We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, gorgeous courtyard and pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   717 South Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Solana Beach
Liberty Hill, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms, gorgeous courtyard and pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family of 5 drove in after 12 hrs on the road from El Paso. Our room was clean, comfortable and roomy; the bathroom was quite compact. The microwave and refrig were appreciated as was the wi-fi. We had a first floor room which had the benefit of opening onto the beautiful courtyard and pool/hot tub area. After such a long drive, it was perfect for letting the kids use up some pent up energy in the heated pool while I got to relax in the spa. In the morning I used the fitness room, although the location and isolation felt unsafe, the facilities were clean and up to date. The property is beautiful; the location is ideal on the coast and within walking distance to both the beach and restaurants. Of the many hotels we stayed in on our trip, this one rates among the top. It would have been perfect if they had offered breakfast, although we headed into Cardiff for our old favorite, Pipes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are very happy to hear we were rated among the top of your list during your travels. We hope to see you again soon during your next trip to Solana Beach and hope you will enjoy our new room refresh upon your return.

Josh Lujan, General Manager 858-792-8200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    106
    29
    10
    1
See reviews for
67
99
20
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was an unbelievable location for us very close to the grandkids. We had a great time the beach was close by restaurants close by walking distance if you wanted to staff was phenomenal everything about the resort was very wonderful .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed at this property on a business trip Feb. 2012. Front desk staff are hit or miss; the lobby is attractive and it 's very close to the beach. But it is an older property, and looks dated in certain areas; ground floors rooms are poorly lit and gloomy. The pool area was clean, but it's hard to find staff when you need them. We were surprised that there were few amenities and no breakfast included. So that's how it was; some favorable aspects and some significant unfavorable aspects.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in February. As you noted we are an older property and are in the process of undergoing a guest room refresh to be completed this year. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Solana Beach and earn back your patronage.

Josh Lujan, General Manager 858-792-8200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Clean.quiet,great bed.walking distance to restaurants. There is no breakfast buffet in restaurant on the property as stated.Asked to rescind my wake-up call.They did not do so. Consequently our precious naptime was shortened. Would like hot coffee and more tea choices, such as chamomile. We needed a pick me up, but coffee was lukewarm to cold at 4pm.As they say,"It`s in the details." The room was really beautiful and very nice products and plenty of towels. Very nice and accommodating staff!

Room Tip: Second floor away from traffic.Nice view of trees in 600s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry your stay did not stand up to the high standard of service we strive for, and as you say it is in the details. I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the high level of service we are known for by many of our guests.

Josh Lujan, General Manager 858-792-8200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I just had a brief overnight stay at the Courtyard Marriott Solana Beach on a business trip. It was great for business travel, but I can also see how it would be a wonderful place to stay for vacations. Convenient that our office is so nearby :-)

This hotel is a hop, skip and a jump away from the beach. The beach is lovely - white sand, very long, and the ocean here is spectacular. The property has been kept nice and fresh, and the courtyard in the middle is very welcoming. The people I was traveling with stayed outside into the night by the fire and the palm trees and had a lovely time.

My room was on the second floor and had high ceilings, and lots of windows. The bed was very comfortable, and the room nice and quiet. Everything seemed very up to date. My only criticism - and this is very minor - is that the doors to the rooms seemed somewhat recycled. As that is the only thing I could find amiss in the hotel, it's pretty remarkable!

Staff were TOP NOTCH. A group of 4 of us arrived for separate rooms late at night, and the front desk clerk greeted us very cheerfully and took care of us efficiently. Day staff seemed equally as good.

I would like to come back here again spend time on a leisurely basis. Between the beach, the cafes, stores and surrounding scenery, Solana Beach has it all!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and I am happy to hear your stay exceeded your expectations and you were able to have a wonderful experience with your group. With Solana Beach’s central location, I hope we will see you again soon.

Josh Lujan, General Manager 858-792-8200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Marriott Courtyard at Solana Beach has a fantastic courtyard with fireplace and a wine bar and grill. Beautiful nights just sitting and relaxing. Mthe rooms are a little dated , but clean and comfortable. Easily walk to the beach. Easy access to the highway, to go to San Diego or La Jolla.
Staff is great!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the courtyard, because the rest view a road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rooms good, spacious.Beds comfortable.Parking beneath the hotel convenient.
Tip- ask for a room away from Pacific Coast Highway.
Quite an easy walk into del Mar.
The hotel has a small restaurant, but it lacks any character and isn't even good value.
Worth going out form here to the Fish Market-20 mins walk, 5 mins drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms and comfortable beds. We look forward to seeing you again, and hope you will be able to enjoy our rooms refresh during your next trip.

Josh Lujan, General Manager 858-792-8200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 717 South Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Courtyard Solana Beach
Solana Beach Courtyard
Solana Beach Marriott
Courtyard Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.