.!
We were very happy with the quality of the room,(comfortable and clean), and the location of good restaurants and shops that were within walking distance(15 MINUTES AWAY). The rates were reasonable (use AAA OR AARP) for a reasonable week-day rate. Parking is $12 per night(the only drawback).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at this Marriott Courtyard for five days for business and two days waiting for an airline strike to end. This is a terrifically convenient hotel. The staff is polite and helpful. There are easy laundry facilities, internet in the room, and a gym. The hotel has a small bistro, but is close to many restaurants located in Solona Beach and North County San Diego. It is quite a bargain and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our excellent staff, facilities and other amenities. Our location offers great access to the beautiful beaches, restaurants and fun activities in North County. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If I may help with any future reservations, please feel free to contact me.

Josh Lujan, General Manager 858-792-8200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a king room on the ground floor.. ask for ground floor and go the king room. Entrance through to pool and.. great little bistro for breakfast and quick and easy dining for dinner. Easy walk to shops for groceries or anything you want. We were attending a car show at the Del Mar fairgrounds and were able to walk there one day. It was so easy to get to the I-5 to travel into San Diego. Highly recommend for value for money and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor and go the King room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Solana Beach. More importantly, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience! The Del Mar Fairgrounds hosts a variety of events year round, and the GoodGuys Car Show is one of the larger events of the year. I have shared your comments with our hotel team. I agree with you, the first floor rooms are fantastic and provide easy access to all hotel amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If I may help with any future reservations, please feel free to contact me at 858-792-8200. Thank you for choosing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. The room size and layout was really nice and I especially liked the breakfast servings! Didn't realize until I got home that I left some items in the room, and the hotel was great about getting them to me ASAP.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

If you enjoy visiting the attractions in San Diego, this hotel is confidently located for the on city ones. The staff is very friendly and accommodated all of our inquires and requests. The rooms are fine, clean and typical courtyard size. With free underground parking, and a pool in the center, the facility is nice.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, we’re thrilled you chose the Courtyard by Marriott Solana Beach! San Diego has so many amenities and attractions to offer, we’re most thankful that you spent time just enjoying the hotel facility including the pool area, lobby, and guest room. Our team works so hard year round to provide a great overall experience for our guests, thank you for your positive and candid feedback. Please contact me if I may be of service for future reservations, or to just answer any general questions about the hotel and the Solana Beach area. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was going to a wedding at Rancho Santa Fe and the hotel is only a short distance from my destination. The reception desk was very helpful and friendly throughout my stay. The hotel is clean and spacious; it was a very nice and relaxing stay. The place is quiet even though it is next to a street. It is also a short distance from the Solana Beach. I watched the sunset on the cliff next to the beach. The rate is good. So all in all, a very good hotel.

I booked taking the bed and breakfast rate and I would not do it again. The breakfast at the hotel cafe is so so, and the attitude of the two servers at the counter was not the best. This is not a good combination.

Next time, for sure like to stay at the hotel again but no breakfast there.

Room Tip: Do not go for the bed and breakfast rate, the service and breakfast at the hotel cafe is not very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for staying with us! We’re so happy that you chose to stay with us while attending a wedding in the neighboring community of Rancho Santa Fe. I have passed both constructive and positive comments along to the appropriate team members to ensure we improve on the Food and Beverage experience. We also want to make sure that we continue to serve our guests with the same high quality standards you have come to expect from a Marriott hotel. Our hope is to ensure that you think of us first when traveling to the Solana Beach area. Feel free to reach out to me if you need help with reservations, or have additional suggestions or comments. Thank you for choosing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 717 South Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Courtyard by Marriott offers FREE Wi-Fi access, garage level parking at a nominal fee, and we PROUDLY brew Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks in our freshly renovated Bistro! Courtyard by Marriott surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make both business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring a comfortable and well-lit work desk with ergonomic chair, two phones, complimentary weekday newspaper, and in-room coffee. Start your morning with a breakfast item from our diverse Bistro menu and a specialty Starbucks drink made to your exact liking! When you are ready to unwind at the end of the day, indulge in our new outdoor experience which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, and fireplace. Come and experience the new Courtyard Solana Beach. It's a new stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Courtyard Solana Beach
Solana Beach Courtyard
Solana Beach Marriott
Courtyard Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.