We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   717 South Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Park Ridge, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My three children and I spent 4 nights here, and could not have been more pleased. I was so very happy with the professionalism and pleasant manner of every staff member. We arrived at John Wayne airport, so it was about an hour drive from there, but the location to all the San Diego tourist areas was only around a 20 minute drive. Such a nice location to find a quiet beach. It is located in a residential area, and our 5 minute walk to the closest beach involved snaking our way thru a public access walkway between 2 sets of condos, and about 100 stairs. Not complaining, mind you. Our room was nice, beds were comfortable. Microwave and fridge in the 2-queen room. Pool and hot tub area were well-kept - pool was warm for swimming, since it was only around 60 each day. The Bistro had a nice selection of food, happy hour, a fireplace directly outside, and such friendly and helpful ladies working there! They were eager and willing to help us with directions and places to visit. I would definitely recommend this site for anyone, on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    141
    41
    13
    1
See reviews for
94
124
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This Courtyard has a very nice property, with a good looking pool, comfortable lobby and decent rooms. Our stay was on a Saturday night and our room was very quiet. The rooms are a bit dated, though overall very clean and well kept. The kitchenette is more like a wet bar, it has a little counter top with microwave, sink, fridge and coffee maker. The shower seemed more recent and had nice new tile and good water pressure. All the rooms seem to have a little balcony that looks out to the pool/courtyard area, a nice way to get fresh air into the room. This is a nice chain hotel: no surprises or luxury but very friendly staff and quite an easy place to stay.

Room Tip: There are corner executive suites that have a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I was in town for business and wanted a place near the beach so I could take a break. The Courtyard was just a short walk from the beach and I enjoyed taking a walk there. My room was very nice, very clean and spacious. I wanted to exercise and the exercise room was conveniently located. However, the Universal machine was old, rusty, and hard to set up for the various different exercises. It was also missing some key parts, I think because the room was so narrow that they couldn't put everything in the room. It was just not well-maintained. They had a step machine and a treadmill, both of which worked fine, so it wasn't a total bust.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was a return stay at this hotel because of the great location for our trip. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to see that we were satisfied and our needs were met. Very pleasant and quiet place and the hotel and rooms were very clean. Very well maintained property.

Room Tip: King rooms all seem to be on the outside perimiter and queen doubles are courtyard side. I prefer c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We booked into this property for 5 nights to chill out before embarking on a road trip.

It is a well staffed and maintained property.

Minor reservations would be
- although we had a suite, the cooking/fridge/microwave area was incredibly small and squeezed into a big room where there was plenty of space. Disappointed no crockery or cutlery supplied but this may be the norm
- having spent the last 8 nights staying in hotels in Utah, Colorado, Arizona and Nevada. I have to say I have had similar quality for a lot less money. However maybe that is a California or San Diego price thing, we were pleasantly śurprised how much cheaper fuel was outside California.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

As a smoker who follows the rules, I have shied away from Marriott. We have stayed in this area so many times and have passed by this property. It is ideally located, close to the beach and fairgrounds with several restaurants nearby.
Due to a problem at another hotel, we checked into the Courtyard later in the day and were given a nice room that looked out to the bar, pool, and fireplace. My request to be near a smoking area was arranged, therefore not a problem for me. It was immaculately clean-both the room and the common areas.
Beds were comfortable but the bathroom was a bit small.
Overall, it was a memorable, quiet stay and I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to face the pool and garden area, not the street and strip mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Brand new modern lobby, great location with complimentary underground parking. Room was very nice but could have used a bit more lighting. Bistro offers full breakfast and happy hour/dinner. Bistro is closed for lunch. Walking to the beach is a plus. Fitness room is small and cramped and without the a/c on was quite musty. Overall, great three day stay with very nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
2.2 mi away
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Clarion Del Mar Inn
#1 of 7 in Del Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
0.7 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 717 South Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Courtyard by Marriott offers FREE Wi-Fi access, garage level parking at a nominal fee, and we PROUDLY brew Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks in our freshly renovated Bistro! Courtyard by Marriott surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make both business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring a comfortable and well-lit work desk with ergonomic chair, two phones, complimentary weekday newspaper, and in-room coffee. Start your morning with a breakfast item from our diverse Bistro menu and a specialty Starbucks drink made to your exact liking! When you are ready to unwind at the end of the day, indulge in our new outdoor experience which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, and fireplace. Come and experience the new Courtyard Solana Beach. It's a new stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Courtyard Solana Beach
Solana Beach Courtyard
Solana Beach Marriott
Courtyard Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.