We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winners Circle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Winners Circle Resort to your Saves list
Winners Circle Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Via De La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Boulder City, Nv
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is our 5th time here and it has improved greatly since the first time 4 years ago. Nice rooms we had a 1 bedroom it was one of the newer updated rooms so had a bigger fridge (small apt size} and an oven. One of the best things about their 1 bed rooms is they have 2 bathrooms. It has a great BBQ area and pool area. They have really improved the property and it looks really nice now. It is located across the street from Del Mar Race track and 2 blocks from the beach.
We will be back again and again.

Room Tip: ask for a pool side room they are quieter. But we have never been able to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are very happy that you enjoyed our location and having two bathrooms in your unit. For the best chance of getting a poolside room, we recommend calling us one week prior to your arrival so we can add the request to your reservation. Sometimes, we can move things around and accommodate such requests. Thank you again for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    13
    1
    8
See reviews for
46
33
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Location, location, location. Minutes from I5, the beach, The Coast Highway and some of the finest restaurants in the Region, the Winners Circle Resort was our choice for a time share trip. Royal Holiday added this property January of 2013. Mom is 90 and can't get around easily. The staff here has accommodated our every need. We have a 2 room wide lanai with a short privacy wall, open to gorgeous flower gardens and walkways meandering through the pools, canopied picnic tables, bbq area, fire pit and club house offering pool, ping pong and much more. Guests are welcome to utilize the tennis club sharing the property and starting mid July enjoy the Del Mar race track which is just across the street but far enough away not to be a noise factor and interrupt your stay. Families love this facility. Mother's Day day it was buzzing with kids having fun. This is a happy place.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the East side of the property because as the sun set we had a lovely sunset, wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of Winners Circle Resort. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your room, our helpful staff, and the location. We hope you can come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed during the second week of April. Winners Circle Resort was right off of the 5 and close to a grocery store and restaurants. Two evenings we walked to dinner. The unit was very clean and updated. We had a one bedroom with two bathrooms. The extra bath was great when our son came and stayed with us. He used the soft sleeper and said it was very comfortable. The pool and grounds are beautiful and very clean. The staff was very friendly and the office is staffed 24 hours a day. It was very quite too. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Winners Circle Resort. We're very glad you were impressed by our resort's cleanliness, customer service, and location. We're also happy to hear you took advantage of being able to walk to the on site restaurants.. Thank you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

King size bed was a bonus as well as 2 bathrooms! Tiny kitchen if you like to cook meals in but spacious. Loved being 5 min drive to Whole Foods, the Pardee aquatic centre and 5 min to the beach! Great to pick up fish next door as take away or to bbq! Great coffee set out each day!

Would say again with this RCI property.

Room Tip: A bit dark on parking lot side but a.m. sun on patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Winners Circle Resort. We are very glad you enjoyed your spacious suite, the Fish Market restaurant, and our freshly brewed Starbucks Coffee. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in March; the single room condo was spacious and very clean and up to date. A complimentary package of Starbucks coffee was provided. There is a daily cleaning service, a nice extra we have not seen in other timeshare and rental condos.
The grounds are immaculate, our check-in was pleasant and efficient. The staff are very helpful. There are two nice restaurants on site

This is a great location for touring the north county area, with easy access to I5 and the coast highway.
We will be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Winners Circle Resort! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your spacious suite, daily cleaning service, and Starbucks Coffee. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Musing about timeshare vacations: as a general rule, you don’t know how bad a resort is until you go to a first-class resort and compare.

Therefore, it was a joy to arrive at the Winners Circle in Solana Beach, California, walk right up to the front desk and within four minutes, be checked in with electronic key-cards in hand. Winners Circle has check-in on both Friday and Saturday (OTHER RESORTS TAKE NOTICE: IT CAN BE DONE.) Throughout the week, staff was uniformly helpful, courteous and pleasant. The units were serviced daily with fresh towels and beds made. (OTHER RESORTS TAKE NOTICE: IT CAN BE DONE.)

