We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   717 South Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was going to a wedding at Rancho Santa Fe and the hotel is only a short distance from my destination. The reception desk was very helpful and friendly throughout my stay. The hotel is clean and spacious; it was a very nice and relaxing stay. The place is quiet even though it is next to a street. It is also a short distance from the Solana Beach. I watched the sunset on the cliff next to the beach. The rate is good. So all in all, a very good hotel.

I booked taking the bed and breakfast rate and I would not do it again. The breakfast at the hotel cafe is so so, and the attitude of the two servers at the counter was not the best. This is not a good combination.

Next time, for sure like to stay at the hotel again but no breakfast there.

Room Tip: Do not go for the bed and breakfast rate, the service and breakfast at the hotel cafe is not very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for staying with us! We’re so happy that you chose to stay with us while attending a wedding in the neighboring community of Rancho Santa Fe. I have passed both constructive and positive comments along to the appropriate team members to ensure we improve on the Food and Beverage experience. We also want to make sure that we continue to serve our guests with the same high quality standards you have come to expect from a Marriott hotel. Our hope is to ensure that you think of us first when traveling to the Solana Beach area. Feel free to reach out to me if you need help with reservations, or have additional suggestions or comments. Thank you for choosing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    111
    30
    13
    1
See reviews for
71
103
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a quick one night away. We used our Marriott points, super easy. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist. We asked her for a room overlooking the pool and she gave us the option of 1st or 2nd floor. We chose the 2nd floor based on the reviews on tripadvisor, good choice. Upstairs has high vaulted ceilings, down stairs has patio access. The room was surprisingly large (2 queens) and very clean. The bathrooms are on the small side with the shower and toilet separate from the sink area but the shower had nice tile and the shower curtain expanded to make more room. The pool area was very inviting and we enjoyed the warm sunshine in comfortable chairs. I love that they have free parking, mini fridge & mircowaves. In the morning we went for a long run, there were many places along the way with ocean views but the trail does not stay right along the coast. The hotel is not ocean front but it is very close. When we got back we were pretty tired and asked if we could get a late check out, they were very accommodating. My only negative to this hotel is that you can hear other guests in their rooms. Overall we had an amazing experience. The staff is to be commended!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Solana Beach. Thank you for being such loyal Marriott Rewards Members! I am so happy to hear that you were able to take time for a quick getaway and take advantage of the benefits of the Marriott Rewards points program. Our pool is one of the highlights of the hotel and I’m so happy that you were able to relax and enjoy the calm atmosphere. I have shared your comments with our team in order to better react to noise volume coming from neighboring guests. There are times when it can be challenging, however we are committed to ensuring your comfort. We welcome you back anytime in the future for a relaxing getaway, feel free to reach out to me directly with any questions or comments. Thank you for choosing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed here 2 times now for business. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Nice rooms with microwave and good sized fridge. Had a few problems with some of the lights but was fixed the same day while I was out at work. Food at the Bistro is good. The wings were real good and the Chedder melt is a good go to. Breakfast is also good. Nice Deli/Market/Liquor store next door if you're looking for a sandwich. They have most everything. I'll be there again for work I'm sure. Also like that the lobby has fresh coffee at 4:00 AM sometimes and by 5:00 AM for sure. Underground parking has pleanty of room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! Our hotel team understands there are many choices in the area and we appreciate having the opportunity to serve you. I have made our Food and Beverage Supervisor aware of your great experience in the Courtyard by Marriott Bistro. I have also discussed with our Maintenance Team on the importance of ensuring the lighting is perfect in all guest rooms prior to arrival. We hope that you come back to enjoy our hotel again soon. Feel free to reach out to me with any special requests or comments prior to your next visit to Solana Beach. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff here is very friendly. This is a very nice hotel with nice features for a courtyard. Great location, clean rooms with a microwave and fridge. We stay here often and only had two minor problems. Once was noise because of two parties going on which turned out not to be a problem because it stopped by 10pm. The other time the cleaning staff threw out our flowers, empty our refrigerator which had a full bottle of wine in it, sodas and threw away sandwiches from Mona LIsa's downtown (our dinner).

Other than that, this place is wonderful!

Room Tip: I prefer a street towards the beack for privacy. ALso, get second story for privacy and valuted cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good property very clean, excellent friendly staff. Room is very large with whirlpool bath, shower and separate toilet. Also has sink, fridge and microwave. Free WIFI, and flat screen TV, essentials shop in reception including snacks and free underground parking. Great breakfast, cooked bacon in UK style for me, not crispy. Store/deli next door and plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. Nothing not to like great value for money.

Room Tip: Try 2nd floor at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for a family weekend. It was very pleasant. Rooms were comfortable. Near CPK and a cute Cupcake bakery. Enjoyed Cedros Design district. The beginning of January was a bit cold, but the room heater worked great. Breakfast was included, more than ample in serving size, but just adequate in quality.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I needed to be situated near La Jolla for a business trip but didn't want to pay La Jolla hotel prices. Answer to this dilemma is the Courtyard by Marriott Solana Beach. Centrally located in Solana Beach and within a 10 minute drive of La Jolla, this is a terrific hotel option particularly for the price paid ($140). Staff is wonderful and welcoming. I got upgraded to a King Spa Suite, very spacious and quiet. I used the spa bath....not exactly the most wonderful experience but it was restful. Free high speed internet and close to the beach. The free, secure underground parking is a strong plus. Several restaurants in the area and a small market is located next door.

The only downside in January is having to walk outside to get to the breakfast restaurant, which is smallish but well run.

This hotel is a great option if you need to be near or north of La Jolla.

Room Tip: Get a room located away from Highway 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 717 South Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Courtyard Solana Beach
Solana Beach Courtyard
Solana Beach Marriott
Courtyard Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.