We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winners Circle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Winners Circle Resort to your Saves list
Winners Circle Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Via De La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have owned a 1 BDRM 2 Bath time share here for 3 years, but this is the first time I have stayed here.
Great area as long as you avoid I - 5 on Friday afternoon.
Good Starbucks coffee and nice tea selections each AM off the lobby. On Monday AM, they host breakfast next door. I missed that as I had to go to Ft Rosecrans.
I was planning to sell my unit, but now I think I'll keep it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Since you're one of our treasured owners, we are beyond excited to hear you enjoyed your stay at your home resort. We're very pleased that enjoyed all of our amenities, including the Starbucks Coffee and Tazo teas. We hope to see you every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    46
    16
    1
    9
See reviews for
53
39
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Palisades
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed every aspect of our time at the resort. Our room was tastefully decorated and the bed was great, very comfortable. The fully equipped kitchen was perfect for those times we didn't feel like going out.The grounds are beautifully maintained. There are flowers blooming every where. It's clean, pretty and very well managed. There are tennis courts and two restaurants adjacent to the resort. Simply put, it's the best value in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you took advantage of your fully equipped kitchen. We love that you found WCR to be a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We traded with Interval Int.. Our room was spacious, with a lot of small things that really made it very very good. Oversize towels, LOTS of drawer space (first time I've ever had more than enough) and uncluddered! We used to live in Encinitas which is down the road so we know the area well, and I don't know of a better place in north county coastal I would rather stay!

Room Tip: Get a room in a wing that has been remodeld. I think one of the wings is not done yet (oct '13)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We're thrilled you enjoyed your Interval Exchange at WCR. We truly hope you can comeback soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved our suite which was a trade through RCI. We had never been to that area before and loved it, so close to many beaches, restaurants and fun things to do!
The rooms were light and airy and nicely decorated, everything was provided, everything was clean and worked and what else is there to say except we will be happy to return sometime!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your RCI Exchange at our resort. We're also glad you enjoyed your room and our charming, coastal community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great location, great rooms and great staff. This was our first time here but we will be back. Our very clean room had a fully equipped kitchen with all of the cook wear we needed. The rooms were well appointed with large TV's--one in the living area and one in the bedroom. The resort was not noisy not even the pool area. Parking was free and not hard to find. We had two bathrooms which was great. The bath towels were huge and they provided pool towels as well. We had a wonderful stay and experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my second time staying at this wonderful place. Got to kick back and relax for Labor Day weekend. I took full advantage of their grill (cooked oysters and bacon wrapped scallops that we picked up from whole foods only down the street). The staff were nice and friendly and so were the other guests staying there. It's a pretty close drive to downtown yet good enough distance for a nice quiet and beautiful ambiance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was looking for a quiet place to spend Labor Day weekend, but also a place that wouldn't bore me to tears while also offering friendly services. It's not much to ask for, but WCR went above and beyond my expectations. Being a fresh college grad with a bit of spending money, I was tired of finding a dead mouse or cockroaches in sleazy motels while travelling within my college student budget. When I pulled up to WCR, I knew I was going to be in for a very pleasant experience.

The first WCR employee face I saw was the valet, who was super friendly and I had little fear that my car would not be handled with great care. Upon entering the hotel lobby, I was greeted by a very friendly front desk person named Rachel. She was very accomodating and very helpful, despite my naievete and lack of experience in staying with resorts. I could tell the hotel was very busy as it was Labor Day weekend, but she stuck by me and was very patient throughout my requests for extra towels, the pool table supplies, change for my $20s, and pointing me to the hotel amenities. I could tell she was very experienced in her position and I was surprised she wasn't already part of the management team, given the quality of service I received.

I was looking for quiet, and boy did I sure get it. To put it delicately, most of the hotel patrons were of the same age you'd expect to see most bingo players. That provided a great, family-friendly environment that made it very easy to sleep (I am a VERY light sleeper). Rachel (the front desk girl) told me that part of the hotel was actually timeshares, so I guess that made sense. I was actually very much appreciated the fact that they didn't push the timeshares too much onto me, so bonus points for that. The room itself was very well decorated and well stocked, especially given the fact I had opted for a studio since I was only visiting friends for a short while. Housekeeping came and went without a hitch and I made sure to tip them very well.

The one thing I noticed was that their arcade games were kind of dated and didn't work, but heck I'm 25 years old so I guess it really wasn't that much of a bummer. I'm sure the kids who came with their families minded, though.

Overall, 5/5 for the cozy, family-friendly experience that made for a perfect Labor Day weekend with friends. I'd definitely recommend this place if you want a quiet place to stay, but the more rambunctious crowd should go elsewhere so as to not ruin the family environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Winners Circle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winners Circle Resort

Address: 550 Via De La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winners Circle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners Circle Resort is a boutique style resort hotel located in the heart of Solana Beach, ideally located next to the Del Mar Race Track. Winners Circle Resort is just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Del Mar, CA and offers spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites complete with private patio or balcony. Ideally located near the Del Mar racetrack, 20 minutes north of the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and other attractions, the Winners Circle resort is perfectly situated to make the most out of your trip to San Diego. Winners Circle Resort offers free parking, free Wifi, and turnover Service. Additionally, this Del Mar Hotel features on site laundry, on site restaurants, a tennis club, a pool, a hot tub, a clubhouse complete with a pool table, a ping pong table, outdoor gas grills, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Winners Circle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner`s Circle Hotel Solana Beach
Winners Circle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winners Circle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.