Our unit had one bedroom and two baths, a mini-kitchen and a terrace accessed via the bedroom or the living-room. Although not very new, it was immaculate. Winners Circle is, however, renovating and upgrading every unit and the new units are lovely.

Another point to ponder: will someone tell me why, when units come with mini-kitchens, under-counter refrigerators and seating for four, that the great gods of time-share furnishing mandate that said kitchens be stocked with enough utensils and tools to prepare a Thanksgiving meal for ten? And there’s not an inch to put away food?

Beautifully landscaped, the pool area which is surrounded by the four buildings of the resort is very private. The ground-floor units facing it have gates from their patios directly to the pools. Nice. The Clubhouse has been newly redone and is very attractive as well.

Winners Circle is located right off the I-5 freeway which makes traveling easy and accessible. A Denny’s is right across the street offering a discount at breakfast to Winners Circle guests. Right on the premises are two more restaurants, Red Tracton’s (a steakhouse – excellent) and The Fish Market (also excellent).

The major issue I had with Winners Circle is one of security – there is none. The resort is located on two busy thoroughfares and although there are big dowels preventing access through the sliding glass doors, none of the outside doors are equipped with locks or electronically keyed entry. Anyone can drive into the parking lot and walk through the resort into every building. The second issue I had in the kitchen was that dishes and glasses were stored in attractive glass-fronted cabinets much too high for those of us who are vertically challenged. Picture a very senior citizen balancing upon a chair in order to get a glass. Scary.

Would I recommend this resort? Absolutely. Go there and enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our quick check-in process, friendly staff, immaculate rooms, and on site restaurants. We hope you can come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sometimes problems happen when traveling and you have to be flexible. On our first night we received a written notice that the water would be turned off from midnight to 5:00am. OK, not much of an inconvenience. With the water still off at 7:00am I went to the front desk and was told the water won't be on for hours. OK now this is a real inconvenience but they give us a key to another condo so we can shower and get on our way. A reasonable solution except that when we entered the condo there was someone sleeping there!! I was tempted to give a one star at this point, and I bet the couple in that condo would agree! We did get another place to shower and the water was turned on later that day. Sometimes problems happen! The rest of the week was uneventful.
The location is great for visiting the north county area. It is across from the Del Mar fairgrounds/racetrack. I'm not sure I would call it a "resort" but the grounds are very well maintained. The one bedroom condo was spacious and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Two restaurants are on site - we went to The Fishmarket one evening and had a great dinner.
The facility has free wi-fi but it is extremely slow and drops out frequently.
The facility is not gated.
Except for the first day, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Winners Circle. Again, we apologize for the water issue in your building. Unfortunately, we had no other availability at the time, and as you mentioned it took much longer than our contractors originally told us. Please call the resort at 858-755-666 and ask to speak to the general manager. We want to offer you a complementary stay next time you’re in the area. We understand the leak and plumbing issues were a major inconvenience to many of our resort guests. However, we’re very happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, beautiful grounds, and on-site restaurants. We're glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and we'd love for you to come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winners Circle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winners Circle Resort

Address: 550 Via De La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winners Circle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners Circle Resort is a boutique style resort hotel located in the heart of Solana Beach, ideally located next to the Del Mar Race Track. Winners Circle Resort is just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Del Mar, CA and offers spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites complete with private patio or balcony. Ideally located near the Del Mar racetrack, 20 minutes north of the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and other attractions, the Winners Circle resort is perfectly situated to make the most out of your trip to San Diego. Winners Circle Resort offers free parking, free Wifi, and turnover Service. Additionally, this Del Mar Hotel features on site laundry, on site restaurants, a tennis club, a pool, a hot tub, a clubhouse complete with a pool table, a ping pong table, outdoor gas grills, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Winners Circle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner`s Circle Hotel Solana Beach
Winners Circle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winners Circle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.