We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Solana Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   717 South Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Monmouth, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place in Solana Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed here 2 times now for business. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Nice rooms with microwave and good sized fridge. Had a few problems with some of the lights but was fixed the same day while I was out at work. Food at the Bistro is good. The wings were real good and the Chedder melt is a good go to. Breakfast is also good. Nice Deli/Market/Liquor store next door if you're looking for a sandwich. They have most everything. I'll be there again for work I'm sure. Also like that the lobby has fresh coffee at 4:00 AM sometimes and by 5:00 AM for sure. Underground parking has pleanty of room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! Our hotel team understands there are many choices in the area and we appreciate having the opportunity to serve you. I have made our Food and Beverage Supervisor aware of your great experience in the Courtyard by Marriott Bistro. I have also discussed with our Maintenance Team on the importance of ensuring the lighting is perfect in all guest rooms prior to arrival. We hope that you come back to enjoy our hotel again soon. Feel free to reach out to me with any special requests or comments prior to your next visit to Solana Beach. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    118
    33
    13
    1
See reviews for
76
110
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff here is very friendly. This is a very nice hotel with nice features for a courtyard. Great location, clean rooms with a microwave and fridge. We stay here often and only had two minor problems. Once was noise because of two parties going on which turned out not to be a problem because it stopped by 10pm. The other time the cleaning staff threw out our flowers, empty our refrigerator which had a full bottle of wine in it, sodas and threw away sandwiches from Mona LIsa's downtown (our dinner).

Other than that, this place is wonderful!

Room Tip: I prefer a street towards the beack for privacy. ALso, get second story for privacy and valuted cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good property very clean, excellent friendly staff. Room is very large with whirlpool bath, shower and separate toilet. Also has sink, fridge and microwave. Free WIFI, and flat screen TV, essentials shop in reception including snacks and free underground parking. Great breakfast, cooked bacon in UK style for me, not crispy. Store/deli next door and plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. Nothing not to like great value for money.

Room Tip: Try 2nd floor at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for a family weekend. It was very pleasant. Rooms were comfortable. Near CPK and a cute Cupcake bakery. Enjoyed Cedros Design district. The beginning of January was a bit cold, but the room heater worked great. Breakfast was included, more than ample in serving size, but just adequate in quality.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I needed to be situated near La Jolla for a business trip but didn't want to pay La Jolla hotel prices. Answer to this dilemma is the Courtyard by Marriott Solana Beach. Centrally located in Solana Beach and within a 10 minute drive of La Jolla, this is a terrific hotel option particularly for the price paid ($140). Staff is wonderful and welcoming. I got upgraded to a King Spa Suite, very spacious and quiet. I used the spa bath....not exactly the most wonderful experience but it was restful. Free high speed internet and close to the beach. The free, secure underground parking is a strong plus. Several restaurants in the area and a small market is located next door.

The only downside in January is having to walk outside to get to the breakfast restaurant, which is smallish but well run.

This hotel is a great option if you need to be near or north of La Jolla.

Room Tip: Get a room located away from Highway 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marin county
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Jamie, who checked us in, was lovely, friendly, and helpful to find a good room. The rooms have very few amenities, no shower caps, small towels and poly/cotton sheets. Our room was cleaned every day, we had an easy stay. The price was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed here as part of my son's lacrosse team. I was a little worried as usually sports teams don't book the 'finest' of hotels. I was pleasantly surprised!
The room itself was spacious and had a fridge & microwave. The bathroom was small - but we didn't plan to spend a lot of time there. ;-)
The courtyard was beautiful. Gardens, heated pool area, hot tub, gorgeous fire place...and a small bistro restaurant that served a wide array of food and beverage. (including beer and spirits)
The property overall had a quaint family feeling. But was close to the freeway, to the beach, and to shopping.
Front desk staff were very kind and informative.
We loved the underground parkade. Felt very safe in this property.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms are located in a square surrounding the courtyard. Either choose facing the pool/courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 717 South Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Courtyard by Marriott offers FREE Wi-Fi access, garage level parking at a nominal fee, and we PROUDLY brew Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks in our freshly renovated Bistro! Courtyard by Marriott surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make both business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring a comfortable and well-lit work desk with ergonomic chair, two phones, complimentary weekday newspaper, and in-room coffee. Start your morning with a breakfast item from our diverse Bistro menu and a specialty Starbucks drink made to your exact liking! When you are ready to unwind at the end of the day, indulge in our new outdoor experience which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, and fireplace. Come and experience the new Courtyard Solana Beach. It's a new stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Courtyard Solana Beach
Solana Beach Courtyard
Solana Beach Marriott
Courtyard Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.