We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had one on the East Coast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubio's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rubio's
437 S. Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
858-259-9611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 71 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wish we had one on the East Coast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a great place to grab food and take it back to eat where you are staying or at Fletcher's Cove. This is not a fancy place so don't be mistaken. It is essentially fast food but, the food is fresh and very tasty and the service was very good and friendly. The restaurant is clean although we did not eat in it. We had a really hard time finding well-ranked places to eat dinner in Solana Beach with kids. All the high ranked places were breakfast and lunch only so dinner time was a bit difficult. We were staying in a condo right on the beach and, to be quite honest, most nights I wanted to sit in our beachfront condo and watch the sun set. Rubio's allowed us to get a good meal quickly and not miss the sunset.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quito
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Classic Fish Tacos Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is excellent for kids or just for a tasty bite to eat when you need something quick and convenient. I've been eating at Rubio's for well over a decade now and for tasty food, convenience, and a quick meal it can't be beat. Not your typical fast food joint, Rubio's tacos and burritos are always good and fresh tasting, service is friendly and efficient, and the place is always clean and spotless.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hate Mexican Food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Look, I despise Mexican food so I didn't really enjoy it! So, instead of going there, I went to get pizza. Pizza is way better than all Mexican food! Just saying.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Hill, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We drove12.5 hrs through 3 states like a laser guided missile to our favorite S. CA restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We drove 12.5 hrs, across 3 states, and made a direct bee-line for Rubio's. Turned our kids onto the fish tacos, although the fish burrito is still my all-time fave. Although our trip took us away from S. Ca, we were still able to hit Rubio's another 2 times in 3 days. C'mon Rubio's! Come to Texas!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value for fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Can't beat the price for fish tacos. And, they are quite tasty.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubio's also viewed

 
Solana Beach, CA
 

Been to Rubio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